We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quiet & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small, quiet & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed for one week at the end of June, rooms were basic but clean and comfortable. Facilities were good but the reception staff neglected to inform us of any of the facilities (ie - Gym, hot tub, happy hour, bus routes, wi-fi) so we had to find out from other guests. Breakfast was good though coffee / tea machine was slow and even though the hotel wasn't full there were queue's for this every morning - perhaps they could invest in another??
Evening meal was average and unimaginative, though perfectly edible. Entertainment ranged from awful to laughable!! but at least generated conversation with other guests.
Sun bathing area: - crowded and not enough umbrellas or beds but a lovely area non the less.
Staff were friendly and service was reasonable. Bar prices were fair for an Hotel.
Location, was fine so long as you can walk. You're at the top of a hill with a good 20mins walk to beach or town, no good for elderly parents! Walking back from beach is quite a steep hike (hill is known locally as cardiac hill).
Buses OK, but random times, taxis 6 Euros one way.
All in all a nice pleasant hotel and we enjoyed our week there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagsyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nerjaclub2008, Director General at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madame

Firstable just say Thank you very much for choosen our hotel for your break in Nerja, I Hope either the hotel or Nerja Area, make you to come back...for those still doesnt know us,( Nerja is probably, the last unspoil resort of all Costa Del Sol, Still with a real Spanish taste, a small fisher white town with two national park to discover, apart of the beaches an the Sun,people used to say that " The Sun lives in Nerja" ... and sometimes I thinks is true...
Secondly, also say thank you for your nice coments about us, we take note of the critics and sugestions: more sunbeds & Umbrellas are on the way ( they should have been already in here, Sorry), another tea/coffee machine, I`ll try to order another one for this high season, I know in the peak hour of the breakfast you got to wait a bit. The musicians, As you know, we have 7 days entertainer, with one Flamenco show, most of them are well know in the area, they work in the rest of the hotel in town, they are regulars in here, maybe 10 years... and some are news in here that we give chances to act in our hotel, we can not affor a big bugget to them, but at lest, as you say so well, its make the special ambience and so friendely atmosphere thats make Hotel Nerja Club the ideal place to meet people for other countries, locals or Brithish, who becames friends, so good friends, that after this, they keep coming back together, I could tell you hundres of nice experiences. We are not a luxure, well situated hotel, but are very proud of the thousands of holydaymakers who decided to spend their holidays with us and when they leaves us, always say... we`ll come back,, thats the main reason we got to work as hard as we do... But we are not perfect.... I am really anoyd about my Reception Staff, I really apologaise you if you didn`t find as helpfull as they should had, normaly is the departament whos got the maximun qualification on the forms, there is no excuse for, but maybe you came on a bad moment for them, anyway I`ll have a meeting to discuss this with them, we undestand that to offer all information of the hotel facilities is the main thing they got to do. We really sorry.
Thank you very much egain for your coments, make sure that they are not going to be forgoten.

Looking forward seeing you soon

Best wishes

Antonio Roman
Manager
Hotel Nerja Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    429
    185
    76
    46
See reviews for
125
669
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We have stayed many times in Nerja, but this was the first time at the Hotel Nerja Club and we wish we had found it years ago.The hotel is very clean and has been modernised,the staff are fantastic from the hotel manager down everyone was so friendly and obliging nohing was to much trouble.We stayed for a week half board,and found the choice of food at dinner and breakfast outstanding. We will be staying at this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank archer600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel was good value for the money. Rooms have been refurbed and are clean and simple with good basic amenities. The price of drinks and snacks at the hotel is very reasonable, and the food is good. This is not 4 star luxury, but clean, laid back and friendly. The walk into Nerja itself takes 15 - 20 minutes and is a pleasant walk - it didn't bother us but you need to be aware that you are not in the heart of things at this hotel. We really like Nerja -it has plenty of good shops, bars and restaurants, but isn't over commercialised.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GravesendPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Like many of the guests we return year after year to this hotel and to Nerja.
The service is friendly and efficient with all staff at pains to be helpful.
Rooms range from clean, spacious but basic to the newly refurbished, well designed modern rooms.
Also, for 2011 the pool and the terrace have had a complete and impressive makeover and now offer views to the coast and sea, also there is now a small gym and spa.
The location of the hotel is fine for us with popular beaches and town centre a 20 minute walk away.
We always have a relaxing and enjoyable and value for money holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Graham01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

On arrival, we were greeted with courtesy and respect. This was maintained by all the hotel staff throughout the week.The room was modern and adequately furnished,the bathroom was of a very high standard, both being cleaned thoroughley every day.The hotel has a good standard of entertainment every night, our favourite being the Flamenco.
There is a Gym,Spa and Sauna ,but we preffered to laze by the outdoor pool with waiter service.Nerja is a beautiful old Spanish town with good shopping and eating facilities but still we ate in the hotel every night as there was always a good choice.The beach is 15 mins walk from the hotel , but you need a taxi back as it is a climb.The best part of the hols was the care and consideration of all the staff. The worst was the ban on smoking now in force in all spanish bars... Still a great holiday











gre

Room Tip: book early, 2nd to 4th floor rooms has best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

I am writing this in the hotel lounge on the last day of my stay.
The Hotel is small and spotlessly clean. Quite quiet at this time of year which we like..
The hotel has recently had a partial makeover.. Some of the rooms have been nicely renovated and they have added a very very nice spa area with jacuzzi and keep fit equipment.
The public areas are very comfortable and I am making use of the FREE WiFi as I make this report. Food is quite basic but you cant complain when you think about what it has cost..
There is entertainment every night, although several of their acts are past there 'use by' date.. One artiste in particular advertises himself with a photograph that must have been taken 30 years earlier !!
The Pool area is excellent with lots of sun beds and shady spots to sit...
I have been staying in one of the refurbished rooms and it has been very nicely done.. especially the bathroom. The only bad part from my point of view is the bed..It does not seem to have been included in the upgrade and is too short for anyone over 6ft .
I am on B & B basis and I am a little disappointed with the breakfast. It is pretty much exactly the same every day and the selection is poor.. You would think that in a country like spain they could run to a drop of fresh Orange juice with breakfast, but instead they have a vending machine that dispenses a strange tasting chemical cocktail that bears little resemblance to pure juice .. Tea and coffee is also from a vending machine, which is not good.
Despite those few negative remarks I still come back year after year... the place grows on you and its so relaxed and easy going. This is my third stay and I am sure I will be popping in again next year.

One last rant.... and I hope the management read this.....
If you happen to be hungry between 3pm and 7.30pm you had better walk to town.
You cant get anything more than a bag of crisps during these hours... a strange way to carry on ..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris-Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have just returned from our 9th time at the Nerja Club. The changes to the hotel are wonderful, it has had a refurb to the bar, rooms and pool area. They have also added a gym and a spa. thankfully they didn't change the staff as they are ALL kind, polite and very helpful. We are returning in Septemeber and would recommend giving the hotel a visit and enjoy the same care that we get when we stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#10 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing