We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pequena Cibeles

Pequena Cibeles
Ranked #193 of 383 Restaurants in Nerja
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: -
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was our first trip to Nerja and after having a good walk around we started to take a look around for somewhere to eat and decided upon Pequna Cibeles as i was a little bit off the main thoroughfare, didn't offer obviously touristy type of food and also when we had a walk around and a look at the inside courtyard it had a number of Spanish eating there which is always a good sign!

We decided upon a plato of jamon for a starter and were presently surprised by the quality and also the quantity of the starter. Not 5J standard but very good none the less.

We followed with aubergines in honey, grilled prawns and the home-made croquettas, washed down with a bottle of house wine, agua con gas and coffee.

The food was of a very good standard, served promptly and with some style and with some change from 50 euros we were pretty happy.

The waiter was a happy chap and was patient with our limited Spanish and in all we had an enjoyable couple of hours sat outside watching the world go by (people watching as we do!).

Would I go back when visiting Nerja - definitely, yes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_in_Estepona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel350, Propietario at Pequena Cibeles, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Andy_in_Estepona,
thank you for your friendly review. I am glad to hear that you liked the food and you were happy with the service.
We do hope that you will visit Pequeña Cibeles again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must try this restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We visited this restaurant during a holiday in Nerja during July 2013. It is situated in a busy street which is largely restaurants and we had initially rejected the restaurant as there were very few people eating. However, once we tried it we wish we had tried it earlier. The staff are very welcoming and friendly although speak very little English. The food was excellent, my son and I tried the Seafood Paella which was one of the best Paellas we have been served in Spain. My wife had the Swordfish which was clearly very fresh and was well cooked with a good selection of vegetables and salad.

Please try this restaurant and don't be put off by the staff not trying to entice people in from outside or the lack of people in the restaurant as it is worth the visit and also reaonably priced. We preferred the terrace at the back.

This restaurant should be much higher in the rankings for restaurants in Nerja and I am sure soon will be

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpurDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel350, Propietario at Pequena Cibeles, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear SpurDon,
Thanks for your nice review, I am delighted to hear that you liked the Seafood Paella and the fresh Swordfish. We are a relatively new restaurant in Nerja so the comments are important for us.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
638 reviews
610 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Very good menu del dia €9.90”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Pequena Cibeles is located in Calle Cristo a busy street with many many restaurants (locally known as Post Office Street).

We have been here a couple of times for lunch choosing their menu del dia priced at €9.90. This includes starter, main course, bread, drink and either a dessert or coffee.

One chose fish soup and the other chose gambas pil-pil as starters. The fish soup was very tasty with pieces of fish, clams and prawns. The gambas pil-pil was also very good. For mains one chose magro con tomate (lean pork with a tomato sauce) and the other opted for the home-made ham croquettes. Both dishes were served with fries and were good.

Service was courteous and friendly. Very good value. They also have a comprehensive a-la-carte menu of traditional Spanish dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel350, Propietario at Pequena Cibeles, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear mw741002,
Thank you for your review and thank you for posting photos of the restaurant and the food. I am glad to hear that you had a good time in Pequeña Cibeles and you liked our menu of the day. Your comments are very important for us.
We do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We visited Nerja in April 2013 for a week and found this gem of a restaurant. We went here 4 times in total, mainly for their wonderful Gambas Pil-Pil (the best in Nerja) and the chats with the owners who were very welcoming. They spoke very little english and we speak very little spanish, but with our spanish/ english phrase book we had many laughs with them!

They also did patatas ali oli, which was fabulous and we even tried their rabbit dish which was superb, but their Gambas Pil-Pil was the absolute star of the show.

We think they are a relatively new restaurant in Nerja so wanted to ensure they got a good mention on trip advisor.

If you get chance, do visit as the owners are lovely, very friendly and their food is also fabulous - the little terrace outside is also very pleasant to sit and relax.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank masweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel350, Propietario at Pequena Cibeles, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear masweetpea,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you said, we are a relatively new restaurant in Nerja so your comments and feedback are of great value to us!
I am glad that you had a good time in Pequeña Cibeles. We do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pequena Cibeles also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Pequena Cibeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing