We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another honest , impartial review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“another honest , impartial review”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

As I've said before reviews can be influenced on how much the holiday cost , your own expectations and standard of living at home.

This holiday was for 11 nights from Leeds/Bradford Jet 2 £3500 half board in school holidays 4 people , Aug 2014

Hotel :
Sited on the main road into Nerja and is 2.7km out of the town centre (consistently 7 euros in taxi). It's walkable into to town but will take a good 30 minutes. The nearest large supermarket (SOL) is just as you enter the town on the main road and is approx 2km from the hotel. My son and I walked it to get provisions a couple of times. If you are not all inclusive , good idea to buy drinks , snacks etc from SOL for your fridge in the room.
If you are expecting newish furniture and decoration you may be dissapointed. It is not kept to the standard you would keep your own house. Worn paint work , chipped on furniture etc , plaster cracked and in parts missing. It is well worn and in my experience a typical family holiday hotel. However bedding was nice crisp and fresh.

Beach : Grey / Brown sand and stones , not the best

Eating : Food is average basic stuff although perfectly ok. Breakfast orange juice is not fresh orange juice , seems to be a mix of juice with very sweet syrup. But still drinkable. The evening dining experience is more pleasant than breakfast.
Having said all of the above this hotel appears to be the only one for miles around (including Nerja) itself which is on the beach. Taking everything into account it's not a bad hotel for a family holiday , but don't expect 4 star. It's 3 star. Drinks at the poolside bar at 2 euro's half lager etc. Soft drinks the same. Toastie snacks and hot dogs are 3.50.

Nerja : Although we paid half board we only had 3 evening meals there. A much better option is to jump in a taxi and head for the town centre. A vast array of restaurants for all pockets , taverna's etc etc. If you don't fancy typical Spanish fare there lots of other great places , Italian , Chinese etc.
We visited Bens Asian Restaurant several times (Chinese , Thai , Japanese) House Wine at 7.95 euro a bottle (better qual than the Italian next door who charge 11 euro a bottle) and after several soft drinks and bottles of wine later + starters and mains for 4 people a bill of 80 euro's is cheap (food was great quality). Expect to pay between 70 and 110 euro's for 4 people in the restaurants although you can eat for less if you are on a budget.
Nerja Town is a lovely place and you should definately spend several nights there.
Burriana Beach is where it's happening , Bus (1 euro each) is possible but unless you know where you are going or speak Spanish.. get a taxi ,10 euro. Lot less hassle no walking and you get dropped off right next to the beach. Quite easy to jump in a taxi for the journey back as taxi's are dropping off frequently. Jet Ski's , Paragliding are there , sunbeds cost 3.50 a day.
Nice Restaurants and Bars along the side of the beach ideal for lunch after sunbathing.

Tips : Don't go all inclusive. Go into Town for evening meal. Visit Balcon de Europa in Town , Use taxi's if not on a budget you get door to door no hassle. Best beach is Burriana.
Buses seem to be two services each one seems to run once an hour from the road outside the hotel.
Rooms : We found ground floor facing pool convenient easy access to beach and pool and for drinks during day. Not as private as higher up rooms that have sea view. Downside of higher rooms you have to use lifts etc so can't keep popping in and out during the day.
Very cheap and decent quality shoe and handbag shops in Town. 'Designer' bag from Mr Looky will cost 20 euro.
We did have a great holiday !

Room Tip: Ground Floor convenient for pool and beach access Higher up better for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank newcondition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    437
    169
    65
    31
See reviews for
454
448
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple on all inclusive basis for a week , everything about the hotel was great . Ask for room facing sea pool . The staff at pool bar were not quick and u were left waiting for drinks . The food is nice but very repetitive . The hotel is on a beach so you are not near the resort centre which is about 7 euro in taxi . All in all I would definitely stay again but on self catering basis . There was entertainment on every night in the hotel for families and the bar closes at bang on 12 .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rmreply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after 10 nights . We were 2 adults , 3 children under 8.
now the Hotel itself is lovely very clean, great service from staff, most of whom spoke English . rooms are a little dated but spacious and clean.
we went Full board which was fine however after eating 3 meals in the same restaurant does start to get a little dull despite the fact the food was varied and good.
Now the only down side is the location , there is nothing there other then the hotel , you can walk 20 mins along the beach to nerja - pretty hardwork with a pram though. There is the bus but this runs hourly and taxi is option but with a family of 5 it means 2 taxis.
The seafront location is nice , but the beach is very rocky and not the nicest looking . But due to the sea front location during our 10 days we had 3 of them in August with very high winds so high pool bar AND Beach bar had to close leaving only indoor restaurant to have a drink which we had breakfast, lunch and dinner, as BAR 3 is only open in winter . so maybe worth
checking wind speed . Also again due to sea front location we had 4 days of thick fog- causing major humidity . o again check weather , apparently the hotel staff said heavy winds and thick fog are common around summer months.

Room Tip: The bar is expensive , buy from the small supermarket located on ground floor and just get glass fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MOONRAKER1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas, isle of man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed and attended a wedding at the Marinas de Nerja hotel in July - the hotel itself is lovely - clean - well equipped and great staff

The wedding was superb - lovely function room and the food was very good - and it was all really well organised

We would stay there again as as hotel guests without a wedding and would recommend it to friends and family

We felt totally safe and didnt worry about the patio doors being open while we were outside

The town itself is beautiful only a few minutes ride in a taxi at 7 euros or on the bus for 1 euro

Room Tip: we were in a ground floor apartment away from the pool which was nice and quiet, however it was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank evaDouglas_IsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Family of 5 of us, kids aged 7, 10 and 12 - stayed here last week of July 2014 and we had a great time. Highlights are that the location being right on the beach gives it a great aspect, nice to hear the waves rolling in. The hotel is well setup, rooms a spacious, clean and well setup. We went all inclusive and the food was always good, we were there for a week so might have gone a bit stir crazy in the second week, but we always found something for us all to enjoy every time we went.

Animation team work really hard and are always friendly. The only thing I found strange w3as that for the evening entertainment, the mini-disco was at 8 and the main show didn't sta\rt until 10, so there was an hour and a half of nothing, where they could have done some games, bingo or anything really but there was a lot of waiting around and when the show did come on there were not enough chairs and tables to accommodate everyone.

The pool bar staff are hit and miss, some are really good but others avoid actually serving people, I don't know whether this is hotel policy to cut costs or whether the staff are just not up to it, but be prepared to wait for service at the pool bar!

These are minor niggles to what was an excellent holiday - not too many brits which was good, nice blend of people from different countries, great family atmosphere and excellent facilities. We booked direct with the hotel and this seemed to be the best deal

Room Tip: try to get in the block to the left of reception rather than the one the donkey sanctuary side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186338FamilyOf5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Recently stayed at the Marinas de Nerja and had family wedding reception there, for over 150 guests. Everyone had a fantastic stay at the Hotel and enjoyed all the facilities they had to offer. The rooms are spotlessly clean and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The reception was very well organised and ran very smoothly. The hotel is a little way outside Nerja but easily accessible by walking or bus or taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vickytony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

peaceful atmosphere...
the service was friendly and the rooms were clean.
food could have been more varied


looking for a party? go somewhere else :)

the location is a bit distant. i think you should rent a car

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank antti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.8 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
941 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#11 of 38 in Nerja
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 38 in Nerja
1,644 reviews
1.0 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
268 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 38 in Nerja
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel

Property: Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Nacional 340 | Km 289,5, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#10 Family Hotel in Nerja
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront located in Nerja, one of the most legendary town in the province of Malaga, famous for its popular Balcon de Europa and its spectacular Caves. The complex is just two kilometres away from the town centre and is comprised of six floors with a total of 216 rooms. Furthermore, the hotel boasts two outdoor swimming pools (one for adults and one for children), large garden areas with sunbeds and direct access to the beach. The complex's facilities are further complimented by its main restaurant, bar, gymnasium, spa centre, hairdresser's and shop. Guests can also enjoy WiFi in all the hotel. Marinas de Nerja is an unbeatable destination for a family holiday, not only for its apartments' high occupancy limits, but also for its facilities which have been designed for adults and children alike. This is in addition to our comprehensive All Inclusive package. Not only does the complex boast the Beach Club (open during summer), it also has a Mini Club with a games area, and day and night time entertainment available during high season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach Hotel Nerja
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach And Spa
Aparthotel Marinas Nerja
Marinas De Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing