We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and dissapointing”
Review of Hotel Plaza Cavana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from a very disappointing stay at this hotel.

Good points: location right in the hear of the old town on a beautiful plaza.
amazing views from the roof terrace.

Bad points: Rude, uninterested staff. We had room 303 which was on the third floor, lift only went to second floor. We had to haul our suitcases up two flights of stairs. One of which was treacherous we literally had to haul ourselves up using a grab bar which was loose.

Cleaning - hotel was generally grubby. on arrival our room had not been properly cleaned. Hairs on the floor, dirty mirrors, underneath the bed was full of dust and grime. Shower door disgustingly mould at the seal toilet not cleaned properly. Although the room was made up each day it remained in the same state throughout our week.

Pools towels were supplied if a deposit was paid and then a charge of 2 euros per towel if you wanted them washed. Safe was charged at 14 euros per week. No service in hotel at all. No where to buy teas, coffees etc. Lounge area was never open.

pool area again shabby. Pigeons drinking from pool in the mornings. Roof terrace does not open till 10am and closes at 8pm no use if you want to watch the sunset or sunrise.

Communal areas tired and again stairs never properly cleaned. Hand rails never cleaned.

Food: Absolutely awful. Breakfast room in dingy basement. Very poor choice of unidentifiable cereals tinned fruit lukewarm water - no pastries etc.

We paid £750.00 for a weeks stay. This is not a cheap hotel. They offer you nothing but a bed. I asked for help in booking a trip and using the computer staff were surly and totally unhelpful. There are many good places to stay nearby at a much better price. This hotel rating is 3 star which is a complete joke. To be honest I don't think it deserves a rating at all.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else there are much better places nearby
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank proudmary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Cavana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I've been to Nerja 4 times in the last 10 years, though I've always stayed further out in the hills nearer Frigiliana. I love the town so thought I'd go with my best friend for a week of sun in July 2012. The hotel was in a brilliant location, being right in the centre of town and about 20 steps from the Balcon De Europa. It was also a perfect distance to stagger home from 'Tutti Frutti', the square with a selection of bars and clubs (including a karaoke bar!)

The hotel itself was clean and fresh; just what we expected. The room we booked was a Superior Twin Double, which was sizeable and had a lovely bathroom. Overall it was very comfortable and decorated well. The balcony overlooked a side street and was quite small, but that can only be expected in the centre of town. The pool was brilliant and largely quiet, being a great place to relax during the day. The only downside of the pool area was that the bar was permanently closed, with only a vending machine to get refreshments. The breakfast was situated in the basement, which provided basic continental food. Not the best breakfast I've had, but it was sufficient to put us on till lunch.

I would definitely recommend the Tapas bar on the opposite side of the road to the hotel, near the church. It was tasty and cheap, but everyone must know this as it was always very busy! There are many restaurants and bars close by as well, and I particularly love the bar with the Buddha outside and a roof terrace on top (I can't remember the name though). They do great cocktails!

If I was going to return to Nerja (which I probably won't for a while considering I've been so many times!) I would return to this hotel purely based on location. Over all, we had a very pleasant stay and have fond memories from the trip.

Room Tip: The superior double room was spacious and was accompanied by a lovely bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A very tired interio, but the location and rooftop pool area will sell you to this small hotel. The bathroom was nicely updated, but the beds and bedding had seen better days. The little balcanoy was nice except for the speeding moped at all hours of the night (room 210). The breakfast is provided in the basement and wifi was only available in the lobby. Everything was in easy walking distance from the location. Several good restaurants in the area. This is a large expat area and many in the service industry spoke English.
The price for a room for three including breakfast was 102€. Nerja was my daughter's(age 20) favorite place in Spain during our three week driving tour.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Grizzlyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We loved it here, the hotel is small, nicely decorated and very clean. It had a real Spanish feel, unlike bigger resorts we've stayed in. It's worth upgrading to a superior room, as it was lovely having a balcony onto the square. The rooftop pool was so lovely, and felt peaceful in a busy town, and we could always get a sunbed late afternoon. We hired a car, and went out in it on a few occasions, but always managed to park for free on the street when we got back. There is free wifi in the reception area. As others have said the breakfast isn't great, I think it would be much better if you could have it on the roof, and if there was more choice such as freshly cut up fruit, rather than tinned. We went to burriana beach for the day which is a lovely walk, but we also liked the beach to the left of the balcon. The balcon has beautiful views and the highlight of the location. We drove to Granada for the day and went to the palace gardens and round the city, and also to Frigilliana, which is a beautiful traditional hilly village, loved getting a horse and cart ride round in the heat.
If you are looking for a relaxing traditional place to stay, with lazy days and lovely restaurant Nerjas a great place to visit!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It is the location that outshines Cavana! The balcony is the best place we like most and spent the most of our time there day and night listening to the wave. It is so close to everything and just loving walking around the hotel areas. Would definitely want to visit Nerja again and will for sure stay again with Cavana!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at the Plaza Cavana a week later than our visit there last year (24 April - 1 May 2013). Once again, we had a most comfortable and pleasant stay. Our room had been freshly decorated and the bathroom had been refurbished which was a very good beginning to the holiday. When we arrived at 8 pm on the first night (having taken a bus from Malaga to Nerja and made the foolish mistake of not asking if it was a direct service - we stopped everywhere and it took over an hour and a half!), we asked about a meal in the Agape Restaurant of the hotel. The receptionist informed us that it was closed and would not be opening for any meals this year - not even during the Summer. The change in that facility perhaps removed a certain "buzz" from the reception/lounge area. This year, however, the little snack bar on the roof terrace was open at lunch time. On the sunny days, it was difficult to secure a sunbed on the roof as guests left their towels on the beds, went off for lunch and didn't return for a long time, thus preventing others from availing of that service. There would need to be a more definite rule regarding this. The Plaza Cavana really is a very fine little hotel in a wonderful position in the town. The staff are helpful and considerate, but what a shame that there was no improvement in the breakfast! So many people comment on this that the hotel really should take notice. To offer four cereals, two of which were Corn Flakes (with and without sugar!), a poor Muesli and Coco Pops. is truly most uninspiring. The fresh fruit was quite revolting and the boilers containing hot water for tea and coffee were never at boiling point, so the beverages were luke warm. Surely a better effort in this department could be made? Maybe now that the Restaurant has closed, the hotel would consider moving the breakfast upstairs and out of that depressing cellar! Despite this one major flaw, we are very fond of the Plaza Cavana, are prepared to forgive its breakfasts in the light of a good B&B deal in April, and will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

we arrived on Saturday 4th May - for 4 nights. the Hotel is very central and within minutes of the Balcony of Europe - we were given room 206 - which is not for the faint hearted - the bathroom is on the 2nd floor and the bedroom is on the 3rd - with patio doors onto the roof terrace - the staircase within the room is fairly dangerous as it's marble and all a bit precarious - an unusual room to say the least - had to keep the roman blinds closed as anyone on the room terrace can see straight in!!! having said that we got used to it and it meant very easy access to the (unheated) rooftop pool. we had breakfast and like previous reviewers we found it had the basics but was not an enjoyable experience - don't expect too much! the car park is unusual- you drive your car into the lift and go down 2 floors - if you are planning to use the car park please confirm with the Hotel as they have only about 8 spaces down there - also suggest you hire the smallest car for maneovering down there - the hotel charges 10 euros per day for parking which we thought was expensive until we checked with the local car parks which charge 22 euros per day!!

If you want to stay somewhere very clean, central and good value for money stay here - you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: there are 3 rooms on the 3rd floor 301-303 suggest you try and get one of those
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsrnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,811 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cavana

Address: Plaza Cavana 10, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nerja
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £54 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cavana 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Cavana is a small and friendly 3 star hotel boasting a wonderful location in the heart of Nerja , beside the famous Balcony of Europe and the shopping & leisure center of town, nearby the main beaches and coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Cavana Hotel
Plaza Cavana Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing