We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel but a little too far from Nerja”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A good hotel but a little too far from Nerja”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This is a large modern hotel built on the beach and just outside the attractive small town of Nerja. The design of the building is such that all rooms face seawards and towards the swimming pools outside. This can be quite noisy during the day and in the evenings when there is nightly entertainment, although this does end before 11.30

The rooms, or should I say appartments are pleasant and spacious. The kitchen just adequately equipped but with microwave, fridge and two ring hob but could have done with a sharp knife for example. Still good enough unless you are planning a lot of cooking.

The breakfast was excellent with loads of choice, good quality and they even managed to fry the bacon properly and have hot fried eggs!! The best we ate in a month touring round Spain.

The pool area is well maintained and there are umbrellas on the amazingly soft and springy grass which leads down to the beach, though more serious shade in the form of palm trees was premium. When we were there at the beginning of the season there were a lot of families with young children.

My main disappointment was the beach which was somewhat grey and gritty and with no shade whatosoever. Very few people used this beach or swam in the sea so the pool area could get a little crowded.

The reception staff were a mixed bunch, some quite pleasant and helpful, some actually quite rude,- shouting at you from the back room is not really polite. In addition when our air conditioning ceased to function we were not given accurate information and this led us to waste a morning and suffer a certain amount of anxiety. Actually an apology about this would not have been out of order but was not forthcoming.

Otherwise each night there was some sort of entertainment, there were daily activities for children and also for adults.

I think the main problem with this hotel could be its location. It is a good 40 minute walk from Nerja either along the main road or along the edge of the beach. Neither of these walks is particularly interesting or shaded and the beach edge is used by cars too so you end up being covered in grit and dust.

Fortunately we had a car to get to town in the evening though I would have preferred a short stroll. Without one you could be a bit stuck. Nerja itself is a pleasant enough town though the shopping is basically tat and there didn't seem to be a particularly good supermarket either. There are plenty of restaurants though rather too many Italian and English owned places. Still it was possible to find plenty of Spanish places too.

I find it quite difficult to review this hotel as the hotel itself is good but personally I would go for a hotel nearer to town and something a little quieter. It all depends on what you want from a resort

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkuz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    453
    172
    66
    32
See reviews for
469
464
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

very nice big rooms, super clean, quite, romantic beach, "behind the corner" of Nerja, an own car is not necessary, good connections, just a short busride to the town center, the pictures published on different websites promise what you'll get, excellent food, small kitchen corner in each room, perfect stay for any type of vacation

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rucksackmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I really loved this hotel although we went during a relatively quite time the hotel was big airy bright and spacious. The pool area was well kept and not crammed with sunbeds. Our room was more than that, it was a two bed corner apartment with a fine kitchen dining area and sitting area.
we went half board and was well worth it, the buffets were amazing with all tastes catered for. As the hotel is a bit out from the town it was handy to have breakfast and lunch there. We arrived late on our first night and the staff had left a cold meat platter and salad in our room. The hotel was spotless.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Very nice hotel with lovely outdoor pool(s) with sea view.
The buffets were fantastic with a lot of different food to choose from.
The SPA was a bit dissapointing though. The staff barely spoke or understood english and the treatments were just "ok".
Due to paper thin walls it was a very noisy hotel which made it hard to sleep at times.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Wife and I stayed here for a week mid-May and enjoyed it but with some reservations. We had flown to Malaga from Newcastle with Thomson Airways and my suitcase had been raided en route with stuff taken from an outside pocket. As we are 60s we went on a SAGA package with whom we have travelled before. This hotel clearly values the SAGA connection during the quieter cooler months as there is a small separate lounge for SAGA clients use and a few discounted services. We were on an all inclusive basis so many drinks etc. were free. The hotel appears to be quite new and there is some English spoken at Reception. During the week the hotel was quieter and obviously not fully booked, but is popular with locals at the weekends. Our room was great and consisted of a living/dining area with small kitchen and a new wide screen tv was installed during our stay; sliding doors led onto a large balcony. Other sliding doors to the bedroom and en suite bathroom. All cleaned and maintained daily to a high standard. Plentiful storage space and a small safe inside a wardrobe but you had to pay €12 to hire the key. We found the bed to be too firm and both of us had sore backs. The pillow was very hard.
There was however a cross-section of age groups staying and not dominated by the elderly as some postings might suggest. I agree that the evening entertainment in the bar was generally pathetic with the exception of the Flamenco dancing put on by the restaurant staff. There was a magician one evening and on several evenings the resident singer Tony Lee who doubles as a local tour guide. You hear the same songs every evening and the volume of the music was much too high to permit relaxed conversation at the tables.
There were wedding receptions both weekends we were there in a separate wing. At times the hotel was noisy with children running around but they were generally well behaved in the dining room. We agree with a previous poster that the dining room is noisy with a ‘canteen’ feel to it. This is because you help yourselves to a buffet and strategically placed staff quickly clear your table and get drinks for you (not breakfast), so there is lots of moving around. The food was good if you like salads and fruit as we do and the long central buffet was various cold varieties. Lovely bread and rolls. Two DIY toasters for breakfast. At a separate hot buffet, a chef prepares a fresh supply of the main dish although there is usually a wide choice of alternatives. Often the food is only tepid. Contrary to a previous poster, don’t go to breakfast too early. We had an early breakfast one day due to a long excursion to Granada. What was left of the scrambled egg was congealed and cold, the streaky bacon was either burnt or semi-cooked, the juice machine hadn’t woken up, neither had the hot water machine for a cup of tea! I was told by a waitress to take my cup of cold tea to a microwave machine at the other end of the room. Not acceptable!! As more people came in to breakfast, stocks of cooked food were replenished. If you like your cooked breakfasts, they don’t do bacon like we have at home. It is the very fatty streaky sort.
The hotel pool area leads to a grassy garden area with shady trees and umbrellas which in turn leads straight onto the grey shingle type beach. This pseudo sand is imported and was a disappointment. Wear trainers to protect your feet.
There is a small shop and separate gym/spa and health and beauty facilities for ladies which is not owned by the hotel but presumably by a franchise. It is expensive although SAGA guests received a discount on certain weekdays. Use of the gym was free but there were only 3 machines which I used once. A hotel of this class really ought to provide the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi for no extra cost. If I hadn’t had the discount I wouldn’t have used it; having said that it was great as I really appreciate these relaxing facilities.
The hotel is situated about 2 km out of Nerja town and in very hot weather is a long walk. Be careful of uneven pavements and unexpected holes or missing paving stones especially near the bus stop outside the hotel. There is a town shuttle bus operating hourly until lunchtime; after the siesta period it resumes late afternoon. This is a real nuisance; if you just miss one there is an hour to wait for the next. The hotel ought to provide a minibus service every half hour. There are also public buses passing every hour from Malaga but are always late or never arrive so are unreliable. We had several frustrating waits.
Nerja is an attractive, small town with many cafes particularly around the Town Hall square and the Balcon de Europa. There are some good, small souvenir shops and a few selling bargain leather items. There is apparently a high proportion of ex-pats living in the area. We made a short bus journey up to the small very quaint village of Frigiliana and found that we had gone on market day (Thursday morning only). Very colourful and good bargains including local hand painted pottery.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just back from a pleasant week here. Taxi fare from malaga airport is 90 euros or 70 if you get the hotel to book it. Either way this is about the same as the cost (return trip) of a hire car, and since the hotel is a good mile out of Nerja and further still to the best beaches and restaurants, I'd highly recommend one. It's an easy 45 min drive along the motorway - stop at Lidl just before you arrive and stock up with water etc. There is a new motorway up to Granada (1 hour) with spectacular scenery as you climb though the Sierra Nevada mountains to the Alhambra Palace (need to book in advance for the palace) - if you turn up on the day you'll probably only get into the gardens, which are superb with fantastic views. The air is crisp and cool as you are almost at the snow line.
Nerja is much bigger and more urban than I'd imagined, so if you just want to swim , sunbathe, read books and chill out this could be the place - but it is popular with families, so the kids may put paid to that. In early May the clientelle was a mixture of Saga groups and couples with toddlers, some of whom whined and screamed through dinner. Forget the idyllic picture of the restaurant in the hotel photos, it has poor accoustics which accentuate the clattering of plate clearing, conversation and kids which makes it one of the least relaxing places I have ever had dinner. Top tip, go for breakfast at 7.30 and dinner at 20.30, or endure the din. The salad bar was average and virtually the same every night, the main courses were disappointing if your palate extends beyond a pub-chain menu, apart from the pasta and sauces which were excellent. The 'entertainment' was the most pathetic I have ever encountered. The rooms were excellent - a one bedroomed apartment if you have small children, go for the two bed if your children are teenagers - same price. The beds were comfy, bathrooms immaculate with powerful showers, and there was everything needed if you wanted to do some self catering. Good sized balconies too, almost all with side sea-view. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and bar, and also on the lawns, dotted with palm trees which run down to the sea, but then the hotel did seem only half full. The beach shelves steeply and is shingle, so take trainers if you plan to walk far as it's not an easy surface to walk on. There is a pavement alongside the coast road all the way to Nerja. Nowhere really to go for a stroll in the evenings, browsing the shops or taking a coffee - you're a bit marooned. Think I've gone off these big hotels with large restaurants, it's smaller B&Bs for me from now on, with a choice of restaurants every night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed at hotel first week of april and was accompanied by my husband, 7yr old and 2yr old children. Really impressed by setting, great location and thought the design of the hotel complimented this. We stayed self catering in a one bedroomed apartment. Positives for our family were that it was half empty and we enjoyed the fairly quiet atmosphere, sea view was very impressive. Room space ok but all four of us ended up sleeping in double bed which was very comfortable as this was quite spacious. Limited cooking utensils and space to cook. Cleaners in every day which was excellent. Mini club available to children and free of charge, so suited our needs.
Given the time of year, pool still very cold so children were a bit disappointed with this (but nothing to do with hotel). Hotel entertainment bit limited and to be honest I think Tony Lee (entertainer) should really consider retiring as i think that there was a time and place for this sort of act and it certainly isnt this era. Spoke to others who had young families and most were very happy with stay and would return. I would definitely return to ths hotel probably a bit later in the year either May or September when its slilghtly warmer but still not high season

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicecormac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
759 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 37 in Nerja
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel

Property: Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Address: Ctra Nacional 340 | Km 289,5, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nerja
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#10 Family Hotel in Nerja
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront located in Nerja, one of the most legendary town in the province of Malaga, famous for its popular Balcon de Europa and its spectacular Caves. The complex is just two kilometres away from the town centre and is comprised of six floors with a total of 216 rooms. Furthermore, the hotel boasts two outdoor swimming pools (one for adults and one for children), large garden areas with sunbeds and direct access to the beach. The complex's facilities are further complimented by its main restaurant, bar, gymnasium, spa centre, hairdresser's and shop. Guests can also enjoy WiFi in all the hotel. Marinas de Nerja is an unbeatable destination for a family holiday, not only for its apartments' high occupancy limits, but also for its facilities which have been designed for adults and children alike. This is in addition to our comprehensive All Inclusive package. Not only does the complex boast the Beach Club (open during summer), it also has a Mini Club with a games area, and day and night time entertainment available during high season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach Hotel Nerja
Marinas De Nerja Aparthotel Beach And Spa
Aparthotel Marinas Nerja
Marinas De Nerja Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing