We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

On a recent trip to Andalucía I chose to pay a little more than budget to stay here, and I have to say it was well worth it, with a stunning location right by the Balcon de Europa. Even then it wasn't desperately expensive. I had a comfortable room with a stunning sea view, with the most amazing sunrises and the restful sound of the waves lapping on the beach below at night.
Staff were friendly and attentive, and the breakfasts were very good indeed. One or two reviewers have criticised the cooked food, but come on guys, this is Spain, not England. There was a wide range of continental stuff on offer, including some quality Serrano ham, omelettes made to order and cava available to make Bucks' Fizz. What's not to like? Just make sure you get up early enough to have time to enjoy the breakfast, and the view from the breakfast room.
Staff were also good at helping with the slightly complicated parking arrangements, where you go through the underground car park for the Balcon to get to the hotel's garage. Not specially cheap but all central hotels in Nerja charge a lot for parking, and the hotel garage is significantly cheaper than a long stay in the Balcon car park.
One of the bonuses was to discover a Happy Hour in the bar in the early evening, sets you up a treat for your tapas in the town later. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view of the Med. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrFelixPolenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    407
    130
    40
    25
See reviews for
181
753
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

hi
just arrived home after a fab week in nerja we stayed at the balcon I will write a very honest review as I always try to use trip advisor.on arrival this hotel has the wow factor for location and fab reception,we had only paid for a standard room what a very big mistake we faced an alleyway and NO balcony never again the supplement is well worth it.
we found the restaurant had amazing views and was well looked after by the waiter oliver who was English and helped with our menu choices, what I must say as in other reviews we were fed! BUT it was not always good 4 star this being on the table service evenings the buffet nights 2 nights were excellent.
lastly everyone needs a Rory the Thomson host he was very chatty very helpful as it was our first time in nerja so thankyou for all info on area and making us laugh .
Would I return yes most definitely for the ambience and area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pops073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic sunsets and sunrises. Clean and comfortable but next I will ensure to have seaview instead of the window facing a wall. Very good breakfast and friendly staff. The best located hotel in Nerja.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank d57san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just spent a delightful five days at the Balcon. We had a superior sea view room which appeared to have been recently re-furbished. Staff were helpful and efficient, and breakfast was delightful and varied. Will definitely stay there again.The weather was also excellent - as were the views from our balcony.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a package deal with Thomsons during February at a vey fair price. If you can book a full sea view room as the location is amazing, can't be beaten in the whole of Nerja.
The staff are great and very helpful and courteous and the housekeeping staff do a great job, the hotel is spotless.
We stayed here last year and don't go back to the same place twice that often but we enjoyed it so much last year we thought we'd return.
The only thing I will say is that we thought that the food at dinner wasn't as good as last year. Dinner is waiter service (which I really like) on 5 nights out of sevev but I have to say on a couple of nights it was a bit hectic and lacking in some respects. Also the temperature of the food wasn't always as hot as you would want it either. Don't know whether they're trying to achieve this without the right number of staff. The wait staff all do their best. Rumour has it that they will gradually change over to a buffet at dinner. Must say the breakfast is excellent with a chef there to prepare fresh omelettes and pancakes, all the usual bacon etc., lovely pastries and a cava to wash it down if you wish.
So all in all we had a very good stay but the evening meals were not up to par with last year.
However if we were visiting Nerja in the future we would not hesitate to stay at the Balcon, good price for a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: if you can go for full sea view - wouldn't go for 5th floor - it's the floor between cafe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiraiya23, Propietario at Hotel Balcon de Europa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
@valleygirlCardiff

Thank you so much for repeating with us during your visit to Nerja. Our goal is to keep improving and give our guests the best service we can. Sorry you didn't find the dinner as good as you wanted.

Thank you again for your feedback and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grange
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our first impressions were poor. The transfer coach does not go 'all the way' but stops at another hotel, then you wait for the hotel minibus (carries 6 at a time and there is only one!), until it eventually arrives. On check-in the 'clerk' demanded a credit card - no good manners yet - and it got even worse after this when we were sent away as the room was not ready! We were told it could be an hour ... as the hotel is central it is fairly security conscious, and all entrances require a room key to get in, a problem we did not discover until we found ourselves attempting to get in to see if our room was ready! Hmm ... not a good start, but it did get better.
The 'maid' service was very good, all staff after our first day were polite and pleasant. As far as food was concerned - at breakfast it was very good, and at dinner the starters and sweets were generally good, but the mains left a little to be desired. Service in the restaurant was poor, this was not due to the staff themselves but the lack of staff, and at busy times there was quite a bit of sitting and waiting. Of the week only two of the dinners were a buffet service, so the lack of staff was a problem the rest of the time. Drinks in the restaurant were not expensive compared to other places we have stayed around the med.
The beach restaurant had really nice fresh fish at lunchtime, really nicely cooked (16 to 18 Euros each, so not a cheap option, but great for a treat!).
The local restaurants were very good - for food and price. Just a couple of hundred yards from the Balcon the two of us ate fresh fresh and had a bottle of wine for a total of 20 Euros, a cheaper option was pasta/pizza, two of these, 2 small beers and a bottle of wine came in at less than 15 ! Other reviews suggested B & B at the hotel and eat out in the evening, unfortunately TUI only did Half Board at the Balcon, so we were out of luck!
The rooms were a decent size, ours was on the top floor, no balcony and no view, the flat screen tv had lots of channels to choose from, the bathroom was standard, the bed was big and okay for comfort. The air-con warmed the room but did not cool when the room was hot. Maybe it was on a winter setting?
3 of the days were in the mid 20's temperature wise, the rest were much cooler and jumpers were needed.
We are in our mid 50's and we were amongst the youngest here. It was at half term so schools were off, but still, very few young people staying at the hotel.
Happy hour: 1) it is between 5.30 and 6.30 2) it is only for drinks ordered in the bar on floor 6 - if you are not IN the bar but near it expect to pay full price, despite it being served from the same bar by the same staff !
Overall, nice town (far too big to be a village!), excellent location, some walking from the town, the caves are well worth a visit and just under an hour to walk to, though there is a bus if you prefer. Nice views from the hotel and the Balcon.
Lots of places we've been to we would go back to, but probably not this one.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem okay for size, but a balcony facing the beach also faces south so gets the sun most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucy59grange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cropston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We returned to the hotel this February having stayed there last May.
It is in a fabulous position on the balcon itself and the beach. In the heart of the action.
This year we took a package of half board through Monarch and their providers Cosmos. All good with them except no support on site and Cosmos continuing to use 0870 numbers. Yes, tried the web site to find a landline but that line was shut down. Naughty of Cosmos - cheap/expensive trick.
Anyway transfers good and hotel good.
One thing that annoyed. We booked a sea View room as we did last year. But as last year we were given a room overlooking the balcon. After protest we were moved the following day to a room overlooking the beach. Very inconvenient and annoying. Small thing but I get the impression that the hotel tries it on with room allocation. Just takes the edge off.

Room Tip: Choose a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquarianblue300147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
988 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Property: Hotel Balcon de Europa
Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing