We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”
Review of Hotel Plaza Cavana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

the hotel is a pleasant, small hotel which makes a good base. The room was small but adequate. Breakfasts were fine but evening half board was limited and somewhat repetitive but okay served in a nice dining room.
Outside there was a tourist bus stop which would take you round the town and up the fairly steep hils. several restaurants nearby and many with very well priced menus, at least in winter when we visited. Loads of shops and the well priced Mercadona supermarket. Plenty of options for interesting trips out. For the more adventurous a walk to the local bus station will offer further options. Flamenco shows and a cinema near to the hotel. Good access to long beach and you can sample some of the bigger hotels by stopping off for a drink. A good choice for winter sun and much cheaper than the Balearics. A large ex pat community means there are plenty of options for the British holidaymaker.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dettorifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Spent 5 days in Nerja and stayed in the Plaza Cavana. Had no issue with this hotel, it is very clean and in a great location: stayed in a superior room and overlooked the square at the front of the hotel: Breakfast was fine and bar outside hotel was great for a last nightcap: If you are dining out try the Pinocchio Restaurant, great food and their osobuco is Yummmy. All in all a good holiday break in Nerja and if I was to return i would stay in the Plaza cavana:

Room Tip: Superior Room at the front of the Hotel for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geogheganamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed for a week in April 2012 at the Plaza Cavana and had a very pleasant stay. We had visited Nerja in 2010 (August) and found the town to be extremely busy and hot! April was idyllic with temperatures of 22 and 23 degrees and a comfortably busy Nerja. The hotel met our needs perfectly - it was centrally located, spotlessly clean, courteous staff and a pleasant ambiance. Our bedroom was totally adequate with everything in working order. There was noise on the street at night, but this is really unavoidable because of the position of the hotel in one of the town's squares. The Plaza Cavana is a three star hotel and it is an accurate grading. The breakfast is the least good aspect of the hotel and the basement dining room at breakfast time less than inviting. That said, however, we found that it was sufficient for us over a period of seven days - cold meats, cheese, a variety of breads, a limited selection of cereals - but, I did feel that two bowls of tinned fruit could have been improved upon in a country where there is a richness of fruit! We used the roof garden quite often in the afternoons and it was never too busy at this time of year. All in all, it was a good experience and we would certainly return to this hotel on another occasion. John

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Square seem to be of a slightly higher standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our 2nd visit to this nice little hotel (39 rooms) in the heart of Nerja which is located opposite the church of El Salvador and the Balcon De Europe with easy access to shops ,restaurants and beaches.Hotel is kept spotless and has a small rooftop pool/terrace surrounded by wooden decking and 13 sun loungers and a number of tables and chairs and pool bar .Staff are very friendly and helpful.Had a superior room at the front which can be noisy during the night but good for people watching before heading out .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bchesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Very clean and friendly hotel. Continental breakfast was just enough to set you up for the day.
Position of the hotel is ideal, plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Booked a couple of rooms in this hotel and was not disappointed. It is right in the centre of the town and only a stroll away from the beach - beware like everything in Nerja it is a climb to more or less go anywhere. The hotel is clean and bright and not noisy but yet it is lively. It has a roof top pool which was never too busy. It has loads of restaurants and bars and shops on its doorstep so all in all it is a really nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel was very good value for money. The room was spacious with a small balcony overlooking the plaza right behind El Salvador Church in the centre of Nerja. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning staff very pleasant. There was free wi-fi but only in certain designated areas (signal was not strong enough in the rooms), The breakfast was a typical cold buffet breakfast (cereal, meats, cheese, fruit, and toast) This hotel is a perfect base for exploring Nerja

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,866 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cavana

Address: Plaza Cavana 10, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £44 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cavana 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Cavana is a small and friendly 3 star hotel boasting a wonderful location in the heart of Nerja , beside the famous Balcony of Europe and the shopping & leisure center of town, nearby the main beaches and coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Cavana Hotel
Plaza Cavana Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing