We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Marykirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is the first time we have been to Nerja, and we stayed at the Nerja Club Hotel. I have to say that the stay was most enjoyable. The Nerja Club Hotel should be very proud of its staff. Without exception, they were friendly, courteous, and very helpful. The hotel is not the most modern, but it is clean, comfortable and the food is good. If I had to criticise anything, it would be that our balcony was tiny - room for two small plastic chairs, but these were so close together that two people couldn't really sit on the balcony in comfort. But, why would you when there is an excellent sun deck. There was some noise from the room above, but that was more down to inconsiderate neighbours than to the hotel itself.

Don't go to Nerja if you do not like hills. The Nerja Club is a good walk from the nearest beach, Playa Burriana, and the walk back up directly from the beach is very steep. However, the walk to and from the town centre is much easier. So, if you go down to Burriana, come back up to the Parador, head left into town and walk back to the hotel that way - and you can stop off for some tapas and refreshment on the way!

Entertainment is fairly ordinary, although Neil is great fun. Some young couples with young children were there, but I think it is fair to say that most guests may have been among the retired.

All in all, a great holiday, and I rather think I may back again in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have larger balconies. Try to get one of those - rooms on the second, third floors, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear David,

We like to know that you enjoyed our hotel and that you plan to return. Thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. You can follow our latest news through our Facebook and Twitter.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    448
    199
    78
    48
See reviews for
138
704
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The staff are friendly, but lack good customer services at the main bar!" Normal only one person serving in the mornings the table outside dirty, not wiped down regularly, class left outside from the night before, generally poor management, more staff required and too be more switched on.

Room Tip: The best room one can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Karen,

Thanks for your feedback and for choosing us for your vacation. We take note about your comments to improve our service. Remember you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We checked in for a couple of nights whilst staying with family who live in the area.
We are a young couple who were looking for a chilled out break which is exactly what we got!
We stayed at the hotel during the last week of March and apart from us, the hotel guests were of an older generation to put it politely.

The hotel was exceptionally clean.
There wasn't very much space in the room, but it was ideal for our 2 night stay. We had a room facing on to the main road, which didn't cause us any nuisance but the balcony was non-existent.

The outside swimming pool was too cold for us to use, but understandable, given that the temperature hadn't heated up at the time of year we stayed. There were plenty of sun loungers available at the time, and we were the only ones to use the hydro pool - this is not big enough to really swim in. At our time of stay, the power shower or steam room weren't working.
One thing to note- it is compulsory (by law) to wear a swimming cap if you are going to be using any of the spa facilities. We didn't realise this, but reception sell caps at around 4 euros each - so you may be able to buy one cheaper elsewhere.

We had breakfast included in our stay and this wasn't disappointing - plenty of food - would have liked more fresh fruit, but overall, very good.

The evening entertainment is not suitable for younger people - but the other guests seemed to really enjoy a man singing whilst playing his guitar to 50s and 60s hits.

Room Tip: Would ask not to be facing the main road - noise didn't cause a problem but the balcony was of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtrooper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you around here again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price. Follow our promotions through our Facebook.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of May 2014, with Thomson's holidays. Our room was in the annex and was one of the rooms not re furbished which was quite noticable. The room was at the back overlooking the street behind, we had a decent sized balcony, the walls are very thin so you can hear mostly everything!, beds hard, air conditioning unit old, bathroom tired, old tv. On the plus side plenty of storage facilities including drawers. The hotel itself is nice, staff friendly, meals buffet style but good choice, Chef available every night cooking something special. Plenty of areas to sit and relax though sunbed area could get busy. Walking distance about 25-30 mins to centre of town (balcon de europe). A couple of different streets to walk in and out of town. Also nice walk out to the right of the hotel along the road, once the sun is going down. Nerja is lovely, very spanish, feels safe. Narrow streets so could get crowded at peak summer times. Great place for a chill out relaxing time. Would certainly return but if to Nerja Club would prefer a re furbished room.

Room Tip: Some rooms in annex overlook street where supermarket is and some rooms at street level. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We like to know that you enjoy our hotel. We take note about your comments. Hope to see you here again soon. You can follow our news on Facebook.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well I have just got back from a two week stay at the Hotel Nerja Club and as ever the welcome you receive is second to none. The hotel although not the most modern is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and I would recommend it to anyone. San Isidro is a special occasion and the hotel pulls out all the stops with entertainment, tables and chairs out the front along with bar and food for the day, if you've not been you should.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Tony,

We like to know that you enjoyed again our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon. You can follow our latest news through our Facebook.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we booked the reviews were of an excellent nature. The reviews then seemed to turn. We agree with many of them. For these reasons. Lack of service in the restaurant/cafeteria. Youngsters there for training? One night in the res/cafe two of these lay on the floor and were showing different methods of physio (good sight for your evening meal) One night two of the waiters helped themselves to the last of the beef and squid at 9.15pm I watched them fill dishes and then go outside to eat it all. He asked me what my problem was and told him there was no beef or squid, reply grumpily "Beef all gone" but more squid available. The cafe/res was open until 10pm. Hard luck if you were in after 9pm. Food was always hot but bland. Salads again no imagination. Breakfast? Wait for cups, line up for tea/ coffee, line up for the toasting machine.
Room! Refurbished with balcony, balcony .5m x 1m (2ft x 4ft).
If you like your sheets and pillow cases for a full week when it is hot then this is the place for you especially if you have a rubber mattress protector. Dirty inside pillows. Beds need updating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear customer,

Thanks for your feedback. We take note about your comments to improve our service. Regarding the food, buffet restaurant offers a wide variety of dishes to suit the taste of most of our customers. We hope you give us another opportunity.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here a week ago, 18 to 25 May. Good hotel, ample and varied buffet style meals both at breakfast and in the evening, very helpful staff, and an overall very good experience. We recommend the Nerja Club.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tim5212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNerjaClub, Community Manager at Nerja Club, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Tim,

We are very grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. There is nothing better than knowing that our customers have enjoyed your holiday with us. Hope to see you around here again. Remember you can book directly on our website with the best price. Follow our promotions through our Facebook.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,766 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 37 in Nerja
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing