We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, great rooftop pool”
Review of Hotel Plaza Cavana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We loved it here, the hotel is small, nicely decorated and very clean. It had a real Spanish feel, unlike bigger resorts we've stayed in. It's worth upgrading to a superior room, as it was lovely having a balcony onto the square. The rooftop pool was so lovely, and felt peaceful in a busy town, and we could always get a sunbed late afternoon. We hired a car, and went out in it on a few occasions, but always managed to park for free on the street when we got back. There is free wifi in the reception area. As others have said the breakfast isn't great, I think it would be much better if you could have it on the roof, and if there was more choice such as freshly cut up fruit, rather than tinned. We went to burriana beach for the day which is a lovely walk, but we also liked the beach to the left of the balcon. The balcon has beautiful views and the highlight of the location. We drove to Granada for the day and went to the palace gardens and round the city, and also to Frigilliana, which is a beautiful traditional hilly village, loved getting a horse and cart ride round in the heat.
If you are looking for a relaxing traditional place to stay, with lazy days and lovely restaurant Nerjas a great place to visit!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

It is the location that outshines Cavana! The balcony is the best place we like most and spent the most of our time there day and night listening to the wave. It is so close to everything and just loving walking around the hotel areas. Would definitely want to visit Nerja again and will for sure stay again with Cavana!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Cavana a week later than our visit there last year (24 April - 1 May 2013). Once again, we had a most comfortable and pleasant stay. Our room had been freshly decorated and the bathroom had been refurbished which was a very good beginning to the holiday. When we arrived at 8 pm on the first night (having taken a bus from Malaga to Nerja and made the foolish mistake of not asking if it was a direct service - we stopped everywhere and it took over an hour and a half!), we asked about a meal in the Agape Restaurant of the hotel. The receptionist informed us that it was closed and would not be opening for any meals this year - not even during the Summer. The change in that facility perhaps removed a certain "buzz" from the reception/lounge area. This year, however, the little snack bar on the roof terrace was open at lunch time. On the sunny days, it was difficult to secure a sunbed on the roof as guests left their towels on the beds, went off for lunch and didn't return for a long time, thus preventing others from availing of that service. There would need to be a more definite rule regarding this. The Plaza Cavana really is a very fine little hotel in a wonderful position in the town. The staff are helpful and considerate, but what a shame that there was no improvement in the breakfast! So many people comment on this that the hotel really should take notice. To offer four cereals, two of which were Corn Flakes (with and without sugar!), a poor Muesli and Coco Pops. is truly most uninspiring. The fresh fruit was quite revolting and the boilers containing hot water for tea and coffee were never at boiling point, so the beverages were luke warm. Surely a better effort in this department could be made? Maybe now that the Restaurant has closed, the hotel would consider moving the breakfast upstairs and out of that depressing cellar! Despite this one major flaw, we are very fond of the Plaza Cavana, are prepared to forgive its breakfasts in the light of a good B&B deal in April, and will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

we arrived on Saturday 4th May - for 4 nights. the Hotel is very central and within minutes of the Balcony of Europe - we were given room 206 - which is not for the faint hearted - the bathroom is on the 2nd floor and the bedroom is on the 3rd - with patio doors onto the roof terrace - the staircase within the room is fairly dangerous as it's marble and all a bit precarious - an unusual room to say the least - had to keep the roman blinds closed as anyone on the room terrace can see straight in!!! having said that we got used to it and it meant very easy access to the (unheated) rooftop pool. we had breakfast and like previous reviewers we found it had the basics but was not an enjoyable experience - don't expect too much! the car park is unusual- you drive your car into the lift and go down 2 floors - if you are planning to use the car park please confirm with the Hotel as they have only about 8 spaces down there - also suggest you hire the smallest car for maneovering down there - the hotel charges 10 euros per day for parking which we thought was expensive until we checked with the local car parks which charge 22 euros per day!!

If you want to stay somewhere very clean, central and good value for money stay here - you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: there are 3 rooms on the 3rd floor 301-303 suggest you try and get one of those
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsrnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just returned from staying at the cavana plaza hotel and all i can say is what a wonderful place to stay.The location is fabulous overlooking the plaza[we had a balcony room] staff were extremley friendly and the room was kept spotlessly clean.Everything is within a 5 minute walk from the hotel and i would reccomend a stay here to everybody.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a room with a terrace overlooking the plaza it is worth it.1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed at the Plaza Cavana during April 13 and all I can say is that this is an excellent hotel. The staff were very friendly especially to my 2 year old son, but saying that generally the Spanish are very friendly to children. The room was comfortable with two single beds pushed together and a travel cot for my son. When we booked we did request a 3rd bed but the travel cot was sufficient for him, especially after a busy day chasing the pigeons. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and a bidet to wash you feet after the beach. The towels were changed daily and the sheets every two days. Only downside of the room, is Spanish pillows, but saying that their like that through-out Spain. IN my opinion you can't beat english pillows. Breakfast was in a room downstairs but was decorated nicely, with a great selection of choice. Breads, cheese, hams, fruit etc......
Some have commented on the noise levels, granted being at the front of the building like we were you did hear noise of the traffic if the doors were open but on closing them you couldn't hear anything and so a pleasant night sleep was had by all. The only downside was the noise levels of people returning from their night to their rooms but this was only for a couple of minutes at a time but everyone was just enjoying themselves. The pool on the roof was nice but we didn’t spend a lot of time up there due to the number of steps around the pool and with a 2 year old with no fear wasn't the best. But saying that the beach which was only about a 3minute walk away which proved a safe playground for him to play. We did try to use the indoor swimming pool but unfortunately the heating was off and it was a tad on the cold side. We were told that this was due to an upgrade or something of that nature as to why. But again the beach and sea was very near.
The majority of guest there were English/Irish/Scottish and German and the majority of them were older then 30. We did see a few small children but at this time of year, i suppose you wouldn’t see as many due to being out of school holidays.
All round a great holiday was had and were very happy with the choice of hotel of which we made. Would return again one day, but as with a small child and no evening entertainment would probably go for a package holiday, until he was a little older.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel is nice due to the fact of a balcony looking on to the square. A bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiptoptup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Short break special.
After this appalling, cold, endless east wind we decided that a defrost was in order.Southern Spain is always a good bet at this time of the year so on the basis that it had to be a bit warmer further south we booked up with Travel Republic who proved to be efficient,and reliable.No problems booking with plenty of info on do's and don'ts.Trip Advisor was helpful with the research but I would suggest that some use of common sense would be advisable(more of this later)
Flights were easy with easyjet from Newcastle and with bus transfers to Nerja from Malaga pre-arranged it didn't take us long to travel the 70odd kilometres to our destination (if you can,just take on-board luggage.It certainly speeds up the hassle of getting through airports)
As I mentioned before about using common sense when using the recommendations on Trip Advisor which I am afraid to say we took info at face value without exercising some aforementioned common sense.The hotel was the Plaza Cavana. Lots of positive comments about how good the hotel was,staff all being friendly and how spotless the place is.All of this is true except for the fact that quite a few rooms look out onto the square at the front which,of course,is popular,busy with lots of passing whiny motorbikes and very noisy holiday makers.So now is the bit where I must mention that you should always put your brain in gear when off to foreign climes,especially if you have particular requirements,like a quiet room in a quiet hotel but the hotel receptionist came up trumps and moved us(after two really noisy nights) to a lovely ,quiet room at the back of the hotel.
The weather was good,warm during the day but take a fleece for the evening as you stroll around the Balcon de Europa in the evening at this time of the year(mid April) 
There seemed to be more beggars on the streets these days in Spain I don't know what the answer is but I guess you have to make your own mind up about how you react.I must admit to giving cash(not a lot) to ,what looked like worthy causes ,but it's impossible to tell if its a rip off or not!
There are lots of places to eat,Italian,Mexican,even some Spanish!I would reccomend a visit or two to the Bella Roma Italian restaurant just off the Balcon de Europa Square.The pizza and pasta were first rate and compared favourably with Peppys/ Vincenzos in Heaton(see my other reports) my favourite Italian restaurant
It was an enjoyable few days break and we are just about thawed out waiting for a spell of not freezing weather up in the north East.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for 301/302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,866 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cavana

Address: Plaza Cavana 10, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £48 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cavana 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Cavana is a small and friendly 3 star hotel boasting a wonderful location in the heart of Nerja , beside the famous Balcony of Europe and the shopping & leisure center of town, nearby the main beaches and coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Cavana Hotel
Plaza Cavana Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing