We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Clean, friendly hotel with a great central location. The ground floor opens onto a small sandy beach and the sixth floor opens onto the Balcon de Europa, where everyone congregates to enjoy the view and sometimes live music. Great bars and restaurants are all nearby. Just one thing-the hotel lift is a bit slow.

Room Tip: The lift is slow, Reception is on the sixth floor and from here you can reach the nearby shops, bars...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerrie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,250)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Balcon de Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have been coming to the Hotel Balcon de Europa for many years.
This hotel is lovely, in the most fantastic position looking out to sea in one direction and along the coastline with mountain views in the other.
The staff are wonderful, friendly, helpful and courteous.
Rooms have recently been refurbished and are spotlessly clean as is the hotel throughout.
Breakfast offers everything you could wish for and more (Cava with your cornflakes if required!)
Nerja is a beautiful town which retains its Spanish traditions. There are lots of lovely bars a restaurants.The hotel's own El Nautico bar is right on the beach and offers great food and drinks in an unrivalled position.
We love it here! We have been to many hotels in many places over the years but this remains our firm favourite.
Will be back for New Year!

Room Tip: Sea view and balcony rooms offer incredible views..
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We recently spent 10 nights at the Hotel Balcon de Europa - unfortunately our room (914) was located overlooking the nearby Cochranes Hotel which had numerous wedding parties during our stay. We had very little sleep on 3 nights with some minor disruptions on other nights. The hotel its self was good - the staff were friendly and efficient although we had to wait until mid to late afternoon for our room to be serviced and on one occasion had to contact reception as they had missed it completely. Nerja is a beautiful town with a propensity of excellent bars and restaurants. In fairness to the hotel they can do very little about the noise and behaviour of the customers attending Cochranes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 9th floor have the noise of the Air Conditioning units from the roof.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffb774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of September.Booked a double room with no sea view or balcony - room was in good state of decoration and clean,however too small to accommodate the 2 three quarter sized beds in it.There seems to be charges for everything.Being charged to sit on a sunbed which already belongs to the hotel is not on!
Helpful staff and lovely location but not worth it's 4 star rating.Unlikely to return,there are better options available in Nerja.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a couple of days,make sure you book a room with a sea view and balc...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We initial had a rear view room facing the lane to Cochranes bar, but my better half somehow managed to get us a seaview, for free, and what a difference. With the 'balcon' to the left the views over the med were simply stunning. Food was good too, and there are so many really good restuants and bars to give you variety. The 'Round bar' has a great atmosphere, and does a good cheap Tapas, which was excellent. Cochrane's outdoor balcony bar is brilliant, if its a hot night, but theres also the downstairs bar, where we were entertained by good bands. Well worth a wee visit. All in all, Neja is just a great place for a holiday, but DON'T take a car. The car park which was just a bit of wasteland a few years ago, is now making the local council a small fortune as its now metered.

Room Tip: You simply MUST pay the extra for a seaview. We were very lucky and got the upgrade for free.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GerryCampbell1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week’s holiday at the Balcon De Europa, in Nerja, a charming hotel in an idyllic setting.

We were concerned about carrying our luggage from the taxi to the hotel; a distance of some 160 metres [2 minute walk] but our concern was soon unfounded when we found the hotels porter waiting for us at the car park pedestrian exit. Our suitcases were loaded onto his trolley and he provided a running commentary of the places of interest as we walked to the hotel.
He waited while he checked in and then took us to our room, which had recently been refurbished to a high standard and was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have ever encountered, better than many five star hotels we have stayed at.

There was a charge of 4 euros for a sun bed/umbrella combination on the terrace or beach. We considered this a small price to pay for been able to secure your favourite place for the duration of your holiday. No rushing down before breakfast to place your towels.

Nerja is mainly pedestrianised with quaint streets lined with restaurants and upmarket gift shops. At night when you walk out of the hotel it is like walking into Covent Garden plaza with pavement artists etc.

A charming hotel with friendly staff in an idyllic setting.
We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Being totally honest our stay here was v pleasant until checkout which ruined the whole time here. Waiter staff are great, hotel has a beautiful location although I asked and paid for sea view and got partial one... Would have preferred to pay a little more for a full sea view.
There is wifi for free, rooms have air con and although small, are quite adequate. There should be a fitness centre though for a 4*.
Sunbeds are paid for which I felt should be included when the hotel is not that cheap. Breakfast is great and well worth having.
On checkout I asked the reception staff (Beatriz) to validate our car park ticket. Nerja was our final destination from a Spanish road trip covering west and east of southern Spain. On arrival we had followed the signs hotel balcon de Europa and parked a little way where the signs told us. On reception check in the member of staff had not told us any different re the car so all was well for 4 days and on check out Beatriz simply laughed, was no help at all and said that is the general car park not hotel. I asked to see the manager, her first comment was "why" .... Red rag to a bull and VERY rude! This then took so long that we decided to leave to go for the airport.
Car park bill was over €80. This is surely a mistake which would happen all the time with out of town visitors coming to the hotel
and incorrect signposting. It did seem that Beatriz had almost encountered it before I didn't have to show the card at all and she knew exactly where we had parked. Whilst I guess it is our error the lack of any responsibly or sympathy from this individual has meant I would NEVER recommend this hotel. All it would take is a little care / questions on check in to make sure guests best interests are
taken care of. Once the problem came up beatriz was not interested in the slightest, something I would not expect from a 4* hotel.
For this And the sunbed charging I would not recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#12 of 37 in Nerja
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £77 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing