We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese restaurant in Nerja”
Review of Chinese House

Chinese House
Ranked #182 of 399 Restaurants in Nerja
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shobdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Chinese restaurant in Nerja”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have been visiting the Chinese House in Los Huertos for something like 20 years now when on holiday in Nerja. We believe it was the first Chinese restaurant in Nerja and, to us, is definitely the best. The food is absolutely delicious. The service is very good and the prices reasonable. Whatever you choose from the extensive menu, it is always very tasty. There is a good selection of wines but we chose the house white which was good. We particularly liked the Shiny Chicken and Singapore Rice but everything we have tried has always been excellent. We have always found the staff very welcoming and friendly so was surprised by the comment by a previous TA reviewer. Chinese House is handy if you are staying at the Parador but a 10 minute walk from the Balcon but well worth the walk. If you are looking for a Chinese restaurant in Nerja, we would most definitely recommend you go here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandKA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“nice meal, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Probably one of the best chinese restaurant for its decor in Nerja, compared to the higher rated restaurants, although the crockery is looking a bit worn and you will need to keep the same cutlery and plate for the majority of your meal.

The initial welcome felt a bit cold with the lady lacking any great enthusiasm to serve us, however, the waiter who looked after us during the meal was really helpful and attentive, even when we struggled to find a wine we all liked.

The food itself was very tasty and reasonable sized portions, we ordered the special set meal for 4 people and there was a good selection, the chiken and ginger and crispy beef were very tasty and not too greasy either.

We finished with Jasmine tea, which isnt the best we have had, but apart from that, it was a very enjoyable evening, the total bill was €91.00 inc drinks, so very reasonable value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philbertNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This restaurant is very pretty, excellent food and service, this restaurant is a bit out of the centre but is worth the little 10 minute walk for delicious food at affordable prices. Service excellent, lovely duck had for starter highly recommended and the lemon chicken is very tasty. All had different meals but service, food or restaurant not faulted brilliant! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ajm93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty food but small portions”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The service here was excellent. However portion sizes were not adequate - we had set menu for 5 at €74 but right from starters through to main course portion sizes were inadequate. For example only one duck pancake per person which we have not seen before - normally at least two each would be the norm. Would go back were it not for this as the welcome was good and our waiter very friendly,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Chinese”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Visited Chinese House while in Nerja. Very good value for money, good, friendly service and tasty food, portions were fair sized.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinese House also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Chinese House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing