We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wot a stay”
Review of Hostal Miguel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Miguel
Ranked #9 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ian and Jane were just the best hosts, food, accommodation, price and service was outstanding. The Hostel is situated with a few minutes of the main square. The main beach was a good half hour walk, however as Nerja is such a pretty town it was a trip worth doing.
There is a hill down to the beach that made you puff a bit but once back in the hostel, showered, a few beers on the roof terrace and ready for a night on the town, good food and drink just outside the door.
Great stuff and I would certainly go back there.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hostal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Potta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thankyou for your review - it´s much appreciated that you have taken the time. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - we enjoyed your company equally. We are not sure which way you went to Burriana as it only takes us 10 mins! haha. Perhaps you should have stuck with Salon or Calahonda beaches which are a mere 2 minutes away. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company in the future - in the meantime, thankyou once more and best regards - Ian & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent a week in early May at Hostal Miguel and really enjoyed ourselves. We were well looked after by Jane and Ian who fulfilled our every wish. We highly recommend Hostal Miguel and intend to return. The Hostal is situated centraly where you have a great selection of shops bars and restaurants. the local beaches are within walking distance. The breakfast on the roof terrace gave us agreat start to the day.

Room Tip: if you like a quiet room, sleep at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygolucky187325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thankyou so much for taking the time to submit a review of our hostal. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you. The roof terrace is very lonely without you all! Hopefully we may get to welcome you again. Best regards - Ian & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My stay in Nerja was in mid-September 2013. This small family hotel - the pearl on the coast. Very conveniently located in the heart of Nerja. Friendly hosts, clean single room has a balcony, French-style refrigerator. Awesome breakfasts on the roof types 3D - mountains on one side, the sea on the other. Yes, and a fine restaurant with seafood of the highest quality on the opposite side of the hotel. Restaurant El Pulguilla. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaAlisa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thankyou so much for taking the time and trouble to submit a review of our hostal - it really is appreciated. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future. Take care - best regards Ian & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Perfect location, cosy and bright rooms, outstanding hosts.

Ian and Jane are professional and experienced hostel owners who made every effort to ensure we had a great stay. We requested a street-facing room with a balcony and they gave us just that. We loved the sun in the morning and had fun people-watching on the bustling street of restaurants below.

Apart from Ian and Jane, the best thing about this hotel for us was the roof terrace, where we had incredible home-cooked breakfasts in the morning, and in the evening, watched the sun set over the hills with a bottle of wine from the shop around the corner.

10/10. In fact, 11/10. I don't think there are more attentive hosts in the whole of Spain than Ian and Jane.

Big thank you once again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thankyou so much for your review of our little hostal - it is very much appreciated - it is wonderful when our guests arrive for a short stay and then decide to extend because they feel so comfortable. It was a pleasure welcoming you both and hopefully we shall see you again in the future. Best regards Ian & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wow... where to begin with Hostal Miguel. The location is perfect... right in the thick of it;restaurants, beaches, shops... you simply couldn't ask for a better location... A lovely building with spanish style decor, comfy rooms and a gorgeous rooftop terrace to eat your breakfast or have a glass of wine on. My room was a single with a beautiful juliette style balcony overlooking the courtyard... it was great to leave that door open at night and let the sounds of Nerja and the sea air in. I didn't notice too much noise and slept like a baby every night. Although I'm from Chicago.... so I'm used to a much louder city. : )

The owners, Ian and Jane are what make this place truly spectacular. They provided us with everything we could possibly need.... taxi to the airport, restaurant recommendations, beach equipment.... my friend ended up getting a bit sick and they even had some cough medicine on hand!! We mentioned that we were getting up early for a day trip and they put an electric kettle in the room so we could have coffee to drink. It was incredibly thoughtful and we were grateful for the thoughtful service.

I get to Nerja about every other year and can honestly say that this is my new favorite place to stay. What are you waiting for? Book it!!!

Room Tip: Just reach out to the owners about what you might be looking for. They are very accomodating!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coco722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thankyou so much for taking the time to submit a review of our hostal - it is much appreciated. We are delighted your stay was so positive and hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Best regards to you both - Ian & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I love the place and the British owners. Clean and nice. In the center. Nice preakfast on the terrace. And they were so helpful. Highly recommended. ... No more words neede..........................:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a calm room if you like - I did and got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Åke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
euroblade, Owner at Hostal Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thankyou for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards - Ian & Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Exceptionally well situated close to shops, bus station, bars and restaurants serving the finest locally sourced food.
Family run - very friendly and helpful (nothing is too much trouble). A typical Spanish building, very clean and well presented with an added bonus of a roof terrace to enjoy the sun. We loved our holiday and will definitely be going back. Dawn

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angusbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal M, Propietario at Hostal Miguel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thankyou for your kind comments - We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully we may see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Don Peque
Hostal Don Peque
#15 of 37 in Nerja
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Abril
Hostal Abril
#4 of 32 in Nerja
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Marissal
Hostal Marissal
#6 of 32 in Nerja
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal San Miguel
Hostal San Miguel
#14 of 32 in Nerja
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Miguel

Address: Calle Almirante Ferrandiz 31, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: £39 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal Miguel - a nine bedroom, friendly guesthouse built in a typical Andalucían style in the heart of Nerja on the south coast of Spain. Our aim is to provide you with a memorable stay by ensuring you get the most out of both the hostal and the varied activities on offer in Nerja and the surrounding area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Miguel Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing