We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tony. Waterford. Ireland”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tony. Waterford. Ireland”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just back from Riu Monica in Nerja. Stayed there from the 2nd. to the 9th. Sept 2012. Firstly i read a lot of reviews before we went and most of them were spot on.The staff from the reception, dining and cleaning were excellent.There was plenty of food choice at the breakfast and dinner to choose from. If you want to be picky you could find fault, but over all it was very good. Its location on the beach it ideal to be on the sea front and just about eight minutes walk to the center. Over all we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonytuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    638
    137
    33
    18
See reviews for
282
1,214
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a great holiay in Nerja. The hotel was conveniently located, right next to the beach and a comfortable stroll away from the centre. We asked to change rooms from the first floor, which did not have a view, to the sixth floor, which was 100% better. Staff were really accommodating. Food was great, although we ate out on several occasions as there are many fantastic tapas bars and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors for a beautifu sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llang_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This Hotel has a policy of customer first which it stands by. We were asked if room was OK and did we want to change, was dinner table OK and did we want to change. Both the room and dining experience was excellent and the food was first class. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols as well as tree shaded places in the gardens if you prefer that option. This hotel is suitable for all ages.

Room Tip: A good point is nearly all rooms partially or fully face the sea with only a few at ground level wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked the hotel principally for location, this being a first visit to Nerja. Although the rooms were modest in size, and perhaps a little dated in terms of decor, the hotel proved to be first class. The staff were very professional and friendly, always willing to help and delivered great service. We were booked for dinner at the hotel in the package, but did not expect to eat there - however the food was good and we ended up eating in on a few occasions. Of the facilities, the gym was all we used and it is small but adequate. The pool area was very good, and the beach literally a few steps away. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

O
This was our second visit to the Monica and it was as good as last year, if not better. The hotel is run to perfection and is completely relaxing. It is spotlessly clean and although the decor and furniture is not modern it is all in excellent condition.
Rui is a great entertainer but not at all pushy so you can take it or leave it.
The food is amazing and the only critisism is too much choice - forget the diet!
There are some lovely bars and cafes directly opposite the hotel . The Jamaica which is great value at 4.95 for a bottle of house wine and the Don Juan which does enormous portions of tasty tapas - great for a very long lunch.
The caves are a must, the donkey sanctuary great fun for the kids and the Life Adventure trips, available through the Thomson rep or direct from the shop in the Balcon, are amazing. Michael is very knowlegable and the open top jeeps are fantastic for viewing the amazing scenery and entertaining the children.
A fabulous hotel, brilliant staff and a great resort to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worthingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renfrewshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

An excellent hotel from check in to check out
The rooms are spotless with fantastic sea view
The food spoiled for choice
The staff very helpful and polite
Its across the promenade from the beach.
and there are lovely quiet gardens in the grounds of the hotel.

Room Tip: best views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have just arrived back from a week at this hotel, which we have enjoyed. However I must agree with some of the previous comments made, the beds are hard, the towels are thin and the food, although good and plentiful, does get a little boring by the end of the week. Our room was large as there was 3 of us, but the air conditioning was only suitable for a smaller room and we were too hot. On Saturday a lot of people left and an older clientel arrived, the programe of entertainment changed and BINGO!!!!!!!!!! arrived, not the kind of entertainment I expect when on holiday; the previous night there had been a Westlife tribute band which were excellent. The meal times also altered and there was a general rush when the doors opened, which resulted in long queues at the buffet.

The old town of Nerja is a very nice place with lots of small shops, bars and restaurants; the Balcony de Europe is an interesting place to see, although the staff at the hotels there were very slow in serving customers who just required a drink.

On the whole we did have a good holiday, however I do not think we will be going back.

Room Tip: Book bed and breakfast, visiting the local restaurants for the evening meal might be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBAR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Lastminute, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing