We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing with nothing bad to say.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“relaxing with nothing bad to say.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

me and my boyfriend .around the 50 years group.with no children.we found the accomadation bigger and better than expected.very close to the sea.exellent value.allinclusive..food lovely.varied..drink served to you.at lunch and dinner..bar opened from 1030 til midnight.we went in november.weather still warm.staff friendly.a good hotel for relaxation,and quietness.ideal for older people ..

Room Tip: we stayed in room 345.with a sea view and a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    430
    165
    64
    31
See reviews for
446
435
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We booked this holiday really last minute (booked on the Thursday arrived on the Monday) and after reading the reviews I was expecting an average cheap tacky hotel so when we arrived we were so pleasantly surprised!

I kept reading how this should be classed as a 3* but I have stayed in a 3* in italy and trust me it's a star above that hotel! If you compare a 4* to a Greek or Turkish 4* it will be different!

We went off peak and so nothing was crowded, unless you have children why would you go during peak season then complain the bar and restaurant is crowded!

The location of the hotel is perfect and on the beach, we had an apartment room and it was huge, clean and a had balcony looking over the pool. I'm fussy about room decor and thankfully there were no hideous blue carpets and yellow and orange curtains that seem typical for big hotel complexes, very neutral but not clinical, the shower is powerful even though at first glance it doesn't look like it!

Both me and my partner are in the restaurant trade and we thoroughly enjoyed the food, if you're a typical English person who just likes meat and boiled veg with a side of chips then you won't enjoy the food, it's grilled fish (no not cod sorry) salads, pastas, rice dishes, mussels, paella, breads, cold meats, cheeses, olives, chicken etc very spanish and summery and the hot food section changes every meal time, everyday

We paid a really good price for all inclusive which is probably why we're so happy about this place, I would advise to go out of peak for sure as there were no children and was quiet for a big hotel, we went in November still 28C!
If you're able bodied it's a nice walk into the town of Nerja or a €1 for the bus, we also went to the market which is on Tuesdays by bus for €2 and we walked back stopping into town and balcony europea on the way, it wasn't far at all (for 24 yearolds anyway)

We had one really nice waiter Alberto who always would give you a smile and say hello even if he was busy, the bartenders weren't always smiley but after observing them, they did do 12+ hour shifts with moany british who expect cocktails to be free* so I'm not surprised they're not always smiley and if you make the effort they warm to you, the rest of the staff were very good as well.
*the cocktails are like €4 and come in massive glasses with big measures- in England you pay £7-£12 for 50ml of alcohol in a cocktail in a tiny glass!

We spoke to a few older people who were on their 5th-7th visit! And I would definitely return again,
If you're a moaner it's probably best to stay at home!




  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roxy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is my 4th time visiting Nerja and my 3rd at the Marinas de Nerja. This is a delightful hotel that's probably best visited out of season as I can imaging during the busy periods it could be slightly overcrowded.

This is certainly not a 4* hotel, probably a good 3*. The rooms definitely need updating (There was probably some updating being done while we were there) but are spotlessly clean as was the hotel as a whole.

The food was plentiful and varied and cooked to a very good standard. It's not to the same standard as you will find in 4* hotels in Greece or Turkey but we could not complain the 5 days we were there. We stayed A.I. and enjoyed every meal.

The reception staff and cleaning team were all very friendly as were the waiters and waitresses, however the bar staff could be a little hit and miss, at times you were never quite sure if they were pleased to be serving you or not. We found if you made an effort to speak with them, especially trying a little Spanish, they seemed to respond well.

I think the main thing that draws us back to this hotel is the location. The hotel sits right on the beach. The sun beds can be located around the pool area, the grass area or can be pulled up onto the sand. Any location is not to far away from your room, pool bar, reception, spa or restaurant.

Buses frequently take you the five or ten minutes journey into unmissable Nerja town. The town has to be visited day or night for its bars, restaurants, shops and Balcon De Europa.

Would we go back? Definitely! The main thing to remember is don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a pool view facing west as these will get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank distantshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have just stayed here for two weeks all inclusive. The coach has always stopped to drop people off here and we said one day we would try it and this October we did just that.
It is set in an ideal place, practically on the beach with a grass area for sunbathing and this is one of very few hotels which have enough sunbeds and plenty of space to put them.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a good view over the pool and sea.
The staff were friendly and attentive, what more can I say?
The food was ok but nothing to write home about although they did a good breakfast.
There's plenty of local buses that run pass the hotel to take you into Nerja or Torrox and other places.
There were plenty of children there [ school holidays ] and it can get very noisy especially if there's a wedding on. The kids were not kept under control in the bar area and the wedding noise went on through the night. But we would go back again but not in school holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Right by generous beach with lot's of space. Friendly attidtude. Slow pace. Bufffet food, only option for dinner, but it was ok. A couple of resturants close by. We tried Avalon which was very good. 15 minutes walk to Nerja along the beach made good mornig promenades. Would be happy to return. Nerja was nice/traditional and the caves worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magnus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 5 nights here in late October on a half board basis, having booked it directly with the hotel only a couple of weeks beforehand. Our daughter is Coeliac and our research on Trip Advisor helped us to choose this hotel. The hot food is cooked on display, and the Chefs went out of their way to ensure that a wide choice of gluten free food was available, even down to providing fresh oil to cook chips and putting new gloves on to handle her food. An excellent range of quality food was always there for the rest of us. We preferred to sit in the outside part of the restaurant, as we found it much more relaxing because the inside section was very busy and noisy.

The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean, and all the staff very helpful. The hotel is located right on the beach, separated by a grassed area with sunbeds. The only downside is the 20 minute walk into the town, although during the day an hourly bus runs past the hotel (1 euro) and a taxi ride for 7 euros between a group isn't that expensive.

Entertainment was provided every evening in the large bar, and we didn't think that the drinks were overly expensive, especially given the measures that were served.

On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would certainly return for a similar break.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with sea view. We had a 2 bedroom suite (Room 301) a fantastic view overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaymart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here for one night, having spent 2 nights up in the mountains in Sierra Nevada and 2 nights at a city centre hotel in Granada. An Irish couple we'd chatted to at the Alhambra had mentioned this hotel and recommended it. We fancied some sea to finish off our trip so we called in on spec and asked if they had a room for the one night. Having been travelling independently we were a little nervous at heading for somewhere so obviously geared up to serve the package tour market. We need not have worried. The staff were all extremely attentive and helpful - offering us a suite overlooking the sea, complete with lounge, diner and balcony with half board for a very competitive price. The rooms were all scrupulously clean and there were plenty of sun loungers both around the pool and on the grassed area leading down to the beach (whether getting a sun lounger would be so easy during the high season is hard to say!). The food was very good indeed. The dinner buffet had the usual salads and cold cuts with a carvery serving roast pork, veal and freshly prepared pasta and pizzas. The breakfast buffet was even better with a massive selection (presumably because the hotel was catering for British, Irish, French, Spanish and German guests in apparently equal numbers). You could have freshly cooked eggs and bacon or feast on croissant and cheeses and cold meats. The one slightly disappointing thing was the coffee which was served out of a tired looking machine, but it was still drinkable. The evening entertainment was fine and offered a good way to unwind at the end of the day. The weather was excellent and we spent a happy afternoon and then a happy morning relaxing on the sun chairs down by the beach.
You might want to note that - as noted in previous reviews - the average age of the guests is indeed 65+. Still that's no bad thing.
Overall a calm and relaxing end to our trip.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view and preferably a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GilbernInvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.7 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.0 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel

Property: Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Nacional 340 | Km 289,5, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#10 Family Hotel in Nerja
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marinas de Nerja Beach & Spa Aparthotel, situated on the Nerja beachfront. This is a legendary town in the province of Malaga, famous for its popular Balcon de Europa and its spectacular Caves. The complex is just two kilometres away from the town centre and is comprised of six floors with a total of 216 rooms. Furthermore, the aparthotel boasts two outdoor swimming pools (one for adults and one for children), large garden areas with sunbeds and direct access to the beach. The complex's facilities are further complimented by its main restaurant, bar, gymnasium, spa centre, hairdresser's and shop. Guests can also enjoy WiFi in all of its rooms. Marinas de Nerja is an unbeatable destination for a family holiday, not only for its apartments' high occupancy limits, but also for its facilities which have been designed for adults and children alike. This is in addition to our comprehensive All Inclusive package. Not only does the complex boast the Beach Club (open during summer), it also has a Mini Club with a games area, and day and night time entertainment available during high season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach Hotel Nerja
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach And Spa
Aparthotel Marinas Nerja
Marinas De Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing