We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Croston, Lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked this after staying the Villa Flamenca in June. Got one of the recently refurished rooms overlooking the pool and the sea and we were extremely pleased with everything. Room cleaned well on a daily basis and the food was good for a 3 star hotel. In the evenings the Chef, Jose Luis, had at least one special dish that he prepared in front of you and he was magnificent. A great chef with a great personality.
Breakfast was the same each day but hey, there was a good enough choice across the board, although the bacon could do with a bit of attention!!
There were complaints about the morning tea/coffee machine but a word of advise..... they don't respond well to pushing the buttons harder or even hitting. Leave it a minute then make your selection, don't hit it!!
Jose in the bar was a great bar tender and made the evenings pleasant. The nightly entertainment was also good and we particularly liked Neil, a Blackpool lad with and end of pier style of entertainment..... Look out for his rendition of 3 wheels on my wagon, it's hilarious.
We took a car for a few dats and there's parking outside the hotel
Yes we would go back to Nerja and yes we would stay at the Nerja Club, although next time we might try an apartment in El Capistrano

Room Tip: Try for a refurbed room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crostoncritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for coming back to Nerja and for choosing us for your stay. We love reading your comments. We will take note of all your suggestions. We try to offer our guests a home environment to spend a good stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    437
    192
    76
    48
See reviews for
129
691
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

booked this last minute with thomsons, stayed there with husband from 13th Oct for a week. Was pleasently surprised with the hotel, got alot of character! Room was overlooking the pool, nicely decorated with a balcony, bathroom nice with good shower and all kept spotlessly clean. Pool area nice but pool was freezing so not many people using it, needs a bit of warmth! Never a problem getting a sunbed, only trouble was, a supermarket is being built next door so it was noisy and there was loads of flies. Everyone was constantly swatting at them and this put me off staying there so went to the excellent beaches. There is a spa but everything except the jacuzzi had out of order signs on and there didnt seem to be any attempt to mend them, shame! Dining room in basement and desperatly needs upgrading, drinks machine is a joke. Food ok, exactly the same breakfast every day though! Arrived late so missed first eve meal but a sandwich was in the room for us. We had to leave at 7.30pm (mealtime) , asked if we could dine earlier but was told no ! First time we had been to Nerja and was not dissapointed, lovely place and we had fantastic weather

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterfield14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with tripadvisor users. We love to read you've enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Hotel Nerja Club. We will take note of your comments. The satisfaction of our customers is for us an essential point.

We look forward to have you with us soon and invite you to follow us on our Facebook page.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letchworth garden city
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked on a recommendation, passing by this hotel, stopped to see if any rooms free, first class service on reception and booked for 4 nights, good staff, clean modern rooms, and a great food choice for half board. Easy walk to the fantastic Nerja centre and surroundings. Would always stay again and next year I will book 2 weeks. A thanks to this great hotel, good every night entertainment, ignore the bad write ups its first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Anthony,

We greatly appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are proud to know that you enjoyed a short break in Nerja. We hope to see you soon. We invite you to follow us on Facebook.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was my third visit for the October Festival. Good hotel at reasonable price. Average age group this time of year 60++ :) but sun, pool, terrace and bar OK. Some of the rooms not so good view (avoid 241 and 242 as the window opens over the front outside restaurant).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as these are at the rear of the hotel. No guarantee you will get one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Tony,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Nerja Club for your stay in Nerja. As well comets offer a great value to our guests to make them feel a unique experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Firstly, I will say that my overall experience with the hotel and staff were ok but as for a holiday, what a nightmare. It does state on the website how far away the hotel was from the centre so I had no problems with that. It was actually a nice walk which we did every day although it is a bit of a hike. My real problem was the roadworks which started almost immediately. I was on the ground floor next to the grass about three meters from a small road which cars never really go.
The noise was unbearable at times, so much so that we had to leave the hotel most days and remain away. To get people in the picture, I was standing right next to my wife on the grass and could not hear a word she was saying. Now, this is not the hotels fault but it absolutely destroyed my holiday.
The hotel itself is clean and food was ok, dining room was more like a school cafe though, in the basement. The hot water machine for the tea and coffee could do with an update as we always stood for 5-10 mins waiting. My room was fine, cleaned every day (air con was really noisy) and the staff were friendly which is always a bonus.
There is a supermarket being built next to the hotel which creates noise, at one point a guest requested a move because he was too close to it and got put next to us, bad mistake we has the noisiest room in there as, like I said right next to the roadworks, he got moved again.
Who is this hotel for? well it's for 50+ couples who like to sit by the pool for a couple of weeks and enjoy the nights entertainments, which I have to say, aren't that bad.
I will say that Nerja is a fantastic place as I went there last year and will definitely go back but just not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Email first to see if there are any ongoing works right beside the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Visited this hotel ten years ago, and although some parts of it have since been updated (some of the guest rooms, for example) the place retains a lot of its character from before. Some of the public areas might seem a little dated, but that's part of the charm of it, and everything is very clean and well maintained. Noticed a spa since added though we didn't use it. Pool area has had a bit of a revamp, with plenty of sunbeds available (no getting up early to reserve them as they're only let out after 9.30!). The hotel staff, especially on reception were extremely helpful and friendly, and they kindly arranged an early breakfast due to having to leave early for the airport on the last morning.

The restaurant in the basement is little changed from last time, in fact it was almost like turning the clock back 20 or 30 years. That said, the buffet breakfast was fine, with full English available and did a decent job with fried eggs. Noticed people enjoying evening meals outside the front of the hotel, but resisted the temptation in favour of eating in town which is just about walking distance (steady downhill there, but paid for by the climb back although still a very pleasant walk).

Our room (207) was one of the updated ones which was simple but tasteful, though it was the one with the balcony (overlooking the pool) which had room for one chair only and a window barely two foot wide. Reception did warn us of this on our arrival and offered an alternative but we were only staying three nights so it did us fine. Excellent shower in bath worth noting.
It was great to visit this hotel one again, and would definitely do it again in the future. Just a very relaxed atmosphere by day and evening (varied entertainment programme including dancing parrots!) and although a little removed from the centre of town and the beach it is still in a convenient location, especially if you have a hire car - parking right outside the front entrance.

Only downside I can think of was our stay was too short. Roll on next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForestfirePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Customer,

Thanks for your comments. We are happy to know that we exceed your expectations :) We will take note of your feedback to continue to deliver year after year a great value price. We invite you to follow us on our Facebook page for all our specials.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with husband daughter and her boyfriend this year. Type of hotel that grows on you and feels like home after a few days. Great points:
Staff extremely friendly and conscientious. They even helped me chase Gordon the gecko from the room at 12pm one night!
Evening meal lots of choice and for a 3 star hotel very good value.
Happy hour a coke or a glass of wine for €1. Warning cocktails not included but mojitos worth the €5 price tag.
Pool area lovely and although there aren't that many sun beds there was rarely a day we couldn't find one even at the height of the summer.
Bad points.
It is a way out of town, if you are fit or enjoy a stroll it's fine but it can take 20 mins there and longer on the uphill return journey.
Breakfast is exactly the same every day, and the juice and coffee are not brilliant.
Some of the rooms have not been redecorated, we stayed in one that hadn't it was okay and again good value for a 3 star.
We would go back it was chilled, friendly and very very good value in comparison to the 4 star offerings in the rest of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherSt091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 37 in Nerja
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,708 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing