We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just returned from a week's stay and we were very impressed with the hotel. We had a drink on arrival and the booking in was simple and efficient.
The location is ideal but it could be a problem if there is a mobility issue, as virtually every way you go is up hill.
The room and en suite were of a good size and the sea view was excellent even though it was supposed to be limited. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but we got a kettle from reception, which was subject to a refundable 10 euro deposit. Room was a bit dated but it had no impact. My wife advises taking a hair dryer.
Food at breakfast and evening meal was excellent and there was a large choice.
Entertainment in the main was very good and the singer was excellent.
Staff, in every area, were very friendly and extremely helpful.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireLeyther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    628
    136
    33
    18
See reviews for
276
1,193
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at the Riu Monica for the first time in March this year and found it to be ideally situated in Nerja , a town that has managed to retain its Spanish charm. The staff, bar none, were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had not been in our room more than ten minutes when we received a phone call from reception asking if our room was to our liking. The same caring attitude prevailed throughout our stay. The food was of a very good standard and we chose the later sitting of 8.15pm for our main meal, although the times are not set in stone as I requested the earlier sitting one evening. I was accomodated with ease and escorted to our table by one of the numerous helpful waiters. All in all an excellent stay at a quality hotel which I hope to re visit in the future.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better - no noise to disturb at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MansellDJ11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here In February this year. The staff here are the friendliest I have ever encountered! We travelled with Thomson and the "Welcome Meeting" was attended by the Director of the hotel and a member of staff from all sections. They each spoke briefly about their roles and that they were there to help guests in whatever way they could. We thought this was a nice touch. As to the hotel itself - very impressive. Rooms clean and comfortable, food well presented with excellent choice. Tables were allocated for dinner which I prefer - saves wandering around looking for one which you needed to do at breakfast. Nerja is a lovely town - little shops to browse in and places to go for lunch or coffees and just a 10 minute stroll from Monica. We took bus to Frigliana - what a pretty little town, well worth a visit. This is the perfect hotel and area for a relaxing holiday. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool get sun in the morning, those facing gardens get it in the afternoon. Views from b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackbird21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

On a return visit to the Monica we were surprised the hotel was even better than the last time we stayed .The food is lovely still hotel buffet but first class even the " We usually Cruise" guests were impressed.The rooms are roomy very clean and bright and more storeage space than even Joan Crowford would need!
The staff are amazing attentive but not intrusive.
If you want top rate evening entertainment its not for you but we were happy with the in house music and a couple of visiting acts .On our friends Golden Wedding Anniversary we danced the night away !!!

Room Tip: if you want sun in the morning you need odd numbers even for afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwystre
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

A good hotel if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday. It appears to be more suitable for retired couples and the strategic placing of comfortable seating and age appropriate entertainment were apparent. There is a pleasant promenade directly in front of the hotel which seemed to be popular with both visitors and locals. Unfortunately it is also used by numerous dog owners who do not all clean up after their pets . This is the same in the town and it is not pleasant to stroll about there at all.
Nothing negative to say about the hotel, the food, staff and efficiency. We asked for extra pillows and received them within minutes. We would probably return when we are older .
Unfortunately the weather was unseasonably cold and wet which detracted a little from our enjoyment. We are Riu Diamond class holders and did not get the same recognition that we have received in other hotels which was a disappointment but did not mar our holiday .
There are many places to eat and drink in Nerja and most are within walking distance of the hotel and are reasonably priced.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bynwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Not much we could fault at this hotel, everyone works hard to make your stay as good as possible, the hotel is spotless, food good service excellent, location less than 10 minutes walk to the balcon and on the beach a good choice we will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

RIU Hotels do not disappoint and this one has all you need for a comfortable short or long stay. We were there in late February and the view from our room was of high rolling waves in the Mediterranean. Inside the hotel it was cosy; there were plenty of nooks inside to relax and read or play on the computer or visit with friends. The food buffets provided choice and the service was lovely. We were there on my birthday and without our saying anything, staff placed a bucket of champagne at our dinner table. It was a nice treat. I am ambulating with a walker and was given a room with a spacious bathroom. We also enjoyed the pool, exercise room and massage service. I think families would enjoy this hotel in summer as it is right on the promenade with the beach on one side and the hotel pool on the other. Strolling on the promenade, taking photos, and shopping in the neighborhood are all possibilities from this hotel. We have been many times to Nerja so did not go into the main village but it holds attractions for those who have time and the interest, particularly for a wider array of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden may be quieter than those overlooking the pool and from the balcony you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
983 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing