We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,412)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveller rating
720
468
145
48
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
468
145
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsea viewbalcon de europawaiter servicehalf boardevening mealjunior suitebed and breakfastlovely hotelpeople watchingstandard roombuffet servicehotel guestssound of the wavesmini barplenty of choicebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
960 - 965 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We returned here in August after a number of years and found little had changed, which in our mind was a good thing. We booked a sea view room with balcony and were assigned a side sea view room overlooking the busy balcon. Initially we were not too happy as the balcony was much smaller & we were concerned with the noise. I do feel we should not have been charged the same rate as those assigned the proper sea view rooms but this was not entertained by the staff. That said we actually enjoyed sitting out people watching. The room was fine and spotlessly clean, however having paid €185 per night I was surprised that they charged extra for use of the safe and mini bar, very odd indeed.

Breakfast is good with great choice and the beach restaurant for lunch is great and serves the best paella in Nerja! The roof top pool is tiny but great for cooling down.

The location of the hotel is fantastic and can't be beaten in Nerja.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Have just arrived back from Nerja and the Hotel Balcon de Europa - Fantastic! What a hidden gem! Super hotel, traditional with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. As we booked late we, unfortunately, did not have a balcony or sea view but it would have been the icing on the cake. The position of the hotel is superb, right in the heart of the old town, and it was lovely just to sit and "people watch" having a drink or an ice cream. It appears there are alot of Spanish families visiting and watching them with their young children up to midnight was a joy. We didn't see any trouble, rowdiness or drunkeness, just people enjoying the atmosphere and sharing the pleasure of musicians playing the pan pipes or one night a fire eater! The issue of having to pay for sun beds in the hotel, to my mind was fair, they were in good condition and the price included towels, the canopy sun shades were a real asset and you had a little table to put bags, drinks etc on. We have paid considerably more for sun beds in other parts of the World. The breakfast fayre which was available up until 11am was to a very high standard and the choice impressive. All in all I have nothing but praise for the Hotel and the area, a lovely relaxing holiday and only wished we had gone for two weeks!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a sea view would be fantastic if you can afford the extra/are available
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just returned from a lovely holiday with my daughter, we know Nerja well been many times however this was our first stay in the town. Hotel on arrival could not have been better receptionist gave us a lovely welcome, arrived before 2pm check in time did email hotel to let them know they refused us an early check in (emailed them 3 times before they replied) Anyway we were given our room upon arrival 12.30 ish by the lovely recepionist without even asking sorry I didnt get her name at the time and never seen her again, we were taken to our room by the bell boy Mr Alberto what a very pleasant man who we seen many times and was always helpful.

When we got to our room 915 high floor fantastic sea view ( had to pay extra well worth it ) GOT A SHOCK when we entered the room as it had not been cleaned after the other guest had left, they said they were sorry and we had to leave the room, was not offered a drink or anything whilst we had to wait. Rooms are large and very clean, safe in room no charge for use, mini fridge expensive, if you wanted to use the fridge that is locked and you have to request for the key for your own use then you had to pay a daily rate for the use.

Stayed half board, breakfast self serve good choice found the hot food just warm, evening meals were a choice from the menu and they were served very hot very nice, but if you went B&B you have plenty of places to eat out (try little Italy) great food very good prices.

Pool small but they do have a hot tub too, only around 30 sun beds and people reserved them when pool area opened and we witnessed quite a few of them not returning all day, WELL done to you selfish people and you know who you are, no pool attendant to stop this, so one day we removed some towels so we could sit down and we were on those beds for 4-5 hours and again no one came whilst we occupied them.

I would recommend this hotel as it has a prime spot and loads of places to go, the hotel is very well looked after and staff are good some just need to smile a little more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

fantastic rooms & facilities, with very helpful staff, food & service were brilliant and porter was very helpful carrying bags from car park to hotel at least 500 metres. Beach and facilities were great with complimentary towels etc

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We're late in rating this great hotel (stayed in October 2011) but wanted to add our 2 cents. We loved our stay! We had an ocean view, enjoyed the pool, slept with the windows open to hear the waves that lulled us to sleep and awoke to a beautiful dawn seen right from our balcony. The hotel is well run, has all the amenities and breakfast was very fine. Because there was a festival during our stay we couldn't use the outdoor public parking and used the garage parking. The garage attendant called the hotel and the bellman came right over to park our car in their designated spots and carried our luggage back on his cart. Wonderful service! We happened to be there for their celebration of the feast day of Archangel Michael and witnessed the parade from the church through the town, a special treat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304 and had a lovely view of the rocks and ocean.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drswaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews