We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveller rating
720
469
145
48
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
469
145
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsea viewbalcon de europawaiter servicehalf boardevening mealjunior suitebed and breakfastlovely hotelpeople watchingstandard roombuffet servicehotel guestssound of the wavesmini barplenty of choicebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
957 - 962 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September.Booked a double room with no sea view or balcony - room was in good state of decoration and clean,however too small to accommodate the 2 three quarter sized beds in it.There seems to be charges for everything.Being charged to sit on a sunbed which already belongs to the hotel is not on!
Helpful staff and lovely location but not worth it's 4 star rating.Unlikely to return,there are better options available in Nerja.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a couple of days,make sure you book a room with a sea view and balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We initial had a rear view room facing the lane to Cochranes bar, but my better half somehow managed to get us a seaview, for free, and what a difference. With the 'balcon' to the left the views over the med were simply stunning. Food was good too, and there are so many really good restuants and bars to give you variety. The 'Round bar' has a great atmosphere, and does a good cheap Tapas, which was excellent. Cochrane's outdoor balcony bar is brilliant, if its a hot night, but theres also the downstairs bar, where we were entertained by good bands. Well worth a wee visit. All in all, Neja is just a great place for a holiday, but DON'T take a car. The car park which was just a bit of wasteland a few years ago, is now making the local council a small fortune as its now metered.

Room Tip: You simply MUST pay the extra for a seaview. We were very lucky and got the upgrade for free.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GerryCampbell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week’s holiday at the Balcon De Europa, in Nerja, a charming hotel in an idyllic setting.

We were concerned about carrying our luggage from the taxi to the hotel; a distance of some 160 metres [2 minute walk] but our concern was soon unfounded when we found the hotels porter waiting for us at the car park pedestrian exit. Our suitcases were loaded onto his trolley and he provided a running commentary of the places of interest as we walked to the hotel.
He waited while he checked in and then took us to our room, which had recently been refurbished to a high standard and was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have ever encountered, better than many five star hotels we have stayed at.

There was a charge of 4 euros for a sun bed/umbrella combination on the terrace or beach. We considered this a small price to pay for been able to secure your favourite place for the duration of your holiday. No rushing down before breakfast to place your towels.

Nerja is mainly pedestrianised with quaint streets lined with restaurants and upmarket gift shops. At night when you walk out of the hotel it is like walking into Covent Garden plaza with pavement artists etc.

A charming hotel with friendly staff in an idyllic setting.
We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Being totally honest our stay here was v pleasant until checkout which ruined the whole time here. Waiter staff are great, hotel has a beautiful location although I asked and paid for sea view and got partial one... Would have preferred to pay a little more for a full sea view.
There is wifi for free, rooms have air con and although small, are quite adequate. There should be a fitness centre though for a 4*.
Sunbeds are paid for which I felt should be included when the hotel is not that cheap. Breakfast is great and well worth having.
On checkout I asked the reception staff (Beatriz) to validate our car park ticket. Nerja was our final destination from a Spanish road trip covering west and east of southern Spain. On arrival we had followed the signs hotel balcon de Europa and parked a little way where the signs told us. On reception check in the member of staff had not told us any different re the car so all was well for 4 days and on check out Beatriz simply laughed, was no help at all and said that is the general car park not hotel. I asked to see the manager, her first comment was "why" .... Red rag to a bull and VERY rude! This then took so long that we decided to leave to go for the airport.
Car park bill was over €80. This is surely a mistake which would happen all the time with out of town visitors coming to the hotel
and incorrect signposting. It did seem that Beatriz had almost encountered it before I didn't have to show the card at all and she knew exactly where we had parked. Whilst I guess it is our error the lack of any responsibly or sympathy from this individual has meant I would NEVER recommend this hotel. All it would take is a little care / questions on check in to make sure guests best interests are
taken care of. Once the problem came up beatriz was not interested in the slightest, something I would not expect from a 4* hotel.
For this And the sunbed charging I would not recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We returned here in August after a number of years and found little had changed, which in our mind was a good thing. We booked a sea view room with balcony and were assigned a side sea view room overlooking the busy balcon. Initially we were not too happy as the balcony was much smaller & we were concerned with the noise. I do feel we should not have been charged the same rate as those assigned the proper sea view rooms but this was not entertained by the staff. That said we actually enjoyed sitting out people watching. The room was fine and spotlessly clean, however having paid €185 per night I was surprised that they charged extra for use of the safe and mini bar, very odd indeed.

Breakfast is good with great choice and the beach restaurant for lunch is great and serves the best paella in Nerja! The roof top pool is tiny but great for cooling down.

The location of the hotel is fantastic and can't be beaten in Nerja.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews