We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, stay too short, we'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, stay too short, we'll be back”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

A brief stay in Nerja before we headed up to Grenada but hotel and location excellent amazing views Friendly staff, great breakfast. Everything about the hotel was pleasing, our first but definitely not our last trip to Nerja and the balcon de Europa. Good sized rooms,, good facilities, slightly dodgy air conditioning but we loved it and will definitely be back to enjoy a longer stay...

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SassieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    406
    130
    40
    24
See reviews for
180
750
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My Sister and I have spent a great week in this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Despite our room not having a balcony which was not the fault of the hotel we had a lovely holiday. Due to the hotel being fully booked we were not able to upgrade. The food was good and with plenty of choice.The position was excellent. We will be back. It is a lovely place good bars restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel on 2 separate occasions - once for coffee on a busy weekend when there was much hustle and bustle everywhere and we expected to receive negative service because most people wanted lunches. We were surprised to be treated with efficient and courteous service and staff had no issue with us sitting and enjoying the view.
The second occasion was mid week when it was much quieter and we sat and enjoyed a lovely fish platter and cocktails. Service was no different, just quiet efficiency and good value for money.
The good thing about this hotel is that it is situated right next to the most fantastic views across the bay and there is always something to sit and watch or a street busker entertaining the crowds.
The hotel also offers free wifi to patrons...very useful to browse your iPad etc.
We shall return when we are next in Nerja and would recommend this place to anyone to stop and refresh themselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValSDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Room
- terrible layout, super narrow room, bed facing wall half a meter from foot of bed, window three meters to the right of bed
- 70s style, worn out, carpets terrible
- generally no money has been invested for years
- cleaned but hair on bed
- noisy, could hear TV of neighboring room identifying easily what conversation was about in movie

Receptionist could barely speak English, guy foming to fix WiFi spoke no English

Common areas not nice

Worst four Star Hotel we have ever been to, this is a bad 3 Star hotel

We saw a few three star hotels in town, all nicer

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ContinentalEuropeanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiraiya23, Propietario at Hotel Balcon de Europa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We do apologize for all the inconvenience and we regret that your recent stay in our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations.
Please be advised that two years ago a total refurbishment of all our rooms was made, as you can see in our photos published in Trip Advisor.
And during this month of April, we are finishing to replace the carpets of our corridors.
Please note that it is true that due to our privileged situation, the Hotel Balcón de Europa has some rooms smaller than others.
We hope that you would give us another try in your next visit to Nerja, and we would try to make it up to you in compensation for your bad experience.

Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, nerja is very nice, we enjoyed our stay immensely ! Location perfect, evening meal poor, we ate out after 3 nights, lots of lovely restaurants to choose from, we were short changed on 4 occasions by the same waiter at the hotel so we had all our drinks out, all in all a good place to spend a week away, must mention OLIVER a waiter at the hotel, he has superb customer service skills , you must lunch at the nautical restaurant ground floor of hotel, have a nice holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gauldian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiraiya23, Propietario at Hotel Balcon de Europa, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

You're right about Oliver, he is a great waiter and we are really satisfied with his skills.

About the evening meal, we are sorry that we didn't satisfy your tastes. We keep on improving so we can offer the best service to our clients.

Thank you again for your good feedback and we hope to see you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week on hardboard via Thomson holidays. The hotel is very welcoming, extremely clean and the rooms are really nicely decorated. The bathrooms may appear slightly dated but are fine for the requirements. The staff are faultless and were always helpful. The breakfast offered was varied and tasty, however our experience at lunch and dinner were not so pleasing. The food on one occasion was not cooked and on another extremely over cooked. The choice also becomes limited. To be honest there are so many lovely places to eat around the hotel it would be a waste to eat at the hotel every night. This is the only area the hotel could work on and we would stay again but on breakfast board only.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lindsey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel right on the Balcon de Europe and pay approximately 30 Euros a night for the Sea Vista. Basic price in late February was 89 Euros for the landward view. We just looked onto a light well but the airconditoning was good, everything worked well and the price included an excellent northern European buffet that would last you all day. You can also help yourself to glasses of champagne.

They accept pets, we took a large dog.
If
Built over several floors they had a private beach some floors down but we never used it. Also we ate out as we were situated in the main square with plenty of choice. If you know where to look you will find a glass of wine and a small tapas pork/fish nearby for 1.5 euros!

You can get down some steps to the beach which is a series of small interconnecting coves and there is the usual beach bar availability and they cater for young children....icecreams.

We think that older children would be bored in Nerja but young children would like running in the pedestrianized street. Lots of fashion shops for the ladies, souvenir shops here seem to be more upmarket and the pedestrianisation of the very centre makes it pleasanwt to walk around.

Now the downside is that it is very difficult to drive with some really tight turns for your car. Parking is free some minutes from the beaches but be careful not to leave valuables on display. YOU have been warned.

The hotel is not approachable by car so take the telephone number and their concierge staff will meet you or send your passenger in from the car to get a porter. This is the best idea and he will show you where to park your car through a maze of subterranean tunnels. This is an adventure but the rate for 24 hours is 13+ Euros but that is cheaper than the municipal car park underground. It also means that when you emerge through a secret door you are about 1 minutes walk from the Hotel.

A town that is charming and if you want sophistication stay a few days here before going to a classic beach.

About 1.5 hours drive from Malaga along the coast.

Of season the reception staff say there are good deals on the internet for 3 days or more so check out before you come. You will not be alone here as there are plenty of British, German, Dutch and other northern Europeans here and English is widely spoken.

The town has catholic, Anglican and Charismatic churches that will always make you welcome but on the internet study the street plan before you come or you will be lost.

Enjoy and be blessed in the Sun.

Chris, Anna and our dog.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
982 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Property: Hotel Balcon de Europa
Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing