We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money good 3 star option”
Review of Hotel Jimesol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jimesol
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value for money good 3 star option”
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Stayed for one night on a trip around southern spain.

Good Points: Location,very clean rooms,communal area's very clean with a real spanish feel to them,excellent bar area with terrace,ample choice and quantity at breakfast.
Friendly efficient staff
Value for money

Not so Good points: There is what can only be described as a building site starting at the back of the hotel and a lot of rooms look out onto it.
Balconies are really small only two seats and no more
Beds rather hard and some of the furniture is cheap flatpack.

Overall: Ideal for a value for money stay in Nerja for 1-3 days but would be a bit dissapointed if say 7-14 day beach holiday.
The location is excellent within town and the nearest beach 5 minutes if that!!
I would use again if in Nerja for a night or two.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Lack of a view
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niddapproach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    82
    92
    28
    17
See reviews for
42
138
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We turned up in Nerja with no place to stay and picked this one simply because we were able to park near it, and they said that they had a room. We stayed one night and it was Ok for one night, but I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays. The rooms are small and you could hear noise from the corridors and people using the shower or flushing the toilet in adjoining rooms. Our room was at the back overlooking a side street and not very attractive buildings. But it had air conditioning which worked and the beds were comfortable.

We didn't eat any meals there, not even breakfast. It is much more interesting to sample one of the many eating places in Nerja.

There is an exceedingly small pool, jacuzzi and sunbathing area on the roof. It is adequate, but the layout could be made more appealing.

The staff were efficient but not very friendly. They spoke good English, as most of the guests staying there were English. I speak Spanish reasonably well and wanted to practise it, but I didn't get much opportunity here! The staff seemed to prefer to speak to all their guests in English. Perhaps they just couldn't believe that there are some English people around who can manage to master a foreign language!

  • Liked — Convenient to the attractions of Nerja
  • Disliked — Noise from adjoining rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompeyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs, uk
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2007

Just returned from staying at the Hotel Jimesol. Hotel is in a fantastic location to one of the beaches and to the center of Nerja. Bars and restuarants can be reached within seconds. Hotel it self is nice, good breakfast, friendly staff, rooms are very spaceous, a couple of bad points, at the moment their is a lot of building work around Nerja, so Monday to friday a lot of noise, also hotels air con in the room makes a noise, which is off putting espicially at night. Overall Nerja is a lovely place to visit .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Air-con
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cazash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga,ON,Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2006

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel Jimesol for 6 nights in September/06. This is a family run establishment. Every day we were greeted with a friendly face behind the reception desk. A full English breakfast was included in the price of our room. The food was very good. A couple of evenings we indulged in supper at the Jimesol. We were not disappointed. The cost of supper was very reasonable considering the substantial meals that we indulged in.

Our room had the basic ammenities and was very clean. Our only complaint concerned the noise from nearby construction. However, the noise only began at about 7:45AM and we had left the room for breakfast, by 8:30.

There is a wading pool and whirlpool, on the rooftop. Nice after a day at the nearby beaches. Which were only a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Disliked — The price of the accomodation and the quality of the food.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jtapp457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

Despite negative feedback above, we found the hotel great, Great staff, breakfast, location, cleanliness. 5 mins to the beach. We didnt find it noisy at all apart from the night Spain qualified for the next stage if the world cup. (Great goal by Torres! ) The celebrations were only natural and at least it didnt involve drunken fans shouting, vomiting, fighting and urinating in the street as we would have had in th England!
View out of the window was a brick wall, but what do you expect from a town centre location!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andrew1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow upon Humber, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2006

We have just returned from a week in Nerja with My Travel and can only say that the resort is great. We were in the Jimesol, and like many others who have submitted reviews had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the noisy car park. We also had builders who started work at 6.30am with gusto (and hammers!). The room was small but adequate although the balcony was little more than a window sill with a plastic chair perched at one end!

The food in the hotel is not great - nothing but nothing is ever hot, and in most cases the meals were luke warm or cold. Advice is to get into the dining room as soon as it opens if you want food to be anywhere near hot.

Plenty of really nice bars and places to eat and all at reasonable prices. We liked Nerja and are planning to go again next year, but will make our own plans and probably look for an aparthotel where we can self cater, as eating out is easy and cheap.

Hot all week (whilst it poured here in England), and we did one trip with Nature Tours which was brilliant. The caves are also worth a look, but dont do the organised tour at 33 euro's as it is only 85c on the local bus and 7 euro to get in.

If you like fairly quiet and laid back places - give Nerja a try.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings.UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

We booked a two week break on a last minute deal quite cheaply and although the hotel was very clean and the staff were polite we found the hotel very noisy especially as our room looked over the back of the hotel where we had the view and noise of a car park. The food, although plentiful, wasn't great.
As we had a very late departure we asked the staff on several occasions if we could book our room or another for an extra day and were given continual conflicting information why we couldn't i.e. ask tomorrow before 9 a.m or come and ask after lunchtime, or ask on day of departure etc etc etc. (We never did get an extension)
The roofs splash pool was fine for me a non-swimmer but it was very small. There were sun beds on the roof but very limited numbers so on several occasions when went up there they were all taken.
The hotel is quite central and although Nerja is very pretty i felt a weeks stay would have been long enough for me, unless you are going to hire a car and travel.
Sadly this has gone down as one of my least enjoyable holidays.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank teachuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#8 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 37 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 37 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 37 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimesol

Property: Hotel Jimesol
Address: Calle Chaparil 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jimesol 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jimesol is a 3-star family run property ideally located 300 metres from the beach at the charming village of Nerja, in Costa del Sol. Nerja is a beautiful fishing village with whitewashed houses, just 50 km from Malaga city, featuring golden sandy beaches and cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jimesol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimesol Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing