We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets Better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have stayed here at least once a year ever since 1999 and the hotel never fails to please. From the warm welcome at check in, including the porter who meets the taxi and then takes cases to your rooms to all the staff - waiters, maintenance workers and cleaners the welcome and friendliness is amazing. The rooms have recently been updated; our room, a superior on the fourth floor was fantastic and of course the view from the balcony onto the beach and the sea is to die for. Breakfast is great, with a new addition this year of freshly made omelettes and pancakes. I can`t comment on the dinners as we have never eaten in at night, always preferring to wander out and try one of the many restaurants in the town. Lunch at the Nautico restaurant on the beach is always good, whether you want to try a paella or just have a healthy salad and unusually for a four star hotel, drinks are not overpriced. We have already booked our next stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

All good, the beach restaurant particularly so. Friendly staff. Only downside is the lift, only one which is not really enough in an Hotel with 9 floors. The reception staff were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Try and ensure the guest in the room above does not have 'clicky/clacky' shoes. Come bed tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is set over nine floors with the reception on street level which is level six. It is directly on the sea front with a beautiful view but you must book a room with a balcony and sea view or you could look straight onto a brick wall. On level zero there is a private beach belonging to the hotel, a restaurant and sun beds. The cost of theses are 4 euros a day. Level 4has the main restaurant level 5 has the swimming pool, hot tub with is cold and sun beds, no charge for these and library room and piano room. The rooms are spread over all floors. We has room 817 which was good. The room are not very big but we found them to be ok. You also need to be aware that the evening meal is mainly menu choice with waiter service not a buffet. The food was good but not over exciting. The hotel is in very good condition, everything clean and very helpful staff, we had no complaints mainly because we had a good room. The hotel is set is a no vehicle location but the travel agents and staff made sure we got to the hotel without any trouble. Lots of people visit this site because it's built on a old monastery with plenty of shops, bars and restaurant near by.

Room Tip: As I said before make sure you get a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My Wife and I went to this hotel about 12 years ago for a chill out, so we were looking for another chill out again last week, so looked through the website and bingo it was there the room was right the dates were right so it was right for us to book and go. Just like last time great service great staff great food clean and tidy. We got there after delays 4 hours late and the lady on the reception was best welcome I have ever had in all my years of travelling (well done Lady). So all in all a very well done to all at the Balcon.

Room Tip: Front sea view with balcony or overlooking the walk way is good but you do not want a side alley vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gobalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good,clean rooms althouth a little on the small side. eXCELLENT FOOD - BREAKFAST VERY VARIED AND SELF SERVICE - EVENING MEAL MORE FORMAL BUT GOOD CHOICE AND VERY ENJOYABLE.nEJA IS A LOVELY SMALL TOWN WITH LOTS OF SMALL STREETS AND GOOD BARS AND RESTAURANTS.
THE DOWNSIDE is the distance from the airport and the fact that you cannot get near the entrance to the hotel and have to walk through the streets to it - the staff though are very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very good location in the cente of the town, right on the famous Balcon de Europa viewing point. The only down side was that it was difficult to find parking.There is a good underground Municipal car park a few minutes walk from the hotel. You cannot drive right up to the hotel.Once you check in you can get hotel staff to show you the hotel car park adjacent to the underground car park. the charge is €13.50 per day (€20 for theMunicipal car park).
This is a very good four star hotel. There ar magnificent views from there. It also has a private beach, outdoor pool and a jacuzzi.
There is a nice bar which leads out onto the foyer.The seats ar very comfortable.There is also a covered seating area outside.
Our room was quite adequate. We had no view and no balcony.It was, however, on the sixth floor which was, in fact, steet level.This suited us very well. We were offered an upgrade for €35 per day. We declined.
Braekfast was quite substantial and varied? There were some very well appointed window seats with good views. The staff were very courteous and efficient. We would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamoGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel 7th to 14th May 2014. Great hotel, great location and great service from all staff here. We had a sea view room, very comfortable and much as you would expect from a four star rated hotel. Food quality is very much a personal opinion, excellent breakfast with plenty of choice is self service, evening meal was waiter service which is fine with varied menu but as with any other hotel abroad vegetables accompanying the meals was not great, however they do a buffet twice a week and that was very nice with plenty to choose from. A buffet more than twice a week would have been good. This is a very quiet and relaxing hotel that sits right on the beach, nice quiet pool area also. We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Sea view is great, only noise was from the sea. Sunny in the morning not so in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £77 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing