We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but good value”
Review of Hotel Jimesol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jimesol
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived late about 10pm and were told on arrival that a meal had been put aside for us which was much appreciated. We found the hotel to be very clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of the food was good except for the chips perhaps a different type of cooked potato would be better! As mentioned in other reviews the roof terrace is in need of a make-over which is a shame as it could be lovely up there. The hotel has a lovely central location with a bus stop to the market just across the road. The beds had what looked like new mattresses on and the air con. was good and not noisy. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jimesol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel is clean room was attended to every day cleaning staff works hard beds were ok bedspreads are discoloured and wore out main entrance and dining room is nice enough .The food is poor hot food is cold with skin on gravy chips cold every night bread was hard fruit was dirty. pool is small but clean sunbeds discoloured no where to sit out side only on terrible roof terrace no drinks available on roof terrace reception staff are nice and helpfull. Hotel is in good location close to beach an town centre .My advice is to look else where there are plenty of other nice 3star hotels in beautiful Nerja check out some of the Hostels in town centre they look very nice.Was in Nerja sept 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lhug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

stayed here 7th -14th June 2013
Friendly staff
Very clean rooms, basic, traditional but absolutely fine
yes roof terrace tired but sunbeds plentiful pool very clean sunshine in abundance!
Great location central to everything
Food good wine good
Not at all noisy
Overall would go there again without hesitation!

Room Tip: any rooms ending 6 7 or 8 views to mountains and balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CarolyneAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights at the beginning of June, Good points, Central location, excellent breakfast though the bacon was like cellophane as much as you could eat, clean and rooms serviced every day, 24 desk service, friendly staff. Bad points "Roof Terrace" in poor condition, very tatty. However overall good value for money in a popular town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Dreadful ten days in May 2013. No welcome offered. Unfriendly staff. Noise at night was unbelievable, especially Friday and Saturday nights when young people did not have to get up the following days for school. Played football and shouted half the night. Guests of the hotel seemed to think that it was ok to come up the corridors at all hours of the night shouting and slamming doors. Supposed to be no smoking, but ashtrays were provided in the rooms and the smell of smoke was disgusting. The man in the room next to us came in and out at all hours, banging doors and smoking at his balcony. One night he locked himself out on the balcony at about half two and proceeded to batter his balcony door for some time before I had to investigate what was going on and ring the night porter to rescue him.
There is no view from this hotel as any view of the mountains is blocked by other buildings.
Supposed to have a pool. Has a splash pool on the roof, not much bigger than your bath, The surrounding area on the roof is supposed to be for sunbathing, but was dirty (unswept) with old faded deckchairs. Had to climb stairs to get to it, with broken tiles on the way up. Everywhere you turned in the hotel was a list of things you must not do. Everything was negative.
The room we had was basic with camp beds with rubberised covers with a coating of fur over the mattresses which made sleep virtually impossible, especially when added to the noise. The hotel information sheet in the room said the remote control for portable, old tv was 'on the drawer'. Searched room. No remote. When asked at reception was told you had to pay 20 euro for remote which you got back on leaving. Why not tell us that from the start?
The staff were from another planet, certainly not from the hospitality planet. When we arrived there was no greeting. Asked for our passports which she kept. Handed us keys to room 108, which we were told was on second floor. Signed some form telling your room number. That was it. Nothing said about times of meals or where the restaurant was. She proceeded back to some friends in the foyer where she spent most of the night chatting. No interest whatever in guests, who seemed to be seen as just a nuisance. Hotel had a group od Spanish guests who took over the reception area. Not one of them ever had a drink of anything from the 'Bar', which was a small corner of the room. In ten days I saw only one person getting a drink from that bar and it took her about ten minutes to be served.
The food. Disgusting! No Spanish food. No hot food because at best it was lukewarm and sitting in trays for hours, supposedly kept warm by water under the trays. Breakfast was cold fried eggs, cold baked beans and cold fat bacon. Terrible orange juice from a machine. Dried out bread and a toaster which dried it out further. Corn flakes the that did not soften when soaked in milk. A machine that dispensed hot water was positively dangerous as it overflowed the cups and you had to be on your toes to avoid being burnt. The evening meals were of a similar quality with a salad section which all seemed to have come straight from tins.
Just don't go there!!!!
Terrible food. Terrible staff, apart from the cleaning lady. Terrible sleeping experience. Am only now beginning to recover from this experience. This was so unSpainlike and so unlike all our previous experiences in Spain. Such a pity as the town has a very nice part at the 'balcony of Europe'.
Would not go back to this hotel if it were offered free. In fact would not go back even if paid to do so.

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere near this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mwalsh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Recently returned from a wonderful 5 night break in Nerja, we stayed at JImesol Hotel and we must say it is in a perfect position for all the attractions of this fantastic town. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful with any information. The room was fine and the breakfasts were o.k if a little on the cold side. Overall we would definitely stay at this hotel again. It was very good value for the money we paid for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Serving better quality food than many similar hotels in the town, our only complaint in the restaurant was the waiter (who unlike the younger one) clearly did not want to be there and crashed crockery and cutlery onto the metal trolley, then pushed it over the tiled floor for maximum noise;.he did not get a tip, We regret not seeing enough of the younger one to tip him.
The furnishings are beautiful,the rooms comfortable and much larger than expected, serviced to a high standard, the lady who cleaned our room did get a tip.
The rooms at the front of the hotel are close to Plaza Tuti Fruti, the night club area, this did worry us as in-spite of our ages we were out partying.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are on the East side of the hotel and overlook a pedestrian plaza,not as much s...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sayitlikeitis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#27 of 37 in Nerja
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#13 of 37 in Nerja
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
812 reviews
2.1 mi away
Al-Andalus Hotel
Al-Andalus Hotel
#29 of 37 in Nerja
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimesol

Address: Calle Chaparil 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range: £35 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jimesol 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jimesol is a 3-star family run property ideally located 300 metres from the beach at the charming village of Nerja, in Costa del Sol. Nerja is a beautiful fishing village with whitewashed houses, just 50 km from Malaga city, featuring golden sandy beaches and cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jimesol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimesol Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing