We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still warm in December”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still warm in December”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing stay. Hotel was marvellous, staff were wonderful, helpful, friendly and all spoke several languages. Food was great. Good choice well & cooked. In fact the dining area was one of the best I have been to. Despite being busy on some occasions, it was not cramped & food was replaced immediately it was running low. We were also very fortunate with the weather so took advantage of the pool area & snack bar. Again a very enjoyable experience. Hotel is very well situated with a few shops & bars opposite entrance & a private gate at the rear takes you straight onto the promenade & beach. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryanneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    639
    137
    33
    18
See reviews for
282
1,215
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had been looking forward to staying at the Riu Monica after reading the reviews and were not disappointed. I had emailed the hotel to ask for a high floor with a sunny balcony and that's just what we got - room 748. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious with a large balcony. There was a TV (BBC1 and ITV1) and fridge with supplies of shampoo, soap etc. The safe was around 15 euros to hire. There were no tea and coffee (we took our own). The only disappointment was the bed - normally they are usually firm abroad, however the beds in the room were the most uncomfortable we have slept in - hard and uncomfortable - it's a pity when everything else at the hotel was so impressive.
There was so much choice of food - I defy anyone to not overeat!
The staff were courteous and couldn't be more helpful.
Wi-Fi was available for 90 minutes (in one go) for free in the lobby. This was per device so if you need more time take more Wi-Fi enabled gadgets. If you wanted Wi-Fi in your room it was available but also payable.
The hotel offered free beach towels too which was a nice touch. We discovered an indoor swimming pool (the water was quite cold!), and also a Gym.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again (despite the poor sleep quality)

Room Tip: Request a high room, sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have stayed at various hotels here in Nerja but now would always recommend Riu Monica this is now 6th stay here and cannot say anything else but positive things, the staff all longstanding are so helpful and friendly.it is so clean and food of very high standard. If you cannot find something to eat from the extensive choice you are too fussy.
I can recommend this hotel it's situation right down to the sea with beautiful lawn area and terraced down to bottom level where the pool is.lifts available for anyone with mobility problem, rooms available on ground and lower level, my room on 5th floor, twin bedded rooms, t.v. Bathroom fully equipped with bath/shower bidet ,hair dryer. Mini bar fridge where you can store your own drinks too. Many repeat guests which speaks volumes. Book a holiday here and you will not be disappointed. My only slight criticism is l wish they would get some fluffy soft towels but that is personal choice and they still dry you so no problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent 3 weeks at the Riu Monica in Nerja and had a wonderful time. First of all, we were extremely lucky with the weather which is always a bonus. The hotel is well situated: by the sea, opposite some tapas bars and pizzerias, 50 m from a bus stop, 900 m from the town center with all its little shops, restaurants and bars, and, cherry on the cake, about 50 m from the car rental Company Europcar and its parking which was most convenient. The rooms were kept spotless, shower curtain and towels were changed every day. We had a room on the 5th floor which had an excellent sea view with amazing sunrises. Breakfast was copious and had a good choice of eggs, bread, buns, cereals, sliced cheese etc. Cooked breakfast was prepared in front the guests by very friendly and helpful staff. There was a buffet for dinner; once again the choice and the quality of the dishes was very good. Something for every one's taste! As for Internet, each guest was allowed 90 minutes per day, to be used in one go.
The only minus point was the thinness of the towels which did not seem to match the comfort of the hotel/ room. We would without any doubt recommend this hotel to any one visiting Nerja.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albatros747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our third stay at the 'Rui Monica' - a spacious hotel with many advantages to please the most discerning of travellers.
Friendly welcomes by the reception and dining room staff coupled with cheerful cleaners and maintenance personnel.
Compared with other hotels, that we have stayed at in Nerja over the last 20 years, the advantages far outweigh disadvantages:
Larger rooms with 'sunrise' or 'sunset' (part) sea views and adequate number of lifts.
Carpeted corridors and rooms prevent disturbance from inconsiderate guests who insist on clip-clopping around in hard soles shoes at all times of the night!
The dining area is buffet service with plenty of excellent food on offer for the 'big' (greedy) eaters and the varied enough for the 'fussy' eaters.
Our only gripes were the thin towels and creaky beds with hard mattresses and bolster pillows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghostrider5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

from a glass of cava at arrival to a smiley goodbye the experience was first class.............stayed in room 0254 with sea view.....lovely food with big choice at breakfast and dinner....the staff are friendly and helpful....entertainment was fine,indoor pool and small gym...my only gripe was my bed was too hard but all in all,a great stay.

Room Tip: 0254....sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnsleyloyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

just got home 24th november from this hotel,would return again next year,staff and reps was very good and helpful.The room was great with sea views and very clean,food great like other reviews have stated ,right on the beach with a gate from hotel garden.When i read a few reviews i was a bit concerend because it was our first time ,nothing in the reviws seemed to be a true write up ie staff attitude,transport from airport,and other things ,these were all unfounded the only one complaint i would say was the changing area for indoor pool needs sorting ie one shower cubicle within the toilet area with a white curtain and no were to hang your towel or clothes so they all got wet ,this was very sad when the pool was great ,and could be easy to change because the area next to gym and pool {garden} would make a great changing area.

Room Tip: we was on third floor room 333 brill but rooms on second floor would have a view of the roof and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing