We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, but A/C is not 24/7 and wi-fi is limited”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, but A/C is not 24/7 and wi-fi is limited”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The location is absolutely beautiful and our rooms had a view of the Mediterranean Sea. Absolutely gorgeous! The meals were served buffet style, food was plentiful, and "above average" in quality. It appears the Monica Hotel is a popular destination for Europeans who return year after year, with most of the clientele during my visit in their 50s-80s. Upon check-in, the receptionist mentioned that the hotel was beginning to see more visitors from the USA, and she attributed this increase to Tripadvisor. Upon arrival I wanted to take a quiet afternoon nap (with the balcony door closed) but found the room hot and stuffy. I thought possibly the A/C was broken but was told A/C was not activated until 3:00 pm daily, and I was told I was lucky as I was on the cool side of the hotel. Less of an issue, though still a drawback, was that free wi-fi is not available in the rooms; a person was allocated a one-time sign-in each day in the lobby area. I would consider returning to the Monica Hotel if these policies changed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyD14sw39v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    606
    134
    33
    17
See reviews for
272
1,146
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I visited Nerja with a friend and our stay at Riu Monica was fabulous. We booked single rooms and were given adjoining doubles with side sea views. The rooms are light and airy and everything worked fine. Food is plentiful and good and there are two sittings at dinner so not overcrowded at all. Easy check in, helpful and cheerful staff. Everywhere is spotless. Although its a dated hotel, it is loved and cherished and well maintained. Nice pool area with plentiful sunbeds. I doubt it would ever become overcrowded poolside. Great access to a lovely beach area with padded loungers for €4.50 a day. Poolside snack bar food wasn't fabulous, but you are only a 10 minute stroll to The Balcon for the best selection of ice creams anywhere! A great bar with reasonable prices and some very tasty wines and cocktails. Evening entertainment was dire, apart from the Flamenco Show on Thursday. It is mainly older clientele at the hotel, which makes for peace and quiet! Added bonus was the Festival in town whilst we were there. A great spectacle! Visit to Nerja Caves is highly recommended, as is a trip to Frigialana! Would go back to the Riu Monica in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieWSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was a very convenient hotel close to the shops, the food was very good as we were half board, breakfast everything you could ask for. I found the beds very hard and did not sleep well, when I asked for extra pillows they were the instantly. We really enjoyed our stay here, the evening entertainment was not good but the average age I would say was way over 60 so not a hotel for the younger age group would go back again though we liked nerga

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Brief review.
My husband and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Monica
Food (Breakfast was excellent everything you can ask for, we liked not having to wait for a table)
Evening meal excellent in as much as we had our own table, and again lots to choose from.
Staff totally amazing and helpful they make you feel at home and welcome
Rooms large in need of being updated for the price (Towels are like sandpaper take your own)
Entertainment better than we have had in many other hotels.
Quite a lot of older people (but hey they have to go somewhere on holiday and I am not far behind in age myself)
Television a total let down (yes I know we don't go away to watch TV, but on a cloudy day more channels would have been greatly appreciated ) Although there was quite a few romantic Danielle Steele films on.
I was informed its closing next year for a make over, look forward to seeing it when completed
Overall extremely happy with the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with anything let them know don't moan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millie202013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Seven night stay, other guests we spoke to suggested that other Riu hotels are even better than this one, if so, they must be absolutely superb. This is a lovely hotel in a great location and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Some minor criticisms only, but that would almost be nitpicking for the sake of it!! Overall, thoroughly loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel last year and were very impressed with its standard , helpful staff, lovely room, excellent choice of food and access to the beach only a few feet away. Absolute bliss. Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: You need to book early to get a sea room which would be bliss. We booked late and got a room over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to this hotel and can fully confirm the overwhelming consensus that this is a well run top class hotel and deserving of its thomson platinum status.Definately recommend and will be returning soon.Thanks to all the staff for giving us a very memorable holiday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#11 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing