We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming spanish casa on the coast”
Review of Casa Charlotte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nerja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Charlotte
Ranked #11 of 33 Nerja B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Charlotte for 2 weeks in Feb. You can spot this delightful place a street away....it has the most beautiful flowers on all three levels and is very inviting. We stayed in the main floor apartment which was roomy and had all the conveniences of home.
We have never slept in more comfortable beds in all of our European travels.

What makes this casa so wonderful ? The hosts Nuttee and Frans will meet you, answer all your questions and make you feel like part of their family. The location could not be better, just a few minutes away from the Balcon de Europa and all the small boutiques, cafes and kiosks along the way. I stopped at a cafe every day and sat sipping on some hot chocolate with the Mediterranean surrounding me and encircled by mountains.......a rare treat to someone from the prairies of Manitoba. If you get a chance , stop for the best Indian food at Haveli's and Spanish food at Pinocchio's. Definitely would return.
Rose Giesbrecht, Manitoba, Canada

Room Tip: The largest room is the main floor level as it is also the handicapped apartment available .Noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgiesbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We arrived home only today from the amazing Casa Charlotte and its wonderful owners, Frans and Nuttee ...

... Never before have we experienced such sincerity and generosity of spirit anywhere we've stayed; it really felt as if Frans and Nuttee had vacated their own house and allowed us to stay, it was a true 'home from home' in every sense but one where their guests are treated like VIP's!

Frans and Nuttee are amazingly attentive hosts - lovely, very knowlegable of Nerja and such amusing company - nothing was too much trouble, their only wish was for us to have exactly what we have had ... an amazing holiday experience! We're already planning to return in Spring next year, something we would never have contemplated doing anywhere else and we can't wait!

Not to forget Nerja ... we honestly thought the 'real' Spain was pretty much lost and that the only way to experience it was in some out of the way village in the hills but no! Nerja still manages to retain the charm and authenticity of the spanish way of life, It's a gem of a town with a real heart - its narrow little streets and houses can't fail to have you snapping away on your camera. Nerja has a wild and beautiful coastline which is best seen from the famous Balcon de Europa - amazing views! Local people are friendly and happy to serve you - even in the large Supermarket 'Mercadona' where even this is an experience not to be missed ... for instance, the shellfish and fresh fish counter is 'buzzing' with the chatter and excitement of customers and we spent many a happy hour buying and cooking its wonderful produce!
If you like to cook (and like fish) then do try their sea bream (known as 'Dorada') its absolutely delicious.

Dotted around the town are the best tapas bars we've ever visited plus, local people sell home-grown fresh produce right from their front door at amazing prices. You can also buy fish directly from fishermen on the (Burriana) beach or the 'Balcon' early in the morning.

I/we could go on and on but really you need to go and you'll see, as we did that these ratings of 'excellent' are truly, truly deserved - Casa Charlotte just 'wraps itself around you'.and we've returned feeling refreshed and contented ... what more can anyone ask of a holiday?

Room Tip: All rooms are very well equipped but if you wish to have a private terrace then choose the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChipinBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Thank you Frans and Nuttee for charring this wonderful apartment with us. Everything was clean. We have never seen a more well equipped apartment ever.
The apartment is situated very close to town center. This is a typical townhouse and the only negative review would be the view from the windows. (The opposit house)
But you always have the roof terrace with a stunning view.
We strongly recommend it!
e

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gip540908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have stayed as Casa Charlotte twice now and envisage many more stays. An excellently equipped, clean and comfortable apartment in a lovely area and close to the beach and Balcon de Europe. Frans and Nuttee are the perfect hosts and lovely people, so it became the ideal choice to recommend to my Mother and her friend for a stay also. Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in the first floor apartment at Casa Charlotte from 27th August to 6th September 2013. Having been to Nerja many times over many years, this was our first experience of an apartment holiday as we normally stay in hotels or hostels. We were not disappointed. Frans and Nuttee are incredible hosts, dedicated to their client's every possible need and providing valuable information on the area if required. Both have a wonderful sense of humour and were most entertaining. Frans particularly when he took us for 'a' welcome drink at Joanny's bar.....let's just say we needed a siesta afterwards!

The apartment has everything anyone would ever need at home, let alone on holiday! Spotlessly clean, beautifully equipped and maintained, highly recommended!

The location is wonderful. Bread shop on the corner wafting the smell of freshly baked croissants every morning and evening, two fantastic tapas bars in the same street - La Puntilla and El Chispa, supermarket just around the corner and roughly equi-distance from Burriana beach and Balcon de Europa. There is such a wonderful authentically Spanish 'feel' all around with it being set in the heart of the local people.

Would love to return here to stay again. Thank you Frans and Nuttee, for ensuring we had a superb holiday....just wish we hadn't had to come home at all!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carysal_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 months. The 2nd floor apartment on the top with private patio. Frans the owner is a great host and very helpful. The apartment has anything you could need. I cook a lot and the kitchen was like being in my own house. We have never had a rental which was so well equipped. Very comfortable bed and linens. Perfect location in the old town of Nerja near fun local tapas bars, bakery on the corner and easy walk to the beach or the Balcony of Europa. Frans is a friendly guy and good company for a drink and tapa. Would recommend this to anyone staying in the area.Cheers and happy travels.

Room Tip: All 3 apartments are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

A great house for couples who want to be near the beach and the town. Very attentive host, who took us for a beer when we arrived. The apartment (we took the first floor) was so well fitted out it was like being at home, especially the kitchen. Spotlessly clean and spacious. We had a late flight going back and we were allowed to stay in the apartment until very late afternoon, as there was nobody coming in after us. How kind and it made such a difference to our last day. Would recommend to anyone. Oh and a really comfy bed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suemck146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Welcome Inn Nerja
Welcome Inn Nerja
#2 of 33 in Nerja
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Abril
Hostal Abril
#5 of 33 in Nerja
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Marissal
Hostal Marissal
#6 of 33 in Nerja
231 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostal Avalon
Hostal Avalon
#1 of 33 in Nerja
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Plaza Cantarero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Charlotte

Address: Calle San Pedro 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: £60 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this typical Andalusian house there are three independent and luxurious apartments with free WiFi Internet. All apartments have English TV cahnnels including BBC1,2,3,4,ITV, Channel 4 and so forth. W can also prive through IPTV all English and Irish Sky channels, but for that there is an extra cost.The Parterre ( ground floor...And for Anglo Saxons the first floor) is equipped for guests using a wheelchair.The middle floor has two bedrooms of which one with a bunk bed.The upper floor has one bedroom and a lovely private terrace.Above the upper floor there is an unique sun terrace with Ocean- and mountain views and with a "Winter solarium".With the year around blooming geraniums and begonias is CASA CHARLOTTE a real "flower house."The reservations can be paid with Master- and Visa cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing