We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

loverly hotel excellent food , staff very friendly and service was very good. 2nd floor seaview was above expectations . very clean and entertainment was good. The position of the hotel is very good hardly any noise. The resort of Nerja is very nice but the is a problem with dog mess on the pavements , there seems to be a fashion for dogs amongst the spanish and brits that live there apart from that a nice town.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    595
    131
    33
    17
See reviews for
269
1,117
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Foyer was very smart and reception was hassle free with complimentary glass of cava. I think this was to relax me before I saw my balcony view.

Room was bit disappointing, old convex CRT tv and the "sea view" from my balcony was mainly an ugly domed roof (stayed on 1st floor) so make sure you request rooms higher up. The towels are not suitable for drying your dog.

Two servings for dinner starting at 18:30 or 20:15 and you are asked by reception on arrival which serving you would prefer, however you can change this around if you want. You keep the same table for dinner but can sit anywhere for breakfast. The restaurant is very bright and more spacious than other hotels I have stayed at. Food was good in general but think could have got repetitive after more than a week. Deserts were especially good. Chef's carvery was usually the best thing to go for and the battered fish the worst.

Staff seemed hard working and polite throughout the hotel especially my smiling happy maid.

Pool area and bar were good. The way that most people got to the pool area was get the lift to level -1 and then walk down many steps to the pool area. I saw several with mobility problems struggling down these steps. However there is a poorly signed lift you can get from floor -1 to -3. It takes you down next to the toilets in the pool area. Although many loungers were reserved with towels, always found free ones. Some of the loungers were a bit saggy and would have preferred ones with mattresses. Gate at back of pool bar gets you onto the prom next to the beach. If you want to sunbathe on the beach then the price is 4.50 euros for a lounger with comfy mattress. Did this a couple of times for a change.

Bar prices were on the high side, hence many customers crossed the road to have drinks at the Ship or Jamaica bars and also we go on holiday to sit outside at night rather than sit indoors.

Didnt see the nightly entertainment so cant comment on that.

Overall a pleasnt stay but do request a higher level room so you get a real sea view.

Room Tip: Request higher up rooms unless views of ugly domed roofs are your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrtravelNWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Hotel Riu Monica, Nerja. Nerja is a lovely little town, there are lots of friendly bars and restaurants to visit, all very reasonably priced.
The hotel is lovely. We stayed on the 5th floor and had a room with a sea view. The rooms are large and there is plenty of storage space. (There are actually a good supply of hangers which come off the rail)! so you can hang up your clothes easily. There is a safe in the wardrobe which costs 15 euros a week . The rooms are cleaned daily and clean towels are also provided each day. ALL of the staff at the hotel are extremely helpful, polite and courteous Nothing is too much trouble to them.

The hotel restaurant has two sittings and you are allocated your evening meal table for the whole of your stay. If you're not happy with the allocation, ask to change it and it will be done. You can sit anywhere in the restaurant at breakfast time. The food is good, a little repetitive at times but when you consider how many guests are staying at the hotel, I think most tastes are catered for.

There are 3 pools at the hotel. One for children, a big salt water one for adults and an indoor pool. We were informed that the indoor pool is not open during the summer months. There are lots of sunbeds, but as usual, which we found hilarious, people are out putting their towels on them at the crack of dawn, but truly there is no need for this strange behaviour as there are lots of spare sunbeds available if you can't find one. The gardens are pretty and are shaded so it was nice and cool sitting there. You pick up your towels for the pool from reception and these towels are of good quality. Unfortunately the bathroom towels are a bit small and well worn (but this is the only criticism we have over the whole holiday)

There is a pool snack bar, but most of the guests went over the road to the variety of bars which provided good food at a fair price. Two we tried were The Ship Inn, run by a lovely Dutch couple. The other was Jamaica, this one seems very popular and sells a variety of toasties etc.
The staff at both these establishments are friendly and helpful. There are some fine tapas bars in the town, we found the ones we visited were all good.

We went on a Thomson excursion to Rhonda a beautiful town in the mountains. We had an excellent guide and although a long day, it was a very enjoyable one. Also visited the town of Friglliana, you catch the green and cream bus at the top of the town and this costs just 1 Euro, worth a visit on market day.

Very nice holiday in a lovely area and an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the better views anything from 4th up to 6th Most rooms have a sea view. Some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from 11 night stay and felt I needed to thank the staff for great stay especially Jose Antonio in reception. The hotel is excellently situated just 5 min walk from Nerja centre with beach 10 second walk beyond great pool area. The food throughout stay on half board basis was excellent with great choice and the best fruit juice I've had in hotel having travelled a lot. My only critisism is that Rui need to invest in upgrading rooms which are tired with dreadful pillows & I don't see why I should pay extra for use of room safe, otherwise great trip & best hotel I could see in Nerja.

Room Tip: Stayed in 524 with good sea view although there are better sea view rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just returned for the MONICA. Once again everything was excellent. Have been three times to this hotel and very little has changed. The staff, from the cleaners to management were as usual very helpful and obliging. The meals were good and had a lots of variety to suite everyone. Could do with better bath towels and beach towels, but that was a minor thing also, as its a 4 star hotel it should really have tea/coffee making facilities like the other 4 star hotels we have been to .Lets hope that they take this into consideration when they refurbish the hotel in October 2015.BUT DONT REFURBISH THE STAFF!. Many thanks for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Go if possible for a high floor. The view is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gumtree14272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenhousemuir
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Second holiday in Nerja, previously stayed in the Balcon de Europa hotel. enjoyed our stay, staff were all very helpful and the hotel is kept clean although it really is needing updated. Food was o.k. and the drinks were nicely presented but quite a bit expensive compared with bars outwith the hotel. Lots of places nearby to have a nice lunch and is convenient to have a nice walk into town in the evening.

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the afternoon on your balcony ask for a room on a high floor on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Been to this hotel 4 times' latest visit just 3 days having spent a little time in Seville first. Last visit was 6 years ago , nothing changes staff the same and service as good as ever , agree with other comments that it needs a sprucing up but please keep the charm and the charming staff. It's probably the best run hotel I've stayed in and that takes in Vegas, and so on .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeffmlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#8 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Property: Hotel Riu Monica
Address: Playa de la Torrecilla, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * 800 m from the center of Nerja * 800 m from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing