We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We could not fault it,a great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We could not fault it,a great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We only booked this holiday 2 weeks before so did not expect to much, but was pleasantly suprised!
We arrived early lunch time & received a welcome drink, our room was not quite ready, so we told to leave our luggage in the lobby & wait in the lounge or explore the hotel as it was our first visit, we decided to walk down to the sea front as it was a lovely day, on our return we found our luggage had been taken up to our room, which was on the 2nd floor 251.
We had a great view of the sea, facing east, so we got the early morning sun.
Alas we only managed to get 2 days of sun, the rest was damp &cold.

The staff were always pleasant & helpful, great food with plenty of choice, there was 2 sittings at night we had the later one 7.45pm.
Entertainment was ok at night, the flamenco act was very good, & Ricky Lavazza a singer from Wales was excellent. We went out every day so could not say what the daytime entertainment was.
I'm glad we took our warm jackets & jeans, they were certainly needed this time of year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 24saubrasdealportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    858
    607
    135
    33
    17
See reviews for
272
1,151
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location right on the seafront, with access to the beach.
The rooms are of a good size and most rooms on level 1 and above have a sea view or side sea view. try to get a high floor if possible. The room was clean and presentable and the maid service everyday of a very good standard.
The food in the restaurant was very varied always something for everyone to eat catering for all tastes even vegetarian's. Sometimes it wasn't cooked to a good standard like very overcooked beef or nearly raw in the middle pork you just had to look for something else.
The staff are pleasant and helpful even asking if your allocated table was ok or did you wish to change.
Nice touch on arrival a glass of cava very quick well executed check in service.
The entertainment was good on two nights but overall not fantastic.
Met some lovely people the guest's all seemed to be nice and friendly no matter where they came from.
One downside to Nerja is the amount of dog mess all over the pavements it really lets the place down

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our 3rd stay at the Monica and once again very enjoyable. Pleased to see all the high standards have been maintained. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. We did not arrive till about10pm and we're greeted with a glass of Cava and told a late supper was available in the restaurant. Our room was spacious and clean with good sea view. The service in the restaurant is excellent and the choice of food extremely good and the desserts exceptional especially the creeps and fruit flambé with the serve yourself bottle of brandy.
The hotel is well situated on the front and it's possible to walk in either direction. Nerja has retained it's character despite the influx of tourists. The Balcon de Europa is a great place to stroll to and from there follow the traffic free streets with a multitude of shops. Do not miss a visit to the Caves they are breathtaking and the best we've been in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpguerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just arrived back from 7 days in Nerja, the weather was great, shirt sleeves during the day and a fleece evenings. The RIU Monica is a good hotel in an excellent location, the meals are too good, I must have gained a few kilos in that week, it is about 10 minutes walk to the Balcon De Europa through narrow shopping streets and central squares, we found the cat families there very amusing.
Opposite the hotel is The Ship Dutch bar with an excellent choice of drinks, (much cheaper than the RIU), Also no SKY sports, just background music which is definitely a plus. I was surprised at the efficiency of the staff especially Mary who never stopped serving a full bar on her own. Nerja itself is a hie small town full of narrow streets with shops and bars, there is an animal shelter run by a charity which is worth a visit. We also visited the caves using the local bus and had a day trip to Granada and the Alhambra. We also did the free blanket trip to Malaga with a sightseeing trip around Malaga and 2 hours free time in Malaga, all but one couple had done blanket trips before.

Room Tip: Upper floors with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice, a bit oldfashioned big hotel at the western end og the small city og Nerja, Costa tropical in Andalucia, Spain.
Very clean, ever so friendly staff, good food (just repeating other rewievs here...) an amazing wiew over either sunrise or sunset from higher floors. Try to book a room to the sunset on a high floor. We had 542, very Nice. Mostly Greman elderly guests, many staying long terms.
Nice 10 min stroll to Nerja citycenter and Balcon de Europa. On New years eve too, after an excellent dinner at the hotel with free wine and sparkling, with "fun-pack" and 12 grapes (spanish tradition: 12 grapes - one each stroke from the churchbell for good luck the coming year - and also for the same reason: red underwear! :-) Also small gifts on the beds from the hotel, a pocket ledlight. Thank you Riu!
The celebration on Balcon is beyond describing - must be there and feel it! Fantastic!
Room has AC, nice and varm during a bit cold days, and basic furitured.
Drawback - and the only one - bed and pillows. Beds seemed a bit shabby and old and stone hard, and pillows not good, too hard and unable to form. We like hard beds for soft ones, but this was a litte too much.
Advice to hotel: Mend the beds and buy som extra top-matresses and pillows by choise!
Nice litte indoor swimmingpool (thing it was salt water) and an outdoor one in a beautiful garden. Beach just across the pedestrianroad.

Did not use the spa - so no rating.

Thank you Nerja and Riu Monica With all it's staff for a pleasant stay! :-)

Room Tip: Rooms against sunset on higher floors than 3, against sunrise higher than 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norwaycouple222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Everything about this hotel rated excellent, the position in the resort could not have been better, right on the beach and facing south so we had sun from morning till night. The staff at this hotel were the most pleasant people you could hope to meet, always a cheery smile and always glad to help. The cleanliness was five star, all public areas immaculate and bedrooms serviced every day to a very high standard.. We would also like to complement the restaurant for the high quality of food at every meal and for the efficient way that guests were catered for. This was our first visit to Nerja and it was November but the weather was still quite pleasant but I think when we return we will choose a warmer month. This holiday was a very pleasant experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited the Riu Monica fpr the fourth time, over New Year.

We spent Christmas 2012 here, and were advised that the New Year celebrations were also excellent so booked early in the year with Thomson. As always, the welcome from the Receptionists was extremely warm.

We have always been fortunate to get a room on the 7th floor, the highest in the hotel, which gives wonderful views of spectacular sunrises and sunsets, as well as the sea. Also huge balconies. Our balcony tended to get the full sun around lunchtime, then for most of the afternoon. It was also very quiet.

We have to mention the food, which on the whole is excellent. Plenty of choice at Breakfast, with a good selection of cereals, bread, and anything you would normally expect for a cooked breakfast, fruit juices, tea and coffee. Dinner was also very enjoyable, although we found the choice of vegetables not as good as on previous visits. The staff in the Dining Room really do remember us and are always very helpful, Also the bar staff. Most hotel staff have been there for many years, and there is a very pleasant atmosphere throughout the public areas.

Our room, as always, was spotlessly clean on arrival and remained so throughout our stay. Sadly, the towels are getting rather tired and should be replaced. We took extra towels of our own, and were glad of them. The rooms are a very good size, with plenty of wardrobe space and drawers.

Ann, our Thomson Rep, paid daily visits to the hotel and was extremely pleasant and efficient. Her presentation at our Arrival Meeting was excellent.

We very much enjoy our holidays, but the Riu Monica has to be the best hotel we have stayed in, in recent years. We will certainly be back soon. We also love Nerja as a resort, with its lovely walks and good shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor, 734 to 746, have the best views and large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#10 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing