We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just came back from a two week holiday at the Riu Monica and it was a great hotel. The staff were very friendly, smiling and helped with everything we needed. The hotel is right on the beach and our room had a sea view it was gorgeous.
We stayed half board and the food provided was very very good and we were given a large variety of choice each day.
One of the few negative points was the pool, it was a bit small which meant we couldn't swim lengths, and it was often too full with people and the hotel activities to go in often.
The hotel had lots of sunbeds which was nice by the pool and in the garden area which was nice if you wanted to get some quiet.
The hotel is in a great location in Nerja, lots of bars and a short walk to the Balcon D'europa with lots of restaurants.
Our room was a double and a decent size thankfully with good Air conditioning so we were very comfortable.
Overall it was a great trip and will definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Take your own hairdryer as the ones in the room are not that powerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    617
    135
    33
    18
See reviews for
273
1,175
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a wonderful stay here for a week at the end of July. The welcome we received on arrival was lovely with all the staff so friendly. Had a sea view room on the 4th floor which was spotlessly clean. The hotel is well run and the food is super! Hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angleseyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just arrived back from this hotel and I have no complaints whatsoever , other guests have covered the points that I would have made .Thank you to all the staff at this hotel , always happy and enthusiastic at all times , even the ones that work behind the scenes to make this hotel run very smoothly.I never noticed any thread bare towels , if that's all people notice then it's surely only a minor issue .We enjoyed the food immensely ,and the mini club and pool side activities were great . We will come back and also recommend . Oh and not forgetting Nerja itself a lovely unspoiled place . Thank you .

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fine no matter where you are in the hotel ,they all get their fair share o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thailand2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Riu Monica for a week at the end of July. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean on the fifth floor with fabulous sea view. Neither our bathroom nor beach towels were ever threadbare as has been reported in other reviews. The beds were very comfortable, we didn't find them at all hard! We had been in our room less than ten minutes on arrival when a lady on reception called and asked if everything was ok. All the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. The food was excellent, plentiful and varied and the dining area bright and airy with tables overlooking the sea. (we didn't notice any chipped crockery, not that we were really looking!!!). The pool area was also kept clean and there were always plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. We cannot comment on the evening entertainment as we always walked into the beautiful town of Nerja in the evenings. Nerja itself is totally unspoilt and is buzzing with people in the evenings, with a great atmosphere. A fantastic holiday, will definitely be returning, thank you Riu Monica.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Glass of bubbly on arrival, lovely room on sixth floor, good views, very good food, and very good staff in all areas of the hotel. Pool facilities excellent and plenty of sunbeds, pool towels threadbare, unless you were lucky enough to get one of the scares new ones!
The down side, very threadbare towels in bathrooms, and hair dryer very outdated, took ages to dry my hair, take your own.
On our ninth night a party of 12 French people were seated just behind us in the restaurant on second sitting, 8.45pm, the party contained 6 children! The noise was dreadful! I requested a move, we were move for our 10th night, our last and my birthday. However I feel that children should be accommodated in the early sitting, I would think about this before I booked again.
Someone commented on how good Daniel the Deputy Manager was, we found him rather overbearing, rather like an over enthusiastic sixth former! He would pop up everywhere asking if everything was perfect, one minute he was serving meals, then he was clearing tables, which is all well and good, but it was a bit OTT!!
Snacks not bad, but limited and pricey, Jamaica Bar across the road good value and pleasant food, the same applies to drinks, the bar very pricey.
However I generally enjoyed the holiday, and would think about returning. The town was a ten minute walk and very unspoilt.

Room Tip: High floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winefride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived to a glass of bubbly, a very quick welcome, and check in. The hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and is very well run. We had half board and the food was great all week.
The pool is very clean and there's plenty of sun beds. If you fancy the sea it's literally a few steps away.
Overall our weeks stay at the Riu was great and would thoroughly recommend it. In addition the main town of Nerja is only a ten min walk away and is very quaint , and unspoilt.
It's a place I would definitely go back to

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had been told to expect good food at this hotel, but it exceeded our expectations. The food was superb, and we looked forward to dinner all day. Our original room was on a lower floor, and by the steps to the pool. When we asked the Thomson rep if we could get a higher floor, the hotel could not do enough to ensure we were happy. Could not fault this hotel ( especially the staff ) at all. Future venues will have a lot to live up to. Well done the Riu Monica.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GillyStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing