We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doing the doggy doo-doo dance.”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Doing the doggy doo-doo dance.”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Our fourth stay at the fantastic Riu Monica. Managed to get a great deal with Thomson Holidays flying from Gatwick. Sadly the old manager has left but Miguel the new one is very nice. It's a lovely hotel with many, many returning guests which must say something. If you go I'm sure you won't be disappointed. Whilst your there be sure to visit the local donkey sanctuary but beware the hungry pot-bellied pigs. Nerja is an interesting town with many side streets to explore but the downside is the staggering amount of dog doo-doo everywhere that had to be constantly sidestepped. We described walking around town as doing the doggy doo-doo dance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midshipman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    617
    135
    33
    18
See reviews for
273
1,175
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Most reviews seem to cover all that is good and maybe not so about this hotel. I thought our bedroom decor was was a little tired/dated , the bathroom was o/k but the shower was poor. The food in the restaurant was good if a little repetitive after a few days , Overhaul we enjoyed our stay at the Riu Monica . Whether I would stay again would depend on the deal I could get .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aljanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

From the welcome glass of Cava from the friendly reception, to the fastest clearing of plates in the restaurant, the quick bar staff and the Manager constantly checking the service is tip top you would be hard pushed to find a better and more efficient run hotel. The only downside was the foam pillows, even then the housekeeper came to our room immediately after enquiring with different types until we found one that was more comfortable. I will certainly be returning and by the comments of other guests this seemed to be a hotel that had more of its fair share of regulars, quite rightly so!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BooknutTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I have to say we were pleasantly surprised by both the hotel and Nerja and indeed thomsons with whom we booked the holiday. Flight out/back on time - transfer well organised and a good rep at the hotel.

The location of the hotel is excellent - on the western side of town directly facing one of the sandy beaches. It's a short walk to the Balcon and centre of town (10mins) with its narrow streets and whitewashed buildings. It is not a dirty town but like any place you will see some mess which is easily avoidable.

We could not fault the service from hotel staff whether it was the manager (who would tour the restauarant in the evening checking things were to your liking) or the person who cleaned the room. Everyone we met was friendly and cheerful.

The food whether it was breakfast or evening meal was good and varied. In the evening there are two sittings 6pm and 7.45pm. We chose the latter and everything was relaxed. The food was plentyful and there was great variety. True if you stay two or three weeks it might become predictable but then that surely would be true of many places.

The room we had was fine and functional with a partial sea view and balcony. It is true that the insulation wasn't great and you could hear the neighbours if they were noisy and there occasionally was the sound of water as baths were emptied or toilets flushed but it didn't inconvenience us.

There was also an indoor pool/gym area which we didn't use as the weather was excellent all week and a grassy area where you could sunbathe and relax plus an area around the pool.

There were opportunities to visit the nearby towns and villages by bus and Granada is only a couple of hours away by coach.

All in all we thought it was great value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FelixStowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

service is very good in all departments,nothing is too much trouble and it was good to see the manager over seeing the daily running of his hotel, nice clean rooms and linen changed for you at your request,buffet meals were a good standard and pleasant entertainment in the evening,we are in our mid fifties so if you are looking for a wild time then this is not the place for you,excellent location for an amble into the town with lovely shops,cafes. Nice beach but big waves,may have been the time of year though.
we went first week in march and the weather was not the best but thats the chance you take,will definately be back but will pick a warmer month.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank breaghreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The hotel fell short of our expectations. Food was very much the same for 2 weeks with little imagination. The fish, meat and breakfast bacon were not the best quality and the sauces very salty. The paella was always very dry with little in the way of prawns or other protein. I actually lost weight. We ate at the 6.0 pm sitting and so there was no relaxing over dinner as the waiters were hurrying to prepare for the 8.0 pm sitting.
Our room had a toilet waste (boxed in) right next to the bedside locker and every time someone in the rooms above used the toilet we could hear everything. A flushing toilet in the middle of the night was very disturbing. The beds have waterproof mattress covers and the pillows are hard foam. All in all it was pretty uncomfortable. The room size was good, but €15.00 per week for hire of the safe was a rip-off. The walls between rooms are thin and our neighbour insisted on switching on his tv at 7.0 am, talking loudly and banging wardrobe doors so we were always up early for breakfast. No alarm needed.
Nerja itself was not bad, but every pavement was covered in dog pooh which made for unpleasant walking.
We shall not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We spent a week at the Monica for our 25 Anniversary,and it was a lovely week could not of asked for better.The staff make this hotel one of the best we have stayed in and we have stayed in a few,the food was always very good with very good selection,No one would go hungry.There is plenty of bars outside if you fancy a change at night.The caves are a must.The scenery from Frigiliana is really amazing.We walked for miles but there are buses going anywhere you want to go,we just enjoyed walking.We will be going back in the next few months for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyboobkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing