We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel-A bit too out of theway.”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a good Hotel. Rooms are not luxurious, but are of a reasonable enough standard. My biggest critisism would be the extremely noisy air conditioning unit. It would be impossible to leave this running whilst at the same time trying to sleep. It's a cheap system with no means of adjusting the output level. The best we could achieve was to close the balcony windows and curtains, switch on the unit for about an hour before retiring and then switch it off and open the balcony window for the rest of the night! That way at least you had a chance of getting the room a bit cooler in order to make it less stifling. Apart from that, everything was O.K. Beds weren't the most comfortable but were acceptable. Bathroom was good, although the over-bath shower did take a bit of getting used to as it was very powerful.The room was kept very clean by the domestics who, along with most of the rest of the Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast and Dinner were both of the buffet variety. I have read some complaints by other reviewers about the meals and I must say I think some are a little unfair. It's true that chips were on the buffet every evening, but they were not the only option as there was always a good selection of vegetables available as well as sauted or boiled potatoes or rice. The Dinner buffet was excellent and there was always a selection of fish, meat,poultry or rabbit, and a vegetarian dish to choose from as well as a really good salad bar plus soup. Really, I don't see how anyone could go wrong. Personally, I am not one for puddings, but I do accept that if you are then this is a real weakness of the restaurant as the choices weren't good. If you must have a traditional cooked Full English Breakkfast then you might prefer to go to Brighton or Blackpool instead, because this Hotel would not get any awards in this department. But, Hey-this is Spain after all so take whats on offer and enjoy! There was a choice of cereals, yogurt, and fresh fruit and plenty of bread and cooked meats.The bacon I thought was really nice; it was thin, lightly smoked and crispy. Trouble was it was only available every other day. The other days a not very nice sausage was provided instead. Pre-cooked fried eggs or scrambled eggs (which were, I think made from powdered egg to which water and/or milk had been mixed-eeuch!!).There was also baked beans or mushrooms and nice fried beef tomatoes on offer. The fried eggs and bacon would have been better had they not been drenched in oil. Queue up at the drinks machine and to make your own toast. They really should get another toaster and vending machine. Good bar with Happy Hour every night 6.00 pm to 7.00 pm. The entertainment was fine and the outside pool area was really nice and as far as I was concerned plenty of sunbeds and other seats available. Then again, it was September so it may be a different story during July and August. Also we were out most days as sitting around the pool is not a major consideration to us for a Holiday Location. Speaking of which, the Hotel is not well situated for Nerja Centre or the nearest beach and no public transport is provided outside the Hotel to get you to these or anywhere else. So, the only alternatives are either to walk or pay 7 euros each way for a taxi. It's about a 20 minute walk to the bus stops in Nerja and a further 5 minutes to the Balcon de Europa, which is really unmissable. Walking to Nerja is O.K in the morning if you are reasonably fit, but walking back in the heat of the afternoon along a mostly unshaded road is a bit of a killer. It's the same if you want to walk to the nearest beach, Playa Burriana-this time it's15-20 minutes downhill going and a real uphill drag on the return. And anyway the beach isn't that brilliant as its very gritty. Plenty of shaded sunbeds for hire, though and not too dear at 4 euros for the day. If you do manage to get there Visit Ayos restaurant on the beach where they do a fantastic paella. it's a bit of a pain.really if you want to get the bus anywhere as you have to get yourself down to Nerja Centre first. If you don't get a bus to anywhere else, though, make sure you at least get one to Frigiliana which is a beautiful old village. Worth going on Thursday too as thats Market Day. Great value bus ride as it's only 1 euro each way. Also try to get to the Caves of Nerja; worth every cent of the 8.5 euros as they really have to be seen to be believed-they're absolutely fantastic. Again you have the trek to the bus stop, OR you could do what we did and walk there. It's about an hour's walk from the Hotel, but it's quite a pleasant walk and the road isn't as busy as waking to Nerja. We only went on 2 excursions. We went on the free 'blanket trip' which is definitely worth doing; don't worry, there IS a sales pitch which lasts about an hour, but there is absolutely no commitment or high pressure selling whatever. And Lydia takes you on a very enjoyable guided tour of Malaga. Turned out to be a really good trip. The other excursion was to Mijas, Marbella and Porto Banos. We would have preferred just to have visited Mijas, which was a beautiful town. It would be enough to view the other 2 destinations on a laptop as celebrity playgrounds don't really interest us. To summarise, the Nerja Club is a very good Hotel, particularly if you are not too bothered about getting away from it and are very happy to spend a lot of time around the pool. However, if you want to get around it does present a few problems and I would suggest it would be more attractive if a shuttle bus could be laid on for guests. It must be doing something right, though as there were people staying there who had stayed there on at least one previous occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank floggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear customer,

We are pleased to read this full review. We will take note of all your comments, for us to communicate with our customers is very important. We appreciate that you are satisfied with our buffet, as well comets offer a variety of food for everyone. Our Hotel, although it is somewhat away from the beach is a perfect place to enjoy nature and culture of Nerja. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our second visit took place in the early summer.Booked independently and were very well looked after.We were given rooms overlooking the pool and towards the sea.Superb room kept spotless as was the whole hotel.The feeling from the moment of arrival was of being looked after and a desire for you to enjoy your stay.We did.Enjoyed the location not far from anywhere with good local bus or cheap taxi.Or if you want a decent walk to town or to the beach all within 20 mins or so. All the staff are friendly and want to help.Food is to a decent standard with good choice all day.Prices at the bar are reasonable.Service excellent.Evening entertainment is varried something for all.Or visit the town which remains authentic.Pleasant walks all around and if not sure ask reception.Management are attentive but not too busy and in your face.This is a very good 3 star and in our opinion value for money. We hope to visit again soon many thanks to Antonio and Javier.ps Hows the singing waiter?

Room Tip: Try for a room at 2/3 floor level overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rissla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for recommending Hotel Nerja Club to Tripadvisor users. We are glad to hear that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The satisfaction of our customers is the most important thing and we pride ourselves on this occasion :) See you on your next visit. Browse through our Facebook page.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Having stayed at this hotel before, we spent last Xmas & New Year there. Although as other reviews state, it is not that central, but if you want a quiet, relaxing & small friendly "family" atmosphere, it's ideal.
The staff are very friendly & attentive. No problem with getting sunbeds or a space around the small pool even in the summer. The variety of food in the restaurant could be better, but although I'm a fussy eater I didn't go hungry at all. The Xmas dinner gala was really good & the entertainment (English comedian & singer) was excellent & catered for all ages. This hotel, although small, makes it feel more cosy, as after a few days everyone knows & speaks to everyone else. Not so, in the bigger hotels. I was offered an alternative starter without needing to ask at the New Year dinner & nothing seems to be too much trouble.
The room, I agree with others, are quite small, but adequate for sleeping in as you don't go on holiday to sit in your room, do you?
We are going back this Xmas again & considering the prices escalate at this time, we wouldn't spend Xmas& New Year here if it wasn't up to scratch!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Hi Sandra,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Nerja Club. We take note of all your suggestions to further improve the service to our guests. As well we like comets have a friendly and familiar to our customers to enjoy the true taste of Andalucóa. We're glad you are satisfied with our entertainment program :) hope to see you with us and we invite you to follow us on our Facebook page to see all our promotions.

A greeting from Nerja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

First visit to mainland spain and costa del sol , Nerja is very nice if you want a quiet relaxing holiday then this is the place , the hotel although on the outskirts didnt bother us as you can get a taxi if you dont want the walk back from burriana beach or nerja itself which cost us about 6/7 euros , i heard good things about burriana beach but was slightly dissapointed . The hotel itself , food , could not complain although not a big selection , rooms were cleaned everday ,(a big thank you to the maids ) pool area cleaned every morning ,when we did stop round the pool we always managed to get a sunbed , entertainment at night not too bad , would i recommend the hotel ? ............. a big YES

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aspireite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for recommending our accommodation for users of Tripadvisor. We love to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Nerja :) We recommend for your next visit visit the Calas de Maro or Playazo beach. We love that you appreciate the changes made in our buffet have been fruitful.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

First visit to the Nerja Club; last in Nerja 10 years ago. This hotel, although quite a walk to the centre and the beach and an even longer, hotter walk back is well worth the effort.

Very newly decorated rooms;really comfortable and spotlessly clean. The nicest part though is the fact that the hotel is in the old traditional style so the public rooms are very Spanish and full of character with an old fashioned feel to them; really tranquil with lots of different areas to sit and relax. Balconies a little on the small side but we just managed to seat the two of us!

Great food; every evening there was a traditional Spanish dish as well as several choices of fishor meat with fresh veg and salads. Breakfast was also good as was the food in the lovely restaurant in front of the hotel.

The small team of staff were friendly and helpful and made time for a chat and a joke. Reception staff especially helpful.

A good mix of tourists too and a few bars and restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to make the walk into town too often.

Town centre is lovely though so take some walking shoes so you don't miss out!

Will definately return

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We have been to this hotel before and even though it seems at first to be a bit far out the transport links are good as the legendary 1 euro "Blue bus" passes right outside the door and taxi fares are no more than to any of the closer in hotels.
The dining room and bar staff have always been attentive and pleasant as are the chambermaids.
My wife is a sleep in type whilst I am an early morning person, She was still zedding and I would stroll down to a small pavement Caf'e for a coffee and a croissant then a stroll back for another breakfast with her.
What can we say about Nerja? We have been here twice a year for the past three years and love it.
On Sunday what we would call a car boot sale is held on the market site where many of the stall holders are English with a really good caf'e just up the slope that serves a nice line in thin crust pizza's and a very welcome cool beer. I always leave wishing I were there with a van as some of the heavy equipment would go home with me if I did.
On Tuesday the normal market occupies the same site and you can buy all your take home presents and buy any items of clothing you have forgotten to bring. ( I forgot my shorts ).
Around the Balcon are a million shops and resteraunt's serving a wide range of food from Spanish as you would expect to Indian and Italian. A good thing really as we have noticed the food in all the hotels has gone down hill over the last year or so and given the state of the economy not all that surprising. However we had some really good and inexpensive meals in the town where everybody is competing for our business.
.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocker1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We decided to return here having been here two years ago and had a pleasant time.
Many of the rooms have been refurbished inc. flat screen tv & very modern finishes.
Nearly all the staff from our previous visit still worked in the Hotel allowing us to settle very quickly.
The hotel is very clean and located between the centre & Burriana Beach.
Fine walk to them, Well worth €6/7 taxi back.
Will definately be back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Hi Richard,

Thank you very much for your review. We love to hear that you have spent a very enjoyable time with us. As you comment cleaning for us is a very important factor and our staff works hard to make your holiday exceptional. We appreciate your loyalty and we wait on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
245 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £34 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing