We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain Hotel.....Clean & Friendly”
Review of Nerja Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nerja Club
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Bargain Hotel.....Clean & Friendly”
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Do not take heed of the negative reviews about this hotel. I stayed for 1 week in Jan 09 as a budget winter getaway and thought the place was great. Having read some reviews prior to my arrival I was a bit anxious as to where I was going to be staying for the week - however; the staff were friendly, spoke good English and went out of their way to help, the room was clean, with British TV channels, balcony, safe and a nice bathroom. I found that the room was a bit cold at times and on arrival found the toilet didn't flush but this was fixed striaght away. The food at the hotel was great; there was a selection of freshly cooked breakfast items (the scrambled egg was awesome) and the evening meal had a selection of meats, fish, seafood, soup and salad items. The hotel bar was reasonably priced for those watching the pennies - I found however at times it got a bit smoky.....The hotel was fairly well located and easy to find. I recommend a trip to the Balcon d'Europe or Plaza Tutti Fruity for a bit of nightlife or a nice bite to eat. The King Alfonso Restaurant in the Balcon has superlative views and the best food in the area. If you are looking fro a Paella, AYO on the nearby Burriana beach is the only place to go 6 euro all you can eat and it's amazing! I would recommend a trip to Cueva de Nerja for good views and something interesting. Avoid the Sunday Market - no culture and full of rubbish. Would suggest hiring a car for a trip to Malaga or Marbella and to have the flexibility. Taxis in Nerja have a flat rate of 6 euro. Thhotel has a supermarket opposite and plenty of parking. I would definitely go back there for a few days no probs.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank DJBarryJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    448
    200
    79
    49
See reviews for
140
706
35
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hythe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My husband and I spent two weeks there over Christmas and New Year. We had a real lovely time. the weather was very warm all day, chilly at night. 2 days of warm rain was ok .rooms big and clean and the whole of the hotel had such a friendly atmosphere and helpfull. main parts were chilly but rooms warm, and heating noisy. Food not bad if you are not a fussy eater but the Christmas day and New Year eve meals were the best I have had in many a year. excelent and the staff worked so hard. The New Year party went on till 4am. with hot chocolate and muffins before you left.We would definatly go again. but we did find it would help to have a car as there is not much in Nerja itself. but the busses are very good from the town 15 min walk downhill ( 40 mins for me uphill, haha ) We did notice lots of people knew each other from going the same time each year, so we might just be one of them in the future.

  • Liked — the space and comfort
  • Disliked — no ground floor toilets .only one with steps.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank perkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorks
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

reception staff were very good even taking us to our room. room was clean, as was the hotel, but the food was awfull. the restraunt staff were surley they seemed very unhappy in their work.the walk into town is only about 20 mins and my husband is having knee surgery, so anyone fit will do it quicker. few nice bars around. we only paid £ 430 for both of us so felt that we got what we paid for. probably would only go back to this hotel if i got an absolute bargain.

  • Liked — reception
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pollybad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed there for a wedding we attended, the rooms were very very basic, no tea making facilites and worse of all NO FRIDGE!!! We had to rent one out for the week at a cost of €18, no balcony, no terrace, just a small window facing a wall, the roof outside our room looked like there had been a previous leak fixed with toilet paper!!! Two days in to our trip there was an actual leak in the roof and the water was collected by three rubbish bins and towels on the floor!!! The hotel was also full of over 65's who gave disapproving looks if we raised our voices above a whisper, we are by no means loud or obnoxious but a hearty laugh was met with disapproving nods. Every time we went to get a sandwich or something small from the kitchen we were told that either there was no food or that the kitchen was closed. This hotel is a taxi ride away from the main area, costing €6 each time. We wont be going back, unfortunately because we had a wedding to attend this hotel was the only one available...Nerja its self is a lovely quiet town but best left to the older lady or gent. Some gorgeous restaurants, El Portifico, Pinnochio's, Scarlett's & the coach & horse for a lovely breakfast.

  • Liked — Check Out
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DubSunWorshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal23
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2008

just back from spending a week at the hotel with my boyfriend,as we had to attend a wedding in the area. my first impressions were awful, as the room was very small and we had no balcony or terrace,just a small window..this was a bit of a let down.also there are very few sunbeds so it could be very difficult to get one if u werent up early.however the pool is nice..there is a large supermarket across the street and there were fridges to rent in the hotel but we didnt bother..the bar served lovely lunch snacks at low prices for a hotel and they were nice.it is a steep walk back from the beech,and a good walk into town...we spent a lot on taxis in and out of town (6 euros a taxi) that maybe u would be better off paying more money to stay in a nicer hotel close to town..an ok basic hotel

  • Liked — nice pool, nice snacks at bar
  • Disliked — location, lack of sunbeds, no balcony or terrace
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank donegal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Please do not take any notice of all the negative comments on this hotel. Our room was spotlessly clean, towels changed every day, room cleaned every day. Hotel staff very nice nothing too much trouble very helpful. First night I washed my hair and realised I had forgotten my 2pin plug. Popped down to reception and was given one to use no trouble, I bought one next day and gave it back to them. Always there when we asked directions and it was never too much trouble to draw a map for us to let us know where to go. We had bed and breakfast and you could not fault this, choices of cold meats, fruits, yogourts, crossiants and if you are like my partner and like a hot breakfast a choice of bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes, eggs fried, scrambled or boiled. Plenty of bread to toast and
cereals, very good. Entertainment at night was average but we always walked into town and eat and came back to hotel about 11ish for a night cap but there was always loads of people sitting watching. Beach is a bit of a long walk 20 mins downhill but very steep coming back up in the afternoon. Walk into town used to take us 15 mins but very nice and as I said we walked in every night and back again. Restaurants recommended in town are Bar Restaurant Sevillano for 20 euros per person you get a choice on a three course menu and a bottle of wine for 2 people this was excellent and try the seafood soup to start absolutely delicious. Also the Coach and horse run by english people lovely sirloin steak there again very reasonably priced. The only complaint I have (if it is one) was the shower but hey we managed to shower and wash our hair every day so I could live with that. Highly recommend this hotel to all and would go there again. Enjoy.

  • Liked — clean, towel and sheet changes
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyslay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

I was in a party of four people. When we got to the hotel we had to make our own way to our rooms,which when we got there the bed lining was dirty and so were the pillows in both rooms. IN One room there was glass behind the door in the bathroom for two weeks. The food was not good, not a lot to choose from. We were told that there would be no children in this hotel and there was. The swimming pool is not really suitable for children. We had a long walk to the shops.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank howe_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#5 of 37 in Nerja
180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#9 of 37 in Nerja
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nerja Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nerja Club

Property: Nerja Club
Address: Nacional 340 Carretera de Malaga Almeria, Km 293 | Frente a El Capistrano, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nerja Club 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is ideal for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We have large Sun Terraces where you can enjoy glourious sunshine nearly all year round.Our staff have many years experience and will ensure you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.You can enjoy some memorable evenings at the Nerja Club Hotel. After a nice freshly prepared dinner in the Buffet Restaurant, you can have one of your favorite beverages in our Bar Cocktail, whilst appreciating the live music which is on offer every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Nerja Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nerja Club Hotel Nerja
Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing