We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We visited the Hotel Balcon de Europa for a long weekend, this is our third trip to Nerja this year and of we return, it will definitely be to this Hotel.
The staff from reception to housekeeping are very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
We had a balcony room at the back of the hotel with a sea view and it was perfect for views over the sea and the actual Balcon, it was also very quiet (apart from the sound of the sea).
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean by a small army of staff.
We only used the dining room for breakfast (self service), there is something for everybody in ample amounts.
On our visit, most of the residents were older UK citizens probably dodging the UK cold.
If you are visiting Nerja, you would find it hard to get a more central location, the hotel is literally yards from dozens of bars and good restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    400
    128
    40
    24
See reviews for
178
730
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
301 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Pro:
Great location - brilliant views
Listening to the sound of the waves
Excellent service at breakfast - eg. My partner selected a table & went off to get food. Upon sensing I wasn't sure which one to sit at the maître de quietly prompted me. Really appreciated.
Great tea & coffee
Hot breakfast selection excellence
Front desk team very attentive & helpful (even our odd-ball restaurant requests).
WiFi good.

Tips:
Hotel car parking price is cheaper than the public car park
Get a room upgrade - for a little extra the views are amazing.


Summary: a great team is behind this hotel. We felt welcome throughout - from housekeeping to front of house, very happy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jiffy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for two and half weeks during October/November and as usual had an excellent time. Room was perfect , breakfast buffets had an excellent selection. We had B&B reservation so only dined in on a couple of nights and again could not give the standard of cooking and presentation more than a 3 star rating. However here is the good news, the hotel owners have appointed a new director, regular visitors like ourselves will already be aware of this. He appears to be making serious attempts to improve evening dining , introducing speciality additions to the menu, etc. He was also conducting a survey to get real feedback from guests as to their dining experience. Let's hope this works through to real change.

To those that critisise bar staff, just think of a tip !!!

We are back in a couple of weeks for Xmas and New Year.

Room Tip: Front sea view rooms are a must for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramon158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

if you are after peace and quiet this is for you, lying on the beach here is so restful, not a sound of traffic or planes even though you are only an hour from Malaga, this hotel in right smack in the center of Nerja, which is pedestrianized. All the good restaurants are within walking distance, the breakfast is excellent, only drawback is the very small pool area, which makes it unsuitable for children, yes all together too boring for kids!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank U3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have been visiting Nerja for 20 yrs and have made almost 60 visits (mainly DIY) in this time. This was our first stay at the Balcon Hotel, we have previously stayed at over 15 other locations in Nerja, usually apartments. We had seen it as a special offer from Thomson - Half Board. It was also a first to travel by coach from Malaga as we always rent a car. The Rep in Malaga told those of us booked at the Balcon that a minibus from the hotel would be waiting at the Hotel Monica where the first group would be disembarking. There was no minibus, for us or the other 2 couples destined for the Hotel Balcon.
After 10 mins one of the others asked in the Monica about the bus and was told it was en route. After 40 mins in shade and a cool wind, we decided to walk to the Balcon with our cases and left the others. On arrival at the Hotel Balcon we informed the receptionist of our wait. She told us the driver had left some time ago to collect us. We went through the check in, after which, the other 2 couples arrrived. This was 1 hour after being dropped off in resort. The receptionist did tell us that the Rep phoned the Balcon to say we would be there about 12.00 but we were there over 20 mins before that, and the minibus arrived at the Monica hotel at 12.30. That was a problem made by Thompson, however the following day a large tray with a fresh fruit basket, & mineral water, was delivered to the rooms of those affected by way of apology from the hotel, no apology was forthcoming from the Rep.
The room was ok, very clean & comfortable, with no view, except an enclosed 'vertical tunnel' but we had not paid anywhere near the normal price so accepted this. 'Happy Hour' 5.30 till 6.30 was good value but the waiters were surly, this comment was heard from several guests during the week. The 'happy hour' crew were also the dining room crew for dinner !!The breakfast was excellent, cereals, full continental including Andalusian choices, and hot buffet, and bottles of cava on ice. Dinner however, was a totally different and mediocre matter. The Maitre d' insisted on taking the order for all 3 courses at the same time. The noise from staff laying up each table for breakfast 30 mins before end of service was very loud and intimidating, and the habit of reaching across ones face to clear tables, was very unprofessional.
The daily menu was posted in reception and offered at €20. I am a worldwide traveller, I am normally very easily pleased with food of all cusines. The food served here however was far less attractive across the week than I would have expected for an €8 menu del dia. Meat was 'wet' and tastless and for most meals the vegetables were bland. I am a ships steward and am regularly assessed on food safety and 'temperate aware'. The food had appeared not to have been 'probed' for the correct serving/holding tempurature as it was usually just warm & never hot. One evening on our way to dinner we could smell fish on our floor which was 2 floors above the Restaurant. 2 nights per week dinner was a buffet (this seemed to coincide with the Maitre d's nights off) This was by far the better option on both occaisions, food was of a more acceptable temperature and the extra choices were very welcome especially being able to choose course by course, however we were bemused by a couple of offers for deserts - one was marshmallows on sticks, and the other, a bowl of Haribos (mainly the fried eggs & coke bottles) For a 4star hotel I found this an amazing miss match. There were no children staying at the time. In fact I have stayed at 2* ApartamentoTuristicos in Nerja with higher standards.
It was 3rd week in November, and contractors spent several days putting up Christmas decorations, I began to think I was staying in a British Turkey n' tinsel hotel rather than a 4* hotel on an iconic Andalusian landmark, or am I just a Bah Humbug?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sailorpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed for a week on half board at this lovely hotel in southern Spain. The location beside the Balcon de Europa in central Nerja is just about perfect and our room, overlooking the terrace and beach, was excellent. The room was spacious and clean and we loved the views from the balcony. We enjoyed excellent service from the friendly staff in all departments. The breakfast buffet provided for all tastes and quality was very good. Dinner was waiter service on five evenings with buffet on the remaining two. We had intended to eat out on a couple of evenings, but, in the event, we found the choice and quality of the restaurant good enough to keep us eating in. We liked the town and we liked the hotel. We will return.

Room Tip: This is an "upside down" hotel with reception on floor 6. We recommend taking a sea view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were planning a last minute weekend with friends and the Hotel Balcon de Europa came up on a late booking web site. The price was excellent and well below the full rate, we knew that we would be in one of the back rooms with no view but we were going to be using the room to sleep in not sit and look at the view. On arrival we were upgraded to a side sea view with balconies. Amazing. The rooms were ample size and had, if required the best selection of English channels on the TV I have ever seen in a Spanish hotel (although it has been awhile since I stayed in one) The hotel is centrally placed and ideal for strolling around the lanes exploring shops and restaurants, cafes and bars. The beach, with private entrance directly from the hotel, with bar made for a great lazy Sunday and a swim in the pool and a Jacuzzi dip was just right, sitting in the sun on November 10th seems like a distant memory! (2 weeks ago). The reception staff were helpful and courteous, as were the bar staff. The hotel does have a car park although many would probably think twice before using it. You have to drive through the public underground car park come up into a pedestrian area do a sharp turn and go back down another entrance. It would be possible to park in the road for free but you could end up with a fair walk if you chose to do this. We saw less spaces in November than we had in early September. I would certainly book to stay again especially at special rates. The breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice including bucks fizz! Hot food ideally could have been warmer but there was a microwave if you wanted to heat your food. If going again for a short break I would certainly look into arranging a transfer to and from the airport rather than hiring a car. There is plenty to occupy you for a relaxing weekend in Nerja. If you wanted to go out of town I am sure that the local bus service would provide a good service.

Room Tip: If you book a late room or cheap room do not expect a sea view! The rooms overlooking the promenade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel23Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#10 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Property: Hotel Balcon de Europa
Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing