We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hoilday”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good hoilday”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Tad late writing this as we stayed at the Monica at the end of September.
The hotel was fine, excellent room with sea view , very clean, food good with plenty of choice. There was entertainment on every night, which even though we did not see much, was good. As always, you will get people who like or dislike, the management go for overall appeal.
All the staff from the management to the cleaners where pleasant and helpful.
Gardens and pool area clean and well kept, plenty of sun beds, also lovely and peaceful.
This end of Nerja very nice, also the old town and "balcon" lovely to walk around.
Nerja is very different from the other costa resorts, not as built up, and as such makes it a lot more pleasant.
P.S Do go across the road to the "Ship" and try the Chinese restaurant, it's not bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cashmerekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    638
    137
    33
    18
See reviews for
282
1,213
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 nights half board, only ate in 3 times as the food is ok but very much the same each night. Breakfast was ok but finding a cockroach walking on the bread was a little off putting. The director was very disinterested and rude when this was reported. The hotel, however is ideal location a short walk into town and straight onto the beach. The hotel itself was clean but very tired and needs a good face lift. The beds are very hard we like a firm bed but this is super firm. The compromise was a couple of blankets on top of the mattress to try and soften it up. A tip don't stay on the west side of the hotel as if you need your door open all you will hear is a dog barking until early hours. The air conditioning unit is not really affective so the door was needed to be open. Tip take a hair dryer yes there is one in the room but it is useless. Most of the reception staff are very helpful. Our overall stay was average, not sure whether its worth a four star rating as it really does need a lot of work doing to it. Hope this helps when you come to booking your stay

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jcm117x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterlooville, england
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had a superb holiday. Wonderful weather and a great hotel.
No problems with our room or the food. Staff always helpful.
Sadly Daniel the assistant manager leaves soon for a new post in the Cape Verde islands.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with friends after reading other good reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff are very helpful and the check in went very smooth. The first impression is 'clean and spacious'. We were all given rooms on the same corridor on the first floor. The rooms are very clean and bright with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. The only criticism would be the noise from the plumbing. I think the drains go right down the centre of the rooms and so you get a lot of toilet flushing noise, from all six floors I think and some people seem to start this ritual at 6 am. That said , the maids keep the rooms clean and restocked.
I think the hotel could improve on the food. We have stayed in other Rius and I think this was the worst for food choice. That said, you could always find something to eat but it needed more variation. We only did a week and I think it would get boring for two weeks.
There are plenty of comfy seating areas around the hotel and the bar service is good, a little dearer than outside but good choice and service. The entertainment is mediocre with the odd good act on. There seemed to be some daytime things going on for those who want that.
There really is no need to reserve sun beds as there are plenty but you always get those who do! The beach is right across at the back with access through a gate. Be warned though, there are PLENTY of steps. While there are ramps, I don't think the hotel and even Nerja itself is very wheelchair friendly. Also it seems a resort and hotel for the older clientele as long as you are still agile.
Ps if you want a drink or a snack, look no further than The Ship across the road. Very friendly and lovely welcoming staff.
It's also nice to have a walk into the old town , very quaint , just go right from the front of the hotel and follow the road up, it's not too far.
and it feels like real Spain and not too touristy.
All in all, a good holiday with friends.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank maisie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spent 10 days at the end of September at this hotel and it certainly lived up to our expectations, having read many of the reviews on this website. We arrived late at the hotel, following a 3 hour delay at Gatwick, and were offered a cold drink whilst we checked in. We were then told that the restaurant had been kept open for us, which we appreciated. There we found some nice salads and desserts and water. We asked for some extra pillows and were surprised to find them ready on our beds when we went up to our room that night. We were given a lovely room on the 5th floor with views of the sea and the mountains. Could not have been better.
We had no problem with the air conditioning in the room, we had it set at the coldest setting and as long as the balcony doors were kept shut, it worked very well. There was also a ceiling fan, which we used on very hot days.
All parts of the hotel were very accessible with plenty of lifts to all floors, the restaurant, the pool, the pool bar and the beach.
The beach can be reached directly from the hotel, just through a gate and down a few steps.
The pool area was kept very clean and tidy, there were always plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, whatever time of day.
The food in the restaurant was always of good quality and plentiful. There was a good selection of hot and cold foods at both the breakfast and evening meal. We opted for the early evening sitting (6.30pm) as it gave us more time for a walk around the town in the evening. Some people have complained about the meals being rushed by the waiters taking away their plates, but we liked the fact that the table was constantly being cleared, so that we had more room and were encouraged to visit the buffet tables again.
The evening entertainment was very hit and miss. It varied each night. Some evenings it was just a lady or a man singing along to a backing track and on other evenings it was a band or some dancers. We did not mind as we normally went out for a walk after our meal and returned later to the hotel for a drink.
We very much enjoyed our stay and could not find fault with the hotel. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and the hotel was well managed.
We would definitely recommend it and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view. Rooms above the 4th floor have the best sea views. Even numbered room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary157136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our second time at Riu Monica. We had read about the slipping of standards but decided to see ourselves but this time on honeymoon. We had emailed the hotel prior and asked for a high room and that we were on honeymoon. We had a bottle of cava in the room on arrival, but were disappointed to find that our room was quite low (321) and when we lay in bed with the curtains open, we could be seen by the complete row of rooms on the wing going seawards.
This was admittedly in October but the Air-Con was not working. An enquiry at the desk to the manager revealed it was at his discretion, and would not be put on when the air temperature at night fell below 20 degrees Celsius. For the whole 11 nights, the temperature never fell below 24 degrees at night, but still no air-con. we had to leave the ceiling fan on 24/7 just to get some air circulation, and leave the balcony door wide open and the curtains open, just to try to cool the room down (hence the problem with being overlooked).
Ok, that's the downside. Everything else was as we had first encountered. Food was up to a decent standard, with plenty of choice. We saw some elderly people complain about the food, and all they had were pork chops and jacket potatoes and no drinks every night --- This is Europe, embrace the culture, or stay away! Poolside was great, no problems with beds being reserved. Even the little animation team (all 1 of him!) worked very hard with poolside activities. The entertainment at night was a little better than before, some quite good acts, but a word to the South African Motown group - THE NELSON MANDELA SKETCH WAS IN DESPICABLE TASTE. We left the bar after that particular item.
Once again the staff were generally very amicable, friendly and willing to help. A little knowledge of Spanish does go a long way though.
This hotel is run for the more mature generations, and is not really set up for kids, but we as late 50-year-olds would still return. We love Nerja and the surrounding area, and a trip to Malaga showed what a lovely city that is.
The Riu Monica is in an ideal location on the beach, but only five minutes' walk to the Balcon De Europa and the old town. We just loved people-watching. Although the hotel as other people have said, is showing it's age, we still feel it is great value for money, and the number of people we spoke to at the hotel, on return trips of the fourth or fifth time, is a testament to the high regard this hotel has. Just a little improvement and it will be excellent.
All-in-all, thank you and Thomson holidays for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 54 or 55 are the ones on the end overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frostyrhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ripon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The entertainment was poor with a less than enthusiastic one man team. The food was fair but limited options for vegetarians. The pool bar staff I found to be over insistent and not as helpfull as they could have been

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank mph55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
779 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing