We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worry not!”
Review of Hotel Riu Monica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Monica
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having read a few reviews recently, I was a little concerned about the hotel, but it was unnecessary. The hotel is very good, exactly as I expect from a 4*. Some moans have been the lack of English TV - well, if this bothers you, I can recommend Cornwall! Thin pool teowels - OMG - they change them every day for you. "Tired" rooms, I'm not sure what people want, exactly. The furniture isn't modern, but there are plenty drawers and hangers in the large wardrobe, and the room is clean and a good size.
I liked the location, about 10 mins walk from the main square but with a row of bars opposite (I recommend the Ship) where you can have a drink or 3 away from the hotel entertainment.
There are small things, like the extractor fan from the kitchen positioned infront of a bush so that the smells hit the bush and travel upwards to the balconeys of the rooms where we were. Also, the wifi being 1 hour per day only was incredibly frustrating in these days.However, overall it was a good hotel which I was very happy to visit, and will be again after refurbishment in Nov 2015.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best, we were 5th floor which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Dee_the_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic relaxing holiday with my family at the rui monica. Having booked it online I was very happy to arrive at the hotel to be welcomed by the friendly hotel reception and offered a welcoming glass of bubbly. Our rooms were well located on the first floor with a key to the connecting room allowing us as a family to be alltogether. We had a slight sea view as described in the on line info which over looked the pool. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. My daughters and I all requested an extra pillow which was given to us without hesitation. On our first evening we were allocated a table in the restaurant and following our meal the head waiter asked If we were happy with this, we requested a table nearer the window which was arranged for us for the rest of our stay. No problems. It was lovely that at our welcome meeting on our first morning all heads of the hotel staff including the manager came along and introduced themselfs letting us know who they were and making us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is situated right on the beach front allowing you easy access to the beach through a coded gate. Whilst enjoying time around the pool or garden the waiters are more than happy to bring you refreshments which you can put on a tab so do not need to worry about leaving money unattended whilst in pool etc. Although the hotel rules are you can not reserve sun beds the usual people do but there was always beds available around the grounds not necessarily by the pool but plenty of shaded areas to keep out of the direct sun which suited us just fine. Lovely food and plenty of it even as we had choosen to dine at the later sitting fresh food was brought out so there was no less choice. Overall avery relaxing holiday with plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Recomend a short walk to the balcony of europe to experience spectacular views and lively evening entertainment. Turn right out of hotel and follow pavement up for about 15mins then turn right to be overwhelmed! Excellant holiday would recomend to anyone. The Gregory family

Room Tip: Rooms on level 1 (small flight of stairs down or short ride in lift) have easy acces to pool side li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Booked direct via their website which was easy to use and gave a discount. As it was August had to book half board.

Most of the hotel seems to be Thompson/TUI (English, Dutch and German) and about half are Spaniards.

Pluses
Friendly family atmosphere
Staff, other than in the pool bar, really friendly and helpful. Managers had a high profile.
Really clean
Good location 10 minute walk into central Nerja
Choice of beach or pool

Negatives
Food was terrible - poor and repetitive buffet selection meant we ended up eating out most nights
Pool bar staff unhelpful and slightly surly.
As noted in other reviews wifi is paid for (other than half an hour in the lobby each day) and not very good, towels are thin, rooms need refurbishing
Evening entertainment awful. During the day the entertainment team annoying and should work out most guests want to be left alone
Not enough sunbeds - although it was August

All in all its a basic package holiday hotel and ok if this is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a fantastic week at the Riu Monica - the hotel is heading towards a refurbishment but do not think any standards have dropped everywhere is extremely clean and tidy ! The staff really excel which makes the difference - never saw a glum face everyone said hello and actually seemed to really enjoy working there.
Really relaxing hotel worthy of praise

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were there last two weeks in July 2014. From the minute we arrived till we left all staff were very friendly and helpful from the housekeeping staff to the manager.
Yes it is an older hotel and it is in need of it's planned refurbishment but it was spotlessly clean throughout. The pool was lovely and easy access to the local beach just off this. Plenty of sun beds, no need to get up early to reserve a bed or parasol. Entertainment around the pool if you wanted it. Dumi tried his best to get everyone involved! Kids club was great with lots of pool activity and special thanks to Lucy for her enthusiasm and care of the children.
The food! Breakfast was excellent and available earlier if required to allow for trips etc. the main meal was good but a bit repetitive. However there was always something to suit so don't let this put you off. Catering staff again helpful and friendly and you are asked regularly of everything going ok. You are assigned a dining time but this can be changed so flexibility isn't an issue. There is entertainment available in the hotel which was good but repetitive if there for two weeks. However the location of the hotel is excellent in that you are only a 10 minute walk from the Balcon which has a multitude of bars, restaurants and shops. We had a fabulous holiday and would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynda_currie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were looking for a holiday where we could relax in the sun, swim and enjoy good food. We were able to do all of these at Riu Monica Hotel.

The hotel is located a short walk from the main town of Nerja. It has a good size swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers and is separated from the beach by a promenade. There is an attractive pool-side bar which also serves lunches.

The bedrooms are comfortable and very clean. However, the room safes are too small to accommodate a normal sized laptop and there is no central safe for guest use.

The restaurant is large and catered very efficiently for the many guests. The meals are buffet-style and of excellent quality and variety.

Throughout our stay we found the hotel staff to be professional, friendly and very helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would be very happy to go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

returning to the Monica after a few years it was super to find it hadn't changed at all. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the room spotless and welcoming, the food and facilities were first class.
The only thing that is missing from the facilities is a nice indoor coffee shop, one where we could do justice to those gorgeous small cakes available at dinner time !!!!
And perhaps a small shop for those essentials we sometimes forget.
Oh and a t.v. room having Sky for those who find the heat a bit too much to bear and when the entertainment does not suit their tastes.
the only negative thing I would say is that we only had 90 minutes of free Wifi and then only available in certain areas.
Would we go back again certainly.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the hotel in the lower basement floor and had sun in morning but cool shade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Monica

Address: Playa de la Torrecilla | Nerja - Málaga, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#8 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £82 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Refurbished in winter 2015/16 * Located in Nerja * 7-story building * 3,000 m2 of lush gardens * Separated from "Playa de la Torrecilla" beach only by the beach front promenade * * No children's pool and no playground * No pets allowed * All bathrooms are equipped with shower (no tub) and special make-up mirror * Minibar (extra charge, only on request) ç * 800 m from the center of Nerja and from various shops * 80 km from the Malaga airport * 50 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners * Dresscode: Formal dress required for dinner. Long trousers for gentlemen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Riu Monica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing