We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcon de Europa, Nerja, Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was spacious and clean and the restaurant staff were particularly pleasant. The food choices were plentiful with efficient service. Restaurant on 4th floor and the lift was woefully slow, so those with difficulty negotiating the stairs may need to consider this.

Our room was a twin with large comfortable beds. Plenty of wardrobe space and sockets. Very useful. Bathroom was clean and functional but very small. Not a problem for us but could be if you're a sharer.

Our room did not have a balcony and the view from our window was a very close, plastered plain wall. That is, no floral display, no Andalusian images or logos, but nothing. Totally blank. About 20 rooms had this view, but many had sea views with sizeable balconies and we did not discover this until we spoke to others, by which time, it was too late to change. We paid more than some with the sea views, so I would insists on this if I were to stay here again or , before you unpack, make a fuss at reception about the room without a view as it was difficult to dry our "smalls" in the bathroom and we felt generally short changed compared to other travellers.

Beach towels were provided however sun beds were at an additional cost of €5 each per day and parasols were also an additional €5 per day.

We travelled in July and stayed for one week and paid the premium rate.

Room Tip: INSIST on a room with a balcony or a window with a view, at the very least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great stay - very clean well kept traditional hotel.

All the staff were helpful -
The rooms front facing the sea are the best large balcony great views

Only slight complaint not that great for vegetarians - all the breakfast utensils are mixed so people use them on the bacon and the mushrooms not ideal. Apart from that it's brilliant. Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Tapas only 1eu30 and drinks about 1eu50, a very cheap meal out for us whilst we watched the virgin del carmen celebrations. The service was distracted and slow, but the food and desserts more than met our expectations. The waiters were obviously having an argument over the top of our heads, but there was at least 10,000 people in Nerja that evening so they were a little rushed off their feet. We will definitely go back there at those prices!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank lauratwomey-hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just stayed at this fantastic hotel for a fifth time. Great staff, great room, good food and just about the best in Nerja. There are just too many great staff to name them all and picking a few will not do the others justice so I will only say they are all fantastic. Well done to all and see you all soon! My one and only criticism is the main lift which really needs a refurbish quickly.

Room Tip: Face the sea as the paseo at the front can be busy till late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Philthompson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I'm staying at this hotel at the moment this is my 3rd day . Perfect location . Very clean . Nice private beach . But service is Terrible you have to wait about half an hour for them to take your order at lunch and dinner plus finding a waiter for a drink is just a no go . The fact they are so slow and you have to wait forever to be served has put me off. If you don't mind that then defiantly stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cjw86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Couldnt have a better location in Nerja - it's practically got its own beach; its right next to the impressive balcony for beautiful evening views; and then its got the hustle and bustle of Nerja to the rear.

Paid for a standard room for 3 nights and was expecting a room overlooking a wall or something (which I was perfectly prepared for) only to draw back the curtains on arrival and be blown away by a balcony looking out over the Mediterranean. The balcony was a great bonus but I wouldn't worry too much a bout it, we used it for an hour or two at most. The room was very nice and had definitely been recently spruced up with a very nice finish. There is a free safe (winds me up when you have to pay) and free wifi and complementary beach towels. You have to pay for sun beds but its still cheaper than buying your own chairs/parasol etc and at least it largely stops people just putting towels down and not using them for most of the day. Nice cooked/continental buffet breakfast with the omelet/pancake station proving particularly popular. For dinner (lunch) we'd just nip up into the town and grab a sandwich/pizza before returning to the beach. Sea was freezing whilst we were there (July) which was surprising but other people said it wasnt always like that - maybe it was the currents or something - but it was really nice to cool down in after the 30 degree sunshine.

We had a hire car and parked it in the municipal underground car park near the hotel for the 3 days. If you want anything more than 24 hours in the car park you have to drive in and then see the man in the booth who can offer tourist passes (3 days €40, 7 days €65 from memory). We just left the hire car there for 3 nights but the man said we could use the ticket on the barrier to come and go as we please.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Chris809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have just returned from another fantastic holiday in the once sleepy little fishing village known as Nerja. I stayed at the Balcon de europa hotel half board and noticed it has had a revamp in several areas. The hotel has a new style of management but still holds its charm and excellent staff as always. The main terrace has new furniture which is extreemly comfortable and a great place to sit with friends. There is now free wifi in all areas for those technophobes amongst us.
The food was of a high standard and during the extensive buffet night the hotels pianist played good old fashioned music which takes you straight back to the spain of the 70's it was excellent.
The hotel and staff offered me another problem free experience that I cannot beat and continue to return to year after year to continue living my spanish dream.

Room Tip: All rooms with a balcony are great for people watching or sea views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank watchstrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
218 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balcon de Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balcon de Europa

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#9 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £77 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balcon de Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of Nerja, at the "Balcon de Europa" square; a balcony looking to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Balcon de Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcon De Europa Nerja
Balcon De Europa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing