We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Monica
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bajamar(Nerja)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,962)
Filter reviews
1,962 results
Traveller rating
1,037
708
158
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,037
708
158
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsricky lavazzaassistant managera la carte restaurantspanish restaurantindoor poolevening entertainmentplenty of choicehead waiterplenty of sunbedswelcome meetingbreakfast and dinnerthomson repexcellent hotelhigh floorsea viewbuffet stylewalk in shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,044 - 1,049 of 1,962 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed here in December 2012.
Had such a relaxing and fun holiday. Room very good and quiet with balcony. Day time entertainment very friendly . Made to feel very welcome despite being alone. Food was fine but was not keen on the evening arrangements as there were two sittings and you had to sit at the same table every night. Made me feel like miss no-mates.
Breakfast was very good and I was joined by friends I had made during the holiday. The hotel had a spacious feel which I liked. There was a small gym which was really good and open all day.
The Thomson from Liverpool was very helpful and friendly.
I was so pleased that on my return I booked straight away for December 2013. Unfortunately I was unwell and had to cancel but I look forward to returning as soon as possible . Brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam-tyler-newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a truly relaxing week here with our two teenagers. Staff were friendly and genuinely helpful as well as being amazingly efficient! Check in for about 30 guests at once was done totally painlessly within about 5 mins of arrival. Very impressive. Our two rooms were a good size and had plenty of storage space. Mini bar provided useful fridge space and our room was kept beautifully clean every day. Beds were fine, although pillows weren't soft enough for us! We had a second floor room with a sunny balcony - excellent! However, soundproofing between rooms not so good - next door's tv and bathrooms very easily heard and noises a bit intrusive, especially at night. Free wifi in lobby was too limited to be of any real use, so paid 25 euros for comprehensive access for the week, but still a bit unreliable for today's teenagers!! Food was great - plenty of choice and all kept beautifully fresh and topped/tidied up regularly during each dinner sitting. We always found something for each of us to enjoy at dinner, whether it was salads to start, roast meats or pasta, fresh fruits or even a chocolate fountain one night! Breakfasts also outstanding, which took some organisation for so many guests! Some of the evening entertainment acts in the bar were quite good but not really a highlight, except for the flamenco show, which was very good! We were lucky with the weather, so enjoyed using the wide selection of sun beds in the garden and pool area - we always seemed to find one free in a suitable location! We also used the small indoor pool, but it is a little cramped for more than a few people at a time and not designed for swimming lengths! There were lovely walks on the sea front right from the hotel, and walking into Nerja town centre only took about 10 mins and was on the level, so very easy. Nerja itself is fairly unspoilt and nice for wandering. Lots of interesting little shops and galleries, and cafés and bars. We found the hotel leather shop very helpful and good value. We went independently on the bus to Frigiliana one day, which is a characterful hill town (=steep walks) and visited the impressive Nerja caves by taxi (€9 each way). Despite being on a Thomson package, we didn't do any organised trips as we just enjoyed relaxing and discovering Nerja area itself. Would definitely go back, especially out of season - but sadly we were told the hotel will be closed for refurbishment Nov '14 to March '15. .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from the Riu Monica in Nerja and it is a fabulous hotel, with wonderful efficient staff, fabulous food and lovely rooms. It may need a little love in the decoration quarter but this is already on the books for November and does NOT detract from the warm friendly welcome at this hotel.Has a lovely bar and dining area outside by the pool with wonderful views. Definately one to return to. Soon. !!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
7  Thank Joanne252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just spent a lovely relaxing week at this hotel

From start to finish a truly excellent hotel

Great food,excellent staff ,lovely and clean

Spent a few days at pool area overlooking the promenade

Hotel in great location less than 10 mins walk to Balcon de Europe
Hope to return very soon

Hop

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 986Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from a lovely seven day break at the Monica. We found this a very friendly hotel, and the staff were very helpful. From the welcoming drinks as we waited to be checked in, to meeting the various managers at the Thomson welcome meeting, all the staff gave the impression of wanting to be of service. Hadn’t realised that Riu is part owned Tui before. The hotel is still listed in the Platinum range online, despite some claims it has lost that rating.
The rooms were very spacious with plenty of clothes space, and plenty of hangers. Although we are used to a Tempur type mattress at home, we didn’t find the bedding here as hard as some have suggested. We had requested a high room and were on the fifth floor with lovely views of the sunrise. Our balcony was a real sun trap until about midday when the “other side” of the hotel had the sun until sunset. We asked for an extra pillow and got this immediately, and a broken balcony towel rail was replaced as soon as we reported it. There were no problems changing rooms if required, but this may be more difficult in peak season.
We thought 25 euros a week for bedroom wifi a bit steep, so used the wifi in the reception area but this was a bit hit and miss, probably due to high demand. There was entertainment in the lounge bar most evenings but this was totally forgettable! This doesn’t seem to be a RIU strong point. We thought the charge for the safe reasonable at 15.75 for the week.
We found the food plentiful and varied and the waiter service excellent. We had requested to be on the first sitting but it was full on the first evening, but we were moved from the second evening.
Being the “off” season, most of the guests were quite elderly, and some stay here for a month or more. One group were in their twenty-fifth year.
There is a bus top nearby where Service 1 takes you up to town for 1 Euro, its then a short walk to the bus station. We can recommend a visit to the caves, just over a euro on the bus.
Nerja is a pleasant town with more character than many places on the Costa, much more to see than just the Balcon d’Europa. Trips to Ronda and Granada are available, but wrap up warm! Unfortunately our trip to Ronda was cancelled so we did the Blanket Trip to Malaga. We knew what to expect because we’ve been several times before, but it was free and we saw Malaga, which we wouldn’t have done otherwise. Worth sitting through the presentation for that, as it’s a nice city.
The January weather was quite pleasant, part sunny most days. There was quite a strong wind at times, quite chilly when it came down off the mountains which had snow on them.
Overall, this was a pleasant hotel. It deservedly comes out quite well on Trip Advisor, but it is after all a 4 star holiday hotel, clearly some reviewers expect a Platinum hotel to offer more! We usually try not to make hotel return visits, but we may return here , particularly if we get such a good price again We certainly recommend Nerja.

Room Tip: High floors give good views, either sunrise or sunset. We emailed before going.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carltondave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews