We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in prime location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good hotel in prime location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Check in friendly and swift aided by a glass of cava!. We arrived late evening and a cold buffet was available which was welcome. At welcome meeting the following morning the managers and heads of departments were introduced and said a few words including the hotels concept of excellence. All staff throughout hotel were very friendly and we could not fault the service -The room hairdryer had a broken hose and reported this on way down to breakfast . On returning to room afterwards we found the maintenance man was just finishing installing a brand new one – I don’t think you can get better service than that.

Special mention of Rui who seemed to be on duty 24/7 with daytime activities and organising the evening entertainment. Some of the latter was pretty mediocre, but Rui gave many of us aching jaws laughing during the silly games he organised as a warm up.

Our room on first floor was spacious and clean and had good sized bathroom. Very noisy especially sounds from next door room. I think this probably down to being adjoining room doors on first floor so higher floors may not have this problem.
The food was on the whole extremely good with an excellent choice of dishes and one of the best breakfast spreads I have come across in European hotels. It would be churlish for anyone to say couldn’t find anything to their liking. Christmas night buffet was even better certainly pulled out all the stops and made even more agreeable with copious supplies of wine and beer on the house.
Many staff members have been here many years and also we met many people who have been returning for years as well and often more than once a year so a lot of conviviality and a family type atmosphere.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor to ensure no adjoining room door and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    595
    131
    33
    17
See reviews for
269
1,118
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Exellent hotel, good location ,spotless and the staff were really nice and helpfull ,nothing was too much for them ,food was great, if you,ve allready booked dont worry , enjoy, didnt have to wait long for lifts and the weather was nice, cant think of anything bad really .appart from one of the chips being burnt one night lol and very windy one day ,other than that perfect .On arivall a glass of cava was waiting for us and they take luggage to the rooms for you ,we were in room 241 we got sun up to 12 ish then the other side got sun in the afternoon till 6 30pm ,on tv we had bbc1 itv cnn and on the last day we found a film chanel ,90 mins free wifi each day in the lobby and 6 euros to have internet in your room for a day.if you can, go to the donkey sanctuary, check out poppy, back home now and ready for work

Room Tip: take a small kettle and cups for room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mullettman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Exceptional value -our first time at this hotel and we couldn't fault it - everyone was so welcoming with wonderfully friendly staff who want to make your holiday one to remember. Nothing was too much trouble - lovely immaculate spacious rooms, sea views with amazing sunrises most days. Excellent restaurant with a fantastic variety of food for all tastes, beautifully cooked and presented with very friendly staff who were so efficient and extremely helpful. Lovely location - a ten minute walk to the balcon de europa and quaint little shops. Watching the world go by, in the sun, in January was a real treat. Beautifully maintained grounds - just ideal. Lovely sunbathing areas. A perfect destination. Only drawback - we ordered an early departure breakfast but on entering the dining room it was observed that other departees were secreting rolls, croissants, cheeses and ham into bags and holdalls so other departees, like ourselves, were deprived of a proper breakfast. You know who you are.......... shame on you!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with sea view to catch the amazing sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel in a year and on both occasions Thomsons have given outstanding value for money.The hotel is immaculate,staff are friendly and polite and the hotel is in an excellent location.The food is generally very good,but on occasions could have been hotter and the steaks could certainly have been more tender.One word of warning when walking around Nerja,keep an eye on where you are walking as dog mess does not generally get picked up by the dogs owner.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mississippi1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We only booked this holiday 2 weeks before so did not expect to much, but was pleasantly suprised!
We arrived early lunch time & received a welcome drink, our room was not quite ready, so we told to leave our luggage in the lobby & wait in the lounge or explore the hotel as it was our first visit, we decided to walk down to the sea front as it was a lovely day, on our return we found our luggage had been taken up to our room, which was on the 2nd floor 251.
We had a great view of the sea, facing east, so we got the early morning sun.
Alas we only managed to get 2 days of sun, the rest was damp &cold.

The staff were always pleasant & helpful, great food with plenty of choice, there was 2 sittings at night we had the later one 7.45pm.
Entertainment was ok at night, the flamenco act was very good, & Ricky Lavazza a singer from Wales was excellent. We went out every day so could not say what the daytime entertainment was.
I'm glad we took our warm jackets & jeans, they were certainly needed this time of year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 24saubrasdealportal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location right on the seafront, with access to the beach.
The rooms are of a good size and most rooms on level 1 and above have a sea view or side sea view. try to get a high floor if possible. The room was clean and presentable and the maid service everyday of a very good standard.
The food in the restaurant was very varied always something for everyone to eat catering for all tastes even vegetarian's. Sometimes it wasn't cooked to a good standard like very overcooked beef or nearly raw in the middle pork you just had to look for something else.
The staff are pleasant and helpful even asking if your allocated table was ok or did you wish to change.
Nice touch on arrival a glass of cava very quick well executed check in service.
The entertainment was good on two nights but overall not fantastic.
Met some lovely people the guest's all seemed to be nice and friendly no matter where they came from.
One downside to Nerja is the amount of dog mess all over the pavements it really lets the place down

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our 3rd stay at the Monica and once again very enjoyable. Pleased to see all the high standards have been maintained. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. We did not arrive till about10pm and we're greeted with a glass of Cava and told a late supper was available in the restaurant. Our room was spacious and clean with good sea view. The service in the restaurant is excellent and the choice of food extremely good and the desserts exceptional especially the creeps and fruit flambé with the serve yourself bottle of brandy.
The hotel is well situated on the front and it's possible to walk in either direction. Nerja has retained it's character despite the influx of tourists. The Balcon de Europa is a great place to stroll to and from there follow the traffic free streets with a multitude of shops. Do not miss a visit to the Caves they are breathtaking and the best we've been in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpguerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#8 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing