We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing!”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Refreshing!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

An excellent hotel with an amazing team of staff who were very welcoming, always smiling and obviously happy in their work! Daniel took the time to make sure you were OK and that everything was fine. A pleasure and a change to stay at a hotel with courteous staff. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    644
    144
    34
    18
See reviews for
284
1,246
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at the Riu for the first 2 weeks of July and after reading the mixed reviews arrived here with an open mind. On arriving we were more than pleasantly surprised, it's a lovely hotel, very clean and extremely well organised. Our room was more than adequate, spacious, clean, maid service daily (who was extremely thorough) I suppose if you wanted to be extremely picky you could be, personally I go on holiday to relax and enjoy myself not to fault find.

The pool area was lovely, very clean and plenty of sun beds, yes people did reserve them with towels, we found this a pointless exercise as there was always more than enough to go around.

Breakfast was fantastic, I'm struggling to understand the reviews on here regarding the food, there was a choice of several breads, jams, marmalades, cheeses, fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereals, muesli, meats (hot and cold), scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fish, tea, coffee, juices, smoothies to mention a few, all freshly prepared so all I would say if that's not good enough and you want 5 star then go to a 5 star hotel as I have stayed in many 4 star hotels in this country and not had anywhere near the selection of choice!

Evening meal again fantastic, every evening there was more than enough choice and something different every evening, a choice of 3 soups daily, then more than enough hot dishes for any taste and a spectacular array of cold meats, salads, rices, dips, cheeses, breads etc, I'm not the most adventurous of eaters but I happily ate 3 courses every evening without it being repetative. We counted the choice of deserts of an evening and there is a choice of over 10 every evening, now for me that's more than enough choice.

On a few reviews I've seen people complain about chipped crockery, yes, a few we're chipped, but its no hardship to pick one of the very many that aren't chipped!!

Overall, judging this hotel and the price we paid I feel we got complate value for money, there will always be people who complain, but I had a much nicer holiday by just enjoying the experience as opposed to picking fault in it.

My only fault was not the hotel but our rep, we were walking through the hotel one day to the pool and he stopped us and questioned if we were just passing through, we found that quite embarrassing and unprofessional of the rep!! I don't expect him to know us by name but at the least be familiar with the guests he is paid to represent.

Overall I would return to the Riu and the resort of Nerja is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gillrich72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you like your hotel to have that British feel then you would love this hotel!
I can not fault the room, pool or hotel but was missing that spanish feel apart from two chefs in the hotel who did not realise I understood spanish, time and place for certain comments I feel.
This hotel is in a great location and Nerja is lovely and if you want to holiday with the average M&S customer then chose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat-turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent 2 weeks here at the beginning of July - our first visit. After reading all the reviews on this site we did have high expectations but unfortunately had some disappointments.
The hotel is in an excellent location, the staff are very friendly and it is very clean.
Our room on the 4th floor was fine if in need of refurbishing.The towels should not be in a 4 star hotel- they were virtually threadbare. It was kept very clean throughout our stay.

The pool area was small but again very clean. Luis the entertainments man worked very hard. There was a garden area for people who preferred a little peace and quiet. There was some reservation of sun beds but there seemed to be plenty for everyone. There is a snack bar open for lunch and waiter drinks service around the pool. The pool area opens onto a small promenade onto the beach via a coded gate.

Our biggest disappointment was the restaurant - no way is this 4 star. The breakfasts were adequate - only 2 different fruit juices which were out of a carton. One morning there were 2 freshly prepared - strawberry and pineapple but this was not repeated.There was a big selection of cold foods perhaps aimed at the many Spanish staying in the hotel.,Other RIU hotels we have been in have had much more selection. We struggled in the evening to put a meal together. The soups were thin and tasteless, the meat was of poor quality and always tasted of the oil used on the grills. It was also very repetative. The china was chipped. One night I took all my plates to the Director as they were all chipped. As a result ,Daniel the new assistant manager, came and explained he was aware of this and new crockery was on order.
On our last night new wine glasses appeared so perhaps they are upgrading things.

The staff are very helpful and you get the impression they will go out of their way to solve any problems. During our chat wit Daniel, who is new to the RIU chain, he even offered to change our mattress if we found it too hard! (we didn't). He also explained that this hotel is a different standard to the last one we stayed in (Riu Palace Meloneras)- however they are both 4 star!
There were many children staying here - all seemed to be enjoying themselves. Luis doing the childrens disco at night is a must see. We did not go to any of the entertainment so cannot comment on that.
All in all we enjoyed our stay but feel that the food could be vastly improved to merit a 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usuallycruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at the Riu Monica for 10 days in July. After a bad few holidays over the last few years with bad locations and not much to do in the area we found the area of Nerja and the Riu Monica a pleasant surprise! After reading other reviews on the hotel I think some people need to stop complaining about little things as there will always be room for improvement in a hotel, dont let the small minority of these reviews put you off staying here! This was our first time staying at a Riu branch and we would definitely stay with them again!

When arriving at the hotel we were greeted with champagne and juice which was a nice touch and checked in quickly with the excellent and friendly reception staff. As there were 4 of us we had to stay in 2 separate rooms and found we were next door which in the last holidays has been something we have requested but never got. When inside the room we found our view was not great (the roof of the restaurant being our view meaning we did not see anything out the balcony) we thought although a disappointment we could deal with this. Within ten minutes the receptionist rang our room to say they were aware the views were not satisfactory and if we could stay in the rooms for tonight they would move us to a better view in the morning! We thought this was an great thing for them to do without us having mentioned anything and the receptionists went out of their way to help us move rooms and we had excellent sea views in our new rooms!

The town is a short walk with the square nearby with market stalls at night with the beach right on the edge of the hotel with a gate in and out of the hotel meaning it was easy to reach.

The pool, you could say was small but we had no problems with it and would not say it become overcrowded. Pool area was always clean and yes, perhaps the towels provided werent the best but I didnt see that as something to put a downer on the holiday.

The entertainment staff were great and you could see worked extremely hard. The man entertainer, not sure of his name, worked all day with poolside entertainment through to the evening to provide the disco etc and was always enjoying himself and getting people involved.

The rooms were exceptionally cleaned every morning by a maid and the rooms themselves were spacious with tv with english channels, radio and large balcony area and bathroom.

Another thing with RIU we had not experienced before was the active appearance of the managers at the hotel. Both assistant manager, Daniel and director welcomed you every morning/night into the restaurant and came and chatted and asked how everything was most nights which we had never seen before in any other hotel we have stayed in and we thought was a nice touch and could tell the hotel was managed well by them both.

The restaurant staff were especially friendly and, as my mum has a gluten free diet, went out of their way to accommodate this which we never have found before in other hotels and we were very impressed by. The head waiter offered her a gluten free soup option every night as well as a bread roll every breakfast. The chefs also advised her on food she could eat and she was well looked after by all the friendly and polite staff there. The chefs also chatted to us as we got our meals and asked how we were and were always working hard.

The only thing I could say is the food got rather repetitive. A lot of fish, pork and paella every night and by 10 days we found it hard to put together meals some nights and found not much variety to the meals, although what we did have was well cooked and tasted nice.

Although this is not in regards to the hotel itself, but we were very disappointed with our rep for our holiday. The welcome meeting we attended was rushed with vague directions to markets (we walked for 2 hours and couldnt find it-turns out the rep told us completely wrong area) and not much detail of the different excursions. On our stay there was a local festival which we were told nothing about by the rep which is something you would think they would like to mention to us. Just a tip for you, if you need to ask anything, ask the friendly receptionists who speak very good english- we found out more from them than the reps!

All in all a great family holiday with plenty off bars and shops around and lots to do in surrounding areas. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor- could have view of restaurant roof area and little else Sea views are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah2894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at the Riu Monica last week of June first week of July. Arrived late in the evening to be greeted by champagne and food which had been laid on for late arrivals. Our room was large and very comfortable. The shower, towels and bed were all very good - don't know why other people have reviewed them so badly. We used the pool and it was very clean. We were a bit disappointed with the whole help yourself buffet style dinner but the food was ok. Nerja was lovely with some great bars and restaurants and clean beaches. In fact compared to Brighton where we had been for a day just before going on holiday, it was immaculately clean everywhere. I would definitely recommend the resort and the hotel. The staff could not have been more polite and helpful and the managers made an appearance in the dining room at every meal time. They even made smoothies one morning at breakfast.
We have no complaints at all and I would recommend this hotel.
PS Highly recommend the Boathouse bar next door. Carling at 2Euros a pint!

Room Tip: We were in room 636 and had a great view of the sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great hotel overall, could barely fault it. Exceeded our expectations and we would go back, which is something we rarely say! Great location, right next to the beach, bars over the road and just a 10 minute walk to the town centre.

Food/Restaurant: Choice is fantastic for breakfast and evening meals. Could be a little more imaginative, but we could always find something. And yes, they do serve Brussels sprouts on some days but they were actually really nice! Although there was plenty to choose from dessert wise, apart from the flambéed fruit and ice creams, in my opinion the desserts are pretty poor. We ate out for four nights, but that’s only because we like to try local cuisine (La Brasserie was particularly good, Biz Naga Tapas on the square wasn't). Staff provided soya milk on request and gluten free bread, although unfortunately the latter wasn’t very nice.

It has been asked on here how you get a window seat in the restaurant.. well, we just asked and were told we could have one two days later. The tables are a little closer together there though so private conversations are impossible but nice views.

Room: Roomy with modern décor and big balcony. Better than our five star hotel in Italy. We were on the 6th floor and had a view of the sea, pool area and the mountains. Believe the other reviews, the beds are VERY hard and the towels are thin and rough. Maid came in every day to tidy up, change towels etc.

Pool area/gardens: Lots of sunloungers/parasols, which do get reserved very early. However, we went on the raised garden area where it has a breeze and was nice and quiet. And there are two cute cats which have been there a while (they love sardines and cat treats!) and a pond with fish and frogs to look out for. The sun doesn’t hit there until about 10.30am but then stays for most of the day.

Bar/Entertainment: Friendly bar staff. Entertainment was poor in our opinion. Maybe not so bad for the older generation. We preferred to go into a café in the square, grab a cocktail and people watch.

Room Tip: E-mail in advance to ask for a room on a high floor, with a view of the sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#5 of 37 in Nerja
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Lastminute, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing