We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in Nerja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross Scotland UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Christmas in Nerja”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Although we had visited Nerja before, we had not stayed at this hotel. we were aware of its position and that is why we booked it. It is definitely in a prime position in the lovely town of Nerja. The Hotel is keep very clean and the room we had was nice. We requested a sew view room and the first room we got was above the reception canopy and the balcony was very obscured, so we asked for something better, we also were offered one on the 5th floor above the flat roof of the dining room, in the far corner of the building which was not great, dark and view obscured, so we asked reception again if there was a better room and we got offered room 713 overlooking the sea, it was lovely, nice view and sunny and we were very happy with it. Reception were very nice regarding the room changes and I am glad we persisted with them. They also booked a car for us while we were there, it was cheaper than other rental companies near by, the company delivered the car to us at the hotel and we just gave the keys back to reception when finished, so a very good friendly service. We found the reception staff to be very helpful and friendly. The rooms were nice, not huge but well decorated and comfortable and every thing you needed, may be nice to upgrade if you wanted a bit more space ( although we didn't actually do that as not available at this time). I also saw in other reviews that people were complaining about paying for sun beds, but there did not seem to be a charge for these whilst we were there ( perhaps this is seasonal thing, not sure). We did half board as it was offered in the package we took , normally we just do bed and breakfast and eat out as we like the variety. We did not feel Dinner was so good, very bland and you are not really able to use the 20 Euro allowance ( which is the cost for the set menu) towards the a la carte menu , but to be honest we had a steak of the a la carte and it was very poor. The breakfast however was very good and a plentiful choice on offer to suit all tasted. Lunches were nice down by the beach area, which is also a very nice area to relax and you can change Dinner for Lunch ( on the half board package) by requesting at reception the day before. I have to say however we stay over Christmas and the Christmas night dinner was so much better that the normal dinner menu and included wine all night, the dining room looked very nice and this was included in the half board package, which we though was very good. We shared a big table of people and had a thoroughly good night. It is such a pity they could not improve on both the atmosphere in the dining room in the evening and also the quality and presentation of the food, as the hotel is very nice, in a great location and all the staff we encountered in all areas (reception, restaurant and cleaning staff ) were very good, friendly and helpful. We don't normally book packages and normally book our own flights and hotels separately but as we knew the area and were aware of the hotel, we took the package offered by jet2 on this occasion, which was definitely value for money, even taking into consideration the evening meals. Well done to Jet2 as the flights, transfers and hotel were great, very smooth form start to finish. I believe this review is balanced and fair and we would consider retuning to this hotel for a break. This was a good time of year to visit this area, much quieter that I am sure it will be in the height of the season, nice mix of multicultural guests and busy enough not to be boring.

Room Tip: I think higher floors with balcony overlooking the sea, so sea views Floors 7 - 9 , possibly also lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank astons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    398
    128
    40
    24
See reviews for
177
725
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The location of the Balcon de Europa cannot be faulted, and the same goes for the unfailing cheerfulness of the staff. We were made to feel so very welcome and as for the breakfast, well it's amazing I only went home 2lbs heavier and not much more! I defy anyone to confront that banquet and think "Do you know what, there's nothing there I fancy". The staggering array of goodies is amazing and if you breakfast at one of the window tables you can have the luxury of a Bucks Fizz and fry up overlooking the most incredible view of the Med. I could do that every day and never get bored of it.

After the spectacular spread at breakfast I will admit to being rather disappointed with the one occasion we had dinner at the hotel restaurant - a really dated and unimaginative menu not very well executed. With so many excellent restaurants to eat at in Nerja I would say 'go out to dine'. Dinner at Oliva not far away was outstanding.

My room was not all that special and was furiously overheated, but I paid a cheapo rate and the last time I stayed at the Balcon I got a free upgrade so it would be churlish of me to whinge about it. In spite of sweltering the night away the room was immaculate. One tip - if you are gasping for water and fish a bottle out of the mini bar only to find it has a beer bottle top and there is no opener, somewhat bizarrely the bottle opener is attached to the wall in the bathroom. But of course! Silly me....

I have stayed at the Balcon three times, on each occasion only one or two nights, and I would go back in the blink of an eye. The staff are so warm and welcoming I cannot think of anywhere else I would wish to stay when visiting Nerja.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the further you are away from any street noise. If you have a room which backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suadela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We visited the Hotel Balcon de Europa for a long weekend, this is our third trip to Nerja this year and of we return, it will definitely be to this Hotel.
The staff from reception to housekeeping are very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.
We had a balcony room at the back of the hotel with a sea view and it was perfect for views over the sea and the actual Balcon, it was also very quiet (apart from the sound of the sea).
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean by a small army of staff.
We only used the dining room for breakfast (self service), there is something for everybody in ample amounts.
On our visit, most of the residents were older UK citizens probably dodging the UK cold.
If you are visiting Nerja, you would find it hard to get a more central location, the hotel is literally yards from dozens of bars and good restaurants.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
301 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Pro:
Great location - brilliant views
Listening to the sound of the waves
Excellent service at breakfast - eg. My partner selected a table & went off to get food. Upon sensing I wasn't sure which one to sit at the maître de quietly prompted me. Really appreciated.
Great tea & coffee
Hot breakfast selection excellence
Front desk team very attentive & helpful (even our odd-ball restaurant requests).
WiFi good.

Tips:
Hotel car parking price is cheaper than the public car park
Get a room upgrade - for a little extra the views are amazing.


Summary: a great team is behind this hotel. We felt welcome throughout - from housekeeping to front of house, very happy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jiffy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for two and half weeks during October/November and as usual had an excellent time. Room was perfect , breakfast buffets had an excellent selection. We had B&B reservation so only dined in on a couple of nights and again could not give the standard of cooking and presentation more than a 3 star rating. However here is the good news, the hotel owners have appointed a new director, regular visitors like ourselves will already be aware of this. He appears to be making serious attempts to improve evening dining , introducing speciality additions to the menu, etc. He was also conducting a survey to get real feedback from guests as to their dining experience. Let's hope this works through to real change.

To those that critisise bar staff, just think of a tip !!!

We are back in a couple of weeks for Xmas and New Year.

Room Tip: Front sea view rooms are a must for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramon158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

if you are after peace and quiet this is for you, lying on the beach here is so restful, not a sound of traffic or planes even though you are only an hour from Malaga, this hotel in right smack in the center of Nerja, which is pedestrianized. All the good restaurants are within walking distance, the breakfast is excellent, only drawback is the very small pool area, which makes it unsuitable for children, yes all together too boring for kids!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank U3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have been visiting Nerja for 20 yrs and have made almost 60 visits (mainly DIY) in this time. This was our first stay at the Balcon Hotel, we have previously stayed at over 15 other locations in Nerja, usually apartments. We had seen it as a special offer from Thomson - Half Board. It was also a first to travel by coach from Malaga as we always rent a car. The Rep in Malaga told those of us booked at the Balcon that a minibus from the hotel would be waiting at the Hotel Monica where the first group would be disembarking. There was no minibus, for us or the other 2 couples destined for the Hotel Balcon.
After 10 mins one of the others asked in the Monica about the bus and was told it was en route. After 40 mins in shade and a cool wind, we decided to walk to the Balcon with our cases and left the others. On arrival at the Hotel Balcon we informed the receptionist of our wait. She told us the driver had left some time ago to collect us. We went through the check in, after which, the other 2 couples arrrived. This was 1 hour after being dropped off in resort. The receptionist did tell us that the Rep phoned the Balcon to say we would be there about 12.00 but we were there over 20 mins before that, and the minibus arrived at the Monica hotel at 12.30. That was a problem made by Thompson, however the following day a large tray with a fresh fruit basket, & mineral water, was delivered to the rooms of those affected by way of apology from the hotel, no apology was forthcoming from the Rep.
The room was ok, very clean & comfortable, with no view, except an enclosed 'vertical tunnel' but we had not paid anywhere near the normal price so accepted this. 'Happy Hour' 5.30 till 6.30 was good value but the waiters were surly, this comment was heard from several guests during the week. The 'happy hour' crew were also the dining room crew for dinner !!The breakfast was excellent, cereals, full continental including Andalusian choices, and hot buffet, and bottles of cava on ice. Dinner however, was a totally different and mediocre matter. The Maitre d' insisted on taking the order for all 3 courses at the same time. The noise from staff laying up each table for breakfast 30 mins before end of service was very loud and intimidating, and the habit of reaching across ones face to clear tables, was very unprofessional.
The daily menu was posted in reception and offered at €20. I am a worldwide traveller, I am normally very easily pleased with food of all cusines. The food served here however was far less attractive across the week than I would have expected for an €8 menu del dia. Meat was 'wet' and tastless and for most meals the vegetables were bland. I am a ships steward and am regularly assessed on food safety and 'temperate aware'. The food had appeared not to have been 'probed' for the correct serving/holding tempurature as it was usually just warm & never hot. One evening on our way to dinner we could smell fish on our floor which was 2 floors above the Restaurant. 2 nights per week dinner was a buffet (this seemed to coincide with the Maitre d's nights off) This was by far the better option on both occaisions, food was of a more acceptable temperature and the extra choices were very welcome especially being able to choose course by course, however we were bemused by a couple of offers for deserts - one was marshmallows on sticks, and the other, a bowl of Haribos (mainly the fried eggs & coke bottles) For a 4star hotel I found this an amazing miss match. There were no children staying at the time. In fact I have stayed at 2* ApartamentoTuristicos in Nerja with higher standards.
It was 3rd week in November, and contractors spent several days putting up Christmas decorations, I began to think I was staying in a British Turkey n' tinsel hotel rather than a 4* hotel on an iconic Andalusian landmark, or am I just a Bah Humbug?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sailorpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
942 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
1,644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#11 of 38 in Nerja
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Property: Hotel Balcon de Europa
Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing