We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST food in Nerja!”
Review of Mo GastroTapas

Mo GastroTapas
Ranked #28 of 399 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$26
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Stamullin, Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST food in Nerja!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went to a wedding in Nerja, only last week. Fantastic time had by all, weather was amazing, and the town itself is a little hidden gem. Best of all, and you'll have to forgive my stomach here, we found a lovely little restaurant only a stone's throw from our hotel. It was called MO Gastrotapas.

We had eaten in a number of places throughout our stay, and tried many tapas, which were all quite good. But MO's simply blew us away.

The restaurant itself is smallish, but quaint and very welcoming. The décor is bright, and cheerful. The waiting staff are excellent, and the Maitre 'D was multilingual and can handle French, German, Italian, English, and Spanish, with impressive ease.

The food was simply sensational. Every course a delight to our taste buds. With little plates of wonder coming one after another, we had a gastronomic delight that made us return time and again.

I can only highly recommend MO Gastrotapas, as the ONLY place to eat Tapas in Nerja. On top of that the 'other menu' (full a la carte) is also something to behold, with fine cuts of Iberian Pork, and fresh sea delights that are making my mouth water right now thinking about them!

MO's only increased our enjoyment of the amazing place that Nerja is. We will be going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    172
    48
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great tapas”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

"MO's" is a must. Do go and enjoy the creative tapas they serve. Absolutely delicious! Yes, Mr. Udo can be a bit grumpy but the rest of the team are ever so friendly. ENJOY!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauritz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Creative take on tapas, executed perfectly”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A whole different angle to the 'usual' tapas offerings. Really enjoyed our meal at Mo's, a great deal of care and attention goes into their food and presentation which makes it all the more of an experience.

Clever, tasty, relaxed...you can't ask for more in my book.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to visiting this upmarket tapas restaurant however on arrival the owner dismissed us and told us there was no room, even though there were free seats at the bar. New were ushered out unceremoniously and told "maybe tomorrow". At that moment a table became free and we seized it! We started with Mo's cocktails, a heady mix of sorbet, lychee, vodka and cava.....delicious. The tapas were good and beautifully presented although a little salty for my taste. Would I go back? Maybe, but with slight reluctance, because Nerja is such a delightfully friendly place that I would prefer to go where I feel welcomed

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank docchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great tapas, grumpy owner”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a great modern twist on traditional tapas food, there is a great choice of dishes, all reasonably priced, althougy the drinks are a bit pricey.

All the dishes are beautifully presented and are delicious, the patas bravas was really interesting, the only downside to the whole experience, a view shared by some of the locals we spoke to is that the owner is extremely grumpy and treats his staff badly, he also needs to remember that whilst people speak english, they can also be fluent in spanish, so whilst smiling and welcoming them in english and then talking about them in spanish is perhaps not such a good idea.

On a positive note, when the son is working, the whole atmosphere is different and the staff a lot happier.

Having said all that, if you love interesting food, it is definitely worth a visit, but book if you intend to go at night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philbertNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo GastroTapas also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Mo GastroTapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing