We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“excellent value hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Just had a very pleasant holiday at the Nerja Club. The room was very clean and looked recently renovated. Excellent shower lots of hot water , felt like being jet washed. The balcony on our room was tiny and only had room for two small chairs but as our room room was on the front of the hotel we didn't intend sitting out there much any way. Some rooms do have quite large balconies and if you want that i would suggest asking at time of booking for availability. Our room was number 210 and was straight over the top of the entrance which i had concerns about but in the week that we were there (1st-8th Jan) there was never any noise. One word of warning is that if you are in the rooms on the second floor that are over the bar area you could be in for a less than quiet night as there is entertainment on most nights which did get quite loud. Our room also had air conditioning at no extra cost.

The pool and sun terrace area was also nicely done. Perfect south facing sun trap. Again this looked recently refurbished with new tiling etc. There are plenty of sun beds and tables&chairs. There is also a covered area if you want to get out of the sun for a while.

The food was very good for a half board hotel. Breakfast had cereals, breads, cold meat and cheese, full cooked section , fruits and yogurts. Breakfasts were the same every day.

The evening buffet was very good , there were three different meats every night along with various potato dishes and veg. There is also a very good salad bar and normally 2/3 deserts and ice-cream to choose from. The only thing that i was a bit mixed at with the meals was that at breakfast all drinks were included e.g. tea/coffee/juice/water, but with the evening meal all drinks including water had to be paid for. I didn't expect to get a beer or glass of wine with the meal but i thought that some mineral water would be included.

A note of caution to travellers who are less than able bodied. the hotel is at the top of a very long hill. It takes about 15-20 mins to walk into the centre of town and about 25-30 to get back up the hill. You can get a taxi but this will cost you 6-7 euros each way which does start to get expensive. The bus costs 1 euro each way but they are only once an hour and the last bus is at 8pm which isn't much good if you are having a night in town.

We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly when we needed their help which wasn't often as things ran very smoothly for us. Overall a very good hotel for what we paid(£214 each flights/transfers/half board)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stef2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    428
    185
    76
    46
See reviews for
125
669
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have been to the Nerja Club many times and will return again. The food is quite varied and very good value. The staff are very efficient and the Hotel is spotless. The outside area is lovely and very relaxing. The entertainment is not to everyones taste but at least there is something going on every night if you want to stay in the hotel after dinner or go for a walk into town which takes about twenty minutes (we prefer to get a taxi back for 6 or 7 euros). Overall, you get what you pay for in this hotel and we like it very much.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool are in sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stella N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I feel a bit mean giving this hotel a bad review as the hotel room was very nice and recently refurbished (although basin tap and plug were already broken), staff were friendly and the general air of the hotel and grounds was relaxed and perfectly okay. The rooms from the second floor upwards appeared to be the renovated ones. The public areas are quite dated although very clean. There is a small indoor pool and gym area but all week we never way them being used. Outside pool was not heated. Usual evening entertainment.

However, the big letdown was the food. There was very little choice and a lot of the food looked like frozen and warmed up. The salad bar was the most basic I have ever come across in Spain, literally just five or six choices. There were a couple of main course choices plus chips of some kind and peas or broccoli. One choice of cake and ice cream for pudding - yum!. Breakfast had tinned fruit or a fruit bowl with oranges and apples. I did try these but the oranges were rotten and the apples were spongy. There were a few cereals, yoghurt on three days (all banana!), bread/cakes (uninspiring) and a selection of tastless cooked english breakfast items. We actually ate out after the first couple of nights, including eating out on Christmas Day, as we were so disappointed with the food. Other people seemed to be demolishing it however and so there is no accounting for taste!

This is not an expensive hotel and I guess you get what you pay for. Used as a bed and breakfast base it was still a reasonable holiday and we did enjoy our week in Nerja. There are plenty of restaurants if you do wish to eat out.

We know the area and so were prepared for the 20 minute walk into town, it is also less than an hour to walk to Nerja Caves which are well worth a visit. There is also a well stocked supermarket opposite the hotel.

Not a hotel for me, though there did appear to be a lot of regular visitors.

Room Tip: Maybe in a different hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hotfooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We booked at short notice not sure what to expect, no need to worry had a fab time, spotless clean everything for the perfect break after the hustle of xmas. Antonio and staff are very friendly nothing too much trouble, would definately recommend.

Room Tip: Pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I visit Nerja several times a year for relaxing breaks and San Isidro, San Juan and the Feria - I generally book the cheapest place on a half board basis which is usually this one -
Think I've stayed here 5 times now (solo, in a couple and with friends) and can't believe some of the comments - talk about bending the truth!
If you're after a luxurious, plush hotel with 'peel me a grape' waiters,you won't find it here!
But if you're after a base to explore the Costa Del Sol or a no frills holiday at a bargain price, you won't be dissapointed as it has all the facilities you need for a great stay.
If you are after a more pretentious,discerning holiday,go to the Riu Monica but expect to pay 3 times as much.
In my opinion, it's a casual, down to earth hotel with no airs or graces - rooms are fine albeit a bit bright green - yes, they are smallish but enough room unless you're taking far too many clothes and shoes..
Beds/pillows I thought were not that comfy at first,but must have been, as I will sleep forever here and have to set my alarm incase i miss breakfast at 9.30 no matter how early I go to bed..
Food is fine - a bit random sometimes but ample variety and selection - there is always something to fill up on and the buffet is different each night..didn't feel the need to eat out, even when I've stayed for 2 weeks - I really did think it was all quite nice!
Great little indoor pool and jacuzzi (yes, you have to buy a swimming cap at 2.50 so take your own or buy one and take it back next time) A medium sized outdoor pool and big sundeck area and from what I saw, ok entertainment - flamenco dancers, dodgy singers on organs etc
If this isn't your thing, tutti frutti square is great for a few drinks late on - get a map and get out and about!
I would say the age group varies here - when I've been, it's been a mix of young and old, couples, singles and families - all brits mainly.
Wouldn't say it was particularly noisy - yes, people are watching the entertainment and drinking & chatting in the bar till midnightish - it's called being on holiday -
I wouldn't say the barstaff are rude, surly & busy perhaps but that's the Spanish!
Oh and I didn't hear a barking dog?!- lots of birds around though and some nesting in your guttering!
If you assume that the balcon is the centre, it will take around 20 mins to walk to - a slight incline downhill, a bit more aerobic coming back - it is certainly not 5 miles away nor is it steep...and it's a lovely walk through the winding traditional streets that you won't even notice it- or pay 6 euros in a taxi
Getting down the beach is easy, takes about 10 mins if that - it is steep coming back up though so take it nice and slow..I'm talking about the Burriana beach which is the nearest but there are more beaches along the Nerja coast.
The Sol supermarket across the road is ok - I find the Iranzo supermarket down the road to the left a bit better..and the Mercadona a great excursion in itself!
There is a market on a Tuesday up the hill opposite the hotel and it's definitely worth a visit.
Most hotels here do not offer tea/coffee making facilities - that is the norm - so take your own travel kettle and sachets.
Towels are provided but no hairdryer..
Some fab places to visit are the caves, Frigiliana, Malaga, Granada, Ronda and exploring the whole of Nerja itself - a great way is by Jeep with Michael from Life Adventure who can organise a trip out for you
Nerja is an unspoilt little gem and so is the hotel - and I'll be back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here over Xmas/New Year and had a great time. We had a lovely room 405 on top floor which had brilliant views over the town and out to the coast. It was a good walk slightly uphill from the town but we liked this and being high gave the views which were a real bonus. Spa was free although you had to purchase a hat 2.5 euro and you needed to use your own towel. Problem with TV controls sorted quickly and heating aspect of air con worked well once we had controls explained. Staff interested and courteous. We didn't go to entertainment but heard positive comments. Supermarket over the road.
Food basic but well cooked and tasty. It was a shame that the desserts were very poor ... cold rice, custard with a biscuit on top and occasionally a gateaux type cake. Still it stopped me eating too much! .
Nerja an appealing resort ... lots of little lanes and interesting shops. Beaches a bit grainy though. Buses available to Granada but remember to exchange your return ticket for a timed one at the bus station on your return.
Would go to the resort angain and would recommend this hotel ... they are keeping it up to date (new decking and refurbished rooms).

Room Tip: Rooms over looking pool are quieter. 405 was high with great views also quiet. It faced south and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We requested a particular room view and got it in spades! Everywhere was spotless and room towels were changed on request (by leaving them in the bath). We stayed between Dec. 11th to 19th 20011 and there was entertainment (including dancing) three nights per week, which was welcome, as the town centre was very quiet in the evening. There are plenty of places to visit in the area and a car (parking available) is a good option and is very cheap from the airport in the off season. The lounge, bar and pool areas are all spacious and well equiped. The food was sound, rather than spectacular but we ate plenty of it! Going back next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarlingtonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#11 of 38 in Nerja
564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 38 in Nerja
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
1,644 reviews
1.2 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing