We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, scruffy needs a lot of money spending”
Review of Hotel Jimesol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jimesol
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a two night reservation in a dark baron room, broken bathroom door, bed like a rock and air conditioning that means you need ear plugs. Breakfast was a free for all and offered the cheapest ingredients washy coffee it's good location is the only positive I can muster.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jimesol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

just spent a week at this hotel in a good location but hotel itself needs updating the room we were in needed some tlc bathroom door all broken at the bottom sheets on the bed had holes in ,

Breakfast average the waiters not very pleasant if booking this hotel ask for a room on the back with a balcony .

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel they all have balconies
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank george324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Have just spent a very pleasant ten days at Hotel Jimesol.
Good location close to Nerja town centre and beaches.
Hotel slightly dated now but clean and tidy with friendly service.
Free wifi in reception.
Has a small pool on the roof terrace (just for cooling down) and a decent area
for sunbathing, comfortably accommodating at least 40 sunbeds.
Stayed on half board basis. Breakfast ok but same every day. Evening meals were
generally good, always with soup, salads, choice of starters and three main courses.
Predominantly British residents with influx of Spanish at weekends.
Enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

Nerja itself is a busy tourist town, best thing about it is the lack of all inclusive hotels in the area
so most people are out and about making use of the local restaurants, cafes and bars of an evening. Hope it continues like that. Good base to explore the local area..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJLPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was my husbands 65th birthday, so I surprised him with a trip to Nerja and we stayed at this hotel. Very pleasant hotel with a swimming pool on the roof and places to grab a bit of sun on a sunbed or two that were scattered around (plenty of privacy between beds)

The hotel is in the quiet back streets but the walk to the front isn't far.

Had to smile when we entered our room to find it had about 6 walls and was the weirdest shape but as no-one spend their entire holiday in their room this didn't matter to us! Very clean and a nice size wardrobe. Nothing to complain about.

The buffet style breakfast was perfectly fine and it was a good sign to find the hotel full of Spanish tourists (I love it when there are no English speaking people around!)

Will go back definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisandmarksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Just back after 5 nights we found it a fantastic location to explore Nerja. The hotel is quite dated but spotless. We are late 40s and felt really young!!! so no problems with noisy residents. Breakfast does get a but repetitive but it's that cheap that you can haveva change and eat out if you like...We are definitely going to book again loved Nerja and although there are nicer hotels I'd rather spend my money in the hundreds of bars and restaurants than a room I'm awake in for an hour a day

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juliejofsaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked this as a last minute getaway and to be honest wasn’t expecting that much from reading the reviews etc – and actually wasn’t our first choice for accommodation, in fact I think it was pretty much the only thing available due to it being bank holiday and half term in the UK.

My partner is a bit of a hotel snob and didn’t like it at all, I have stayed in hostels all over the world and as it goes I thought the hotel was OK. It was very clean if nothing else. We only used it as a base, purely to put our heads down. We only had breakfast once and decided we’d rather go down to the café’s on Buriana beach for breakfast as you can pay anything from 3 Euros to 8 Euros for a lovely breakfast, and there’s nothing better than having breakfast by the beach!

The rooms were small but the beds comfy. We had a room at the back which was probably quieter than the front of the hotel as there are a couple of bars at the front. The walls are thin, you can hear your neighbours and you can also hear showers running and toilets flushing. We were actually kept awake one night (or early hours of the morning) as all we could hear was running water and then in the morning when I went to have a shower there was no water! There had been some sort of problem with the water pressure but luckily the hotel had managed to fix it by the time we go back from the beach that evening.

The staff were friendly enough and our check in/check out was quick and easy too. Oh and there are no safes in the room, they have safety deposit boxes at reception that you can use. The rooms do have air con tho which is a plus.

So overall, the hotel was OK but we wouldn’t go back to stay. We’d want to be nearer Burianna beach and would like a slightly better grade of hotel/apartment.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel as it would be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the end of May 2014, with a large group aged between 20 & 70. This hotel is in a great location for the beach, the Town centre and especially the local bars.. It is literally across the road from 'Tutti Fruti', which is an area of bars and nightclubs.It is great for nightlife, but can get very noisy! The hotel is decorated in a traditional way and is best decribed as dated. The rooms are basic, not very spacious but are kept very clean, the beds are very hard.All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The majority of the clientele appeared to be Spanish and aged over 70 and it appears the hotel specialises in breaks for this age group.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#27 of 37 in Nerja
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#12 of 37 in Nerja
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
810 reviews
2.1 mi away
Al-Andalus Hotel
Al-Andalus Hotel
#29 of 37 in Nerja
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimesol

Address: Calle Chaparil 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range: £35 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jimesol 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jimesol is a 3-star family run property ideally located 300 metres from the beach at the charming village of Nerja, in Costa del Sol. Nerja is a beautiful fishing village with whitewashed houses, just 50 km from Malaga city, featuring golden sandy beaches and cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jimesol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimesol Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing