We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit out of the way but worth looking for”

La Tahona Holandesa
Ranked #24 of 395 Restaurants in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Edmonton, AB Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A bit out of the way but worth looking for”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We met some folks in a bar who recommended La Tahona. We took a couple of friends and had an excellent meal. My husband had the steak smothered in mushrooms and fried onions, I had the pork tenderloin, stuffed with cheese, wrapped in serrano ham. Both meals were great and came with vegetables, and bowls of sauted potatoes and marinated veggies to share. We also got a tasty shrimp each to start. The portions were generous so we didn’t try dessert. This is a fairly new restaurant, just opened in May of 2014. It’s not too large, nicely decorated and very clean. The chef and his wife were friendly and helpful. We went back for tapas the next day for lunch, also very good. Go, you won’t be sorry.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Call_us_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    34
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
657 reviews
628 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Excellent home-cooked cuisine with a Dutch bias and very good value”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This restaurant is fairly new in Nerja and located in Plaza Garcia Caparros which is a street just South of Calle Antonio Millon in Tutti Frutti. It is also Dutch owned so the dishes for us were intriguing - such as cheese soup with bacon which we may try on another occasion.

We went for dinner one midweek night in January. The restaurant is as another reviewer said "cosy".

We chose breaded mushrooms served with fresh bread and roquefort sauce (€6.50) to share for starters and they were very good. For mains one chose calf's liver with onions & bacon (€14.50) and the other opted for a mixed grill - steak, pork, chicken breast & bacon (€18.50). In particular the liver was probably the best that we have tried in Nerja being very tender and cooked to perfection.

Things that very much impressed us were that the food was served on heated plates (so often in many restaurants hot food can be served on cold or just warm plates). The vegetables were fresh (not frozen or just a token garnish as can sometimes be the case). The dishes came with a choice of either home made saute potatoes and home made hand-cut fries (again not frozen chips). Also a complimentary side dish of poached pears served with the mixed grill.

We were the first diners of the evening and later there were another couple of diners. The service was a bit slow, but we appreciate that this is because dishes are carefully cooked and in some other restaurants speed is achieved by an overused microwave.

We had a good bottle of Altos de Tamaron Ribera del Duero crianza red wine priced at €14.90 euros which was very good value.

Overall we were impressed at the hearty cuisine at a very good value price. They also do special nights offering an Indonesian Buffet which after our good experience here we are likely to try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cosy and tasty”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

a beautiful buffet here in this cosy restaurant on the first day of the new year (2014) - lovely selection of cooked meats with creamy mash and delicious cabbage mix - every item was more-ish - the chef was kind enough to make a beautiful salmon dish for my wife who doesn't eat red meat (10/10 for that) - all done with a smile and a chat - can't wait to try the a la carte

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No expense spared on transforming this restaurant.”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

You are totally surprised on entering this unique restaurant, as it gives the impression that you are sitting in a quaint plaza.
The service was slow but we had gone there for a relaxing, romantic meal and didn't mind.
The food was exceptional and my wife has not stopped talking about the quality of her unusual prawn starter. Everything was cooked to perfection and a pleasure to eat. The price was higher than the average for Nerja but well worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The restaurant was quite quiet the evening we went, the food was fine but the service was extremely slow. It took 45 minutes for us to get our starters which perhaps would have been understandable at the height of the season, but only 2 other tables were occupied so really no excuses. We will give it another go at some point a it may have been just one of those nights.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tahona Holandesa also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Tahona Holandesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing