We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting”
Review of Dal Toscano

Dal Toscano
Ranked #48 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A lovely setting it was. The waiters worked hard, and so the service was good.
The house red was not not a good choice (but of course that's my individual point of view).
The pizza was not like being in Toscany.
Don't go I will not say, but do not expect so much.
Not sure, but I thing this is a late night restaurant only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnutN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    57
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
655 reviews
626 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

There is seating inside but in Summer it is much better to have a table in the street outside. Very typical Italian food. Located in a small side street and with table candles in the evening adds to an intimate feeling. It was a mid-September evening and we were lucky to get a table outside as the restaurant was full. Inside the restaurant the kitchen can be seen through an open hatch so you can see the food being freshly prepared.

One had crepes with smoked salmon & asparagus with a prawn cream sauce €6.50 to start. For mains one had chicken stuffed with bacon and mushrooms served with broccoli, carrots and rice €13.50. The other had spaghetti with rucula, cherry tomatoes & gorgonzola €9.50. Both dishes were very good. We had a bottle of Ibericos Rioja Crianza red wine €16.10.

Service was attentive and even though the restaurant was full we did not have to wait long for the dishes to be served. Meal for two came to €50 - very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Disappointing food, nice terrace”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Pros:

* The terrace, located on a quiet, cosy and small street just next to the main tourist streets of Nerja, is a great place to have your dinner on.

* Good service.

* The entrecote was particularly good and so was the Sangria.


Cons:

* The level of the food was disappointing. The Lasagna and Canneloni were average at best. The duck was actually really bad and pizzas were lackluster. Considering the price level and setting, we expected much more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had the best meal of our 10 days in Nerja in Dal Toscano. The bream was delicious and served with perfectly cooked vegetables. My husband loved the pasta with prawns which was one of the specials. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend Dal Toscano for its wonderful food and lovely atmosphere. The prices are reasonable and they take bookings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 94Mary94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting let down by the food”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has such a lovely setting and the service was good. However the fish dishes we ate were just not good enough. The mushrooms had been so severely fried that they were soggy and the fish was overcooked. Very disappointed in the food but I will commend its location and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laalaaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dal Toscano also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Dal Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing