We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints - beautiful location”
Review of Hotel Plaza Cavana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a 5-day trip to Nerja. This was our first time to the town and to Plaza Cavana. The hotel was in a brilliant location, positioned in a square that was full of civilised places to eat and drink. However, this did not mean it was noisy, there was little to no noise whilst trying to sleep. We didn't try the breakfast as we thought it would be best to venture out and try some different things.
Good points: Friendly staff (Especially after they helped us get our deposits returned from the bike hire company), location, price, standard of the rooms/cleaning.
Bad points: our room did not have a great view, or one at all, room 216.

P.S. This malarkey about sewage in the sea is gibberish, the sea was clear and the snorkelling was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarcusH120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and we were very happy with the excellent location. The room was not huge but clean and comfortable, and we were quite happy with it. The rooftop pool was refreshing in the June heat, very clean and had nice lounge chairs. Nerja is wonderful to walk around and the hotel location was excellent, we never used our rental car while we stayed here. We didn't have breakfast here as we were happy to poke around town in the mornings. We did have a nice drink at the cafe outside in one of the main plaza's (square) of Nerja.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week long trip in Nerja. I have holidayed here for 20 years since I was a baby but this is my first time at Hotel Plaza Cavana. After seeing photos I thought this would be ideal as its in the heart of the centre, exactly where we wanted to be. When we booked our hotel we never upgraded as we didn't see a need to and non of the reviews said that it was vital that we done it. Once we arrived at the hotel our first impressions were really good as the hotel was very clean. Once we checked in and made our way to our room (216) we were very disappointed to find out that we were one of 2 rooms that looked out onto a brick wall!! Literally 2 meters away was a wall it was like a square courtyard with a generator on the ground floor. It may not be a big deal to some people but its nice to have a nice view to wake up too and to sit and watch the world go by as there are no balconies but you can open your French doors and sit by them. My boyfriend went to see if we could upgrade but the hotel was full. We know that it wasn't because we never upgraded that we got the room at many other standard rooms looked out onto the street. We were really annoyed that for the next week that would be our view. The room was really big and the clean as was the bathroom. Breakfast is very basic a cold buffet with a warm plate with some eggs, bacon and sausages that aren't fresh lying out. The pool area is very clean the only downside is that there are 13 sun beds so you have to snap them up quick but you can't expect anything to much as it is a rooftop pool about the size of 3 double beds but just enough to cool off. There is a bedroom on the roof terrace and its the weirdest thing walking round the corner to the pool and there's someone's bedroom that you see into. It wasn't a problem was just very weirdly laid out. I would return as long as we stayed in. a different room as it wasn't a very exciting view. There is wifi on the roof terrace and the reception but it doesn't reach the rooms. There are train the room that have BBC, ITV and Sky news. The walls are also very thin so you have to watch what your doing....lets just say we were kept awake one night from a noisy couple over the corridor ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and avoid 216 and 116.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie_arnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from a very disappointing stay at this hotel.

Good points: location right in the hear of the old town on a beautiful plaza.
amazing views from the roof terrace.

Bad points: Rude, uninterested staff. We had room 303 which was on the third floor, lift only went to second floor. We had to haul our suitcases up two flights of stairs. One of which was treacherous we literally had to haul ourselves up using a grab bar which was loose.

Cleaning - hotel was generally grubby. on arrival our room had not been properly cleaned. Hairs on the floor, dirty mirrors, underneath the bed was full of dust and grime. Shower door disgustingly mould at the seal toilet not cleaned properly. Although the room was made up each day it remained in the same state throughout our week.

Pools towels were supplied if a deposit was paid and then a charge of 2 euros per towel if you wanted them washed. Safe was charged at 14 euros per week. No service in hotel at all. No where to buy teas, coffees etc. Lounge area was never open.

pool area again shabby. Pigeons drinking from pool in the mornings. Roof terrace does not open till 10am and closes at 8pm no use if you want to watch the sunset or sunrise.

Communal areas tired and again stairs never properly cleaned. Hand rails never cleaned.

Food: Absolutely awful. Breakfast room in dingy basement. Very poor choice of unidentifiable cereals tinned fruit lukewarm water - no pastries etc.

We paid £750.00 for a weeks stay. This is not a cheap hotel. They offer you nothing but a bed. I asked for help in booking a trip and using the computer staff were surly and totally unhelpful. There are many good places to stay nearby at a much better price. This hotel rating is 3 star which is a complete joke. To be honest I don't think it deserves a rating at all.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else there are much better places nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank proudmary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I've been to Nerja 4 times in the last 10 years, though I've always stayed further out in the hills nearer Frigiliana. I love the town so thought I'd go with my best friend for a week of sun in July 2012. The hotel was in a brilliant location, being right in the centre of town and about 20 steps from the Balcon De Europa. It was also a perfect distance to stagger home from 'Tutti Frutti', the square with a selection of bars and clubs (including a karaoke bar!)

The hotel itself was clean and fresh; just what we expected. The room we booked was a Superior Twin Double, which was sizeable and had a lovely bathroom. Overall it was very comfortable and decorated well. The balcony overlooked a side street and was quite small, but that can only be expected in the centre of town. The pool was brilliant and largely quiet, being a great place to relax during the day. The only downside of the pool area was that the bar was permanently closed, with only a vending machine to get refreshments. The breakfast was situated in the basement, which provided basic continental food. Not the best breakfast I've had, but it was sufficient to put us on till lunch.

I would definitely recommend the Tapas bar on the opposite side of the road to the hotel, near the church. It was tasty and cheap, but everyone must know this as it was always very busy! There are many restaurants and bars close by as well, and I particularly love the bar with the Buddha outside and a roof terrace on top (I can't remember the name though). They do great cocktails!

If I was going to return to Nerja (which I probably won't for a while considering I've been so many times!) I would return to this hotel purely based on location. Over all, we had a very pleasant stay and have fond memories from the trip.

Room Tip: The superior double room was spacious and was accompanied by a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A very tired interio, but the location and rooftop pool area will sell you to this small hotel. The bathroom was nicely updated, but the beds and bedding had seen better days. The little balcanoy was nice except for the speeding moped at all hours of the night (room 210). The breakfast is provided in the basement and wifi was only available in the lobby. Everything was in easy walking distance from the location. Several good restaurants in the area. This is a large expat area and many in the service industry spoke English.
The price for a room for three including breakfast was 102€. Nerja was my daughter's(age 20) favorite place in Spain during our three week driving tour.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Grizzlyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We loved it here, the hotel is small, nicely decorated and very clean. It had a real Spanish feel, unlike bigger resorts we've stayed in. It's worth upgrading to a superior room, as it was lovely having a balcony onto the square. The rooftop pool was so lovely, and felt peaceful in a busy town, and we could always get a sunbed late afternoon. We hired a car, and went out in it on a few occasions, but always managed to park for free on the street when we got back. There is free wifi in the reception area. As others have said the breakfast isn't great, I think it would be much better if you could have it on the roof, and if there was more choice such as freshly cut up fruit, rather than tinned. We went to burriana beach for the day which is a lovely walk, but we also liked the beach to the left of the balcon. The balcon has beautiful views and the highlight of the location. We drove to Granada for the day and went to the palace gardens and round the city, and also to Frigilliana, which is a beautiful traditional hilly village, loved getting a horse and cart ride round in the heat.
If you are looking for a relaxing traditional place to stay, with lazy days and lovely restaurant Nerjas a great place to visit!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Cavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Cavana

Address: Plaza Cavana 10, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nerja
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £48 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Cavana 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Cavana is a small and friendly 3 star hotel boasting a wonderful location in the heart of Nerja , beside the famous Balcony of Europe and the shopping & leisure center of town, nearby the main beaches and coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Cavana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Cavana Hotel
Plaza Cavana Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing