We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel,great place, real Spain”
Review of Hotel Plaza Cavana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
NORTH EAST
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel,great place, real Spain”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My partner and I spent a week here and it was perfect had a superiour room at the front overlooking the square and it was perfect, the staff are very attentive but not overbearing and the location is great, must explore all the little streets and alleyways they are endless and original Spain, no rowdiness, good people having a good time.

Room Tip: Pay for superiour room and request at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilleykz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    172
    52
    15
    8
See reviews for
61
245
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed in superior room which included breakfast as part of a Jet2 holiday. Room clean with nice bathroom which had been updated. Clean towels everyday none of these notes about saving the planet. We had a room with balcony facing the square. Great location helpful staff. Breakfast was what I would expect from a 3 star Spanish hotel. The only problem with the hotel was the noise. The bars in the square don't quieten down until after midnight but then again could someone explain to me why people fell the need to slam doors in hotels. I would recommend this hotel but remember your ear plugs.

Room Tip: do they have superior rooms not facing the square?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkSeasonedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We spent 4 nights in this lovely hotel. Rooms were lovely and airy and they have a traditional spanish feel, our room facing the square got a bit noisy during the football celebrations!
Due to a personal issue we had to ask for an extra room. We were given a lovely 'loft' room with its own private terrace. it was peaceful and well presented. Staff were really helpful and accomodating, they even let me practice my learner Spanish. The roof top pool and terrace is brilliant! very peaceful and clean.The breakfast lets it down slightly with a pretty poor choice and no chilling facilities for cheese and cold meats(hence the 4 dot rating). We were a bit disspaointed to find the fitness area closed.

Room Tip: Room 303 was delightful and quaint, with its own terrace. Not good if you find stairs a problem as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsyseren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Perfect location, very helpful and charming staff, great roof-top swimming pool and sun terrace. Interesting parking ( only when you are sober!!). Nerja is a lovely town with plenty of fabulous restaurants - can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is a lovely hotel. The breakfast lets it down slightly but the rooms are lovely and airy and they have a traditional spanish feel. Staff are friendly and helpful. the rooftop pool and terrace is brilliant! very peaceful and clean. Highly recommended considering it is a lot cheaper than some hotels that are only around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here the 1st week on june we absolutely loved it :) the pool on the roof was our heaven thats where ya get the tan :). We booked a standard double room, when we arrived we wernt impressed with the room as there was no view at all and a small terrace which looked out into the hallway which was odd, that was room 110. So we went straight to reception to ask for an upgrade to a double superior " which i reccommend booking" she offered us a lovely room , room 203 looking out on the square wit a lovely little balcony, nice sized room which cost us an extra 70e which was absolutely worth it :) the room was spotless and cleaned everyday by the pleasent cleaning ladies :). I would advise not bothering to book the breakfast unless u like sitting in a basement eating cheap ham and cheese, chorizo, bread and cereal for breakfast, its so cheap to hav breakfast elsewhere. we only ate breakfast the 1st day we didnt like it.I also tried the crab salad for lunch here and i was given chopped up fish sticks in maryrose sauce on iceberg lettuce, was awful so food here not so great but accommodation lovely, there is so many nice places to eat in nerja u hav a huge choice! They hav a small indoor pool never used but nice :) the location of this hotel is excellent 1 minute to the centre of everything i will be coming back here :)

Room Tip: make sure you book " double superior" dont bother booking breakfast not worth it its not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenleejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have just spent a long weekend visiting friends in Nerja (again). Nerja is 52km from Malaga and a great place for a beach holiday with children, touring the area or for romantic couples to stroll the narrow streets of the old town. The shops are wonderful with great deals on leather goods and fantastic clothes & shoe shops. If you like shopping-go with an empty case!
Normally we stay at the Perla Marina with our 3 teenagers but as we were 'teenager' free we decided to stay somewhere more central. We chose the 3* Plaza Cavana on a 'late deals' website which is a 2 minute stroll from the Balcon de Europa and on the corner of Calle Grenada. It is a good 20 minute walk from the bus station. Check In is from 12 noon and check out is also 12 noon. We had a late flight home so paid an extra 30E to keep the room till 4pm. We stayed in a superior double room (No 106) with a narrow balcony overlooking the square. The rooms are lovely and very clean especially the bathroom which looked like it had just had a refit. There is a great shower cubicle, hairdryer, separate shaving mirror and toiletries which are replaced if you use them. A comfy double bed, loads of pillows, towels, good storage and air conditioning if needed. Maid service comes in every day and there is also a laundry service. Babysitting can be arranged for 10E an hour rising to 15E an hour after midnight. TV has Spanish digital and BBC 1&2, ITV and Sky News. There is also a free towel service for use on the hotel terrace and beech towels can also be hired. We used the safe which costs 2E per day though the key is on a very heavy key ring. Reception is 24 hr where they can arrange transfers or excursions to Granada, Sevilla, Gibraltar, Morocco as well as Hiking Tours etc. The hotel is on 5 floors and does have lifts as well as stairs. The interior is cool and welcoming and the Granada bar is very lush. Free WiFi, just ask reception for the code which has to be put in while in the Granada. We opted for breakfast (extra charge) which is down in the basement. The room is nice with lots of mirrors and a latex ceiling. Breakfast is self serve buffet style from 8.15 to 10.45 am. All the usual continental faire with cold meats/cheeses, croissants and pastries, cereals, breads, fruit etc, help yourself to tea and coffee. There is a waitress who is polite but unobtrusive. If you want a fry-up, there are café's close by that serve whatever you fancy for a few Euros. We did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on that fairly.
Facilities include an inside pool, also in the basement but you are asked to wear swim caps which can be purchased at reception. The sauna and jacuzzi cost 15E each or 25E if using both but the gym equipment is free. Massages can also be arranged for a fee. We used the roof terrace and pool which is a fantastic space. A decked area for sunbeds and astro turfed area for sitting. (spend a while watching the pigeons drinking from the pool). There is a snack bar which was closed but a vending machine is in situ. The only downside is there are no toilets so you have to go back to your room. The views from up here are spectacular, over the square and across the ocean.
Rooms 102-106 and 202 - 206 overlook the busy square and are great for people watching. You would have to enquire whether family rooms are available.
An underground car park is available, spaces are limited and cost 12E per day.
Out and about we had nice meals at Carabella (Approx' 10E for a 3 course choice from the menu of the day) and Portofino which is quite pricey for the portion sizes. Both of these have terraces overlooking the Balcon and Playa Calahonda. California (steakhouse) and Dragon Inn (Chinese) are also nice for food. There are lots of seafood restaurants and late night pizza outlets-try Juniors on the west side of town near to Tutti Fruiti Square.
The only downside to the Cavana is it is quite noisy, location and room wise. The café's in the square and in front of the hotel shut down late, and revellers can also be heard wandering back at 4 am. Deliveries also start early morning.
In the room we could hear loo's flushing, showers, snoring and telly's on but if you don't mind that for a few days, then the Cavana is definitely for you.
All in all, we loved it and will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and east side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shropshiregal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cavana

Property: Hotel Plaza Cavana
Address: Plaza Cavana 10, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cavana 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Cavana is a small and friendly 3 star hotel boasting a wonderful location in the heart of Nerja , beside the famous Balcony of Europe and the shopping & leisure center of town, nearby the main beaches and coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Cavana Hotel
Plaza Cavana Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing