We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort, but the Hotel lacks a little” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jimesol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Jimesol
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Barrow upon Humber, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great resort, but the Hotel lacks a little”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2006

We have just returned from a week in Nerja with My Travel and can only say that the resort is great. We were in the Jimesol, and like many others who have submitted reviews had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the noisy car park. We also had builders who started work at 6.30am with gusto (and hammers!). The room was small but adequate although the balcony was little more than a window sill with a plastic chair perched at one end!

The food in the hotel is not great - nothing but nothing is ever hot, and in most cases the meals were luke warm or cold. Advice is to get into the dining room as soon as it opens if you want food to be anywhere near hot.

Plenty of really nice bars and places to eat and all at reasonable prices. We liked Nerja and are planning to go again next year, but will make our own plans and probably look for an aparthotel where we can self cater, as eating out is easy and cheap.

Hot all week (whilst it poured here in England), and we did one trip with Nature Tours which was brilliant. The caves are also worth a look, but dont do the organised tour at 33 euro's as it is only 85c on the local bus and 7 euro to get in.

If you like fairly quiet and laid back places - give Nerja a try.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    75
    88
    26
    17
See reviews for
36
136
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings.UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2006

We booked a two week break on a last minute deal quite cheaply and although the hotel was very clean and the staff were polite we found the hotel very noisy especially as our room looked over the back of the hotel where we had the view and noise of a car park. The food, although plentiful, wasn't great.
As we had a very late departure we asked the staff on several occasions if we could book our room or another for an extra day and were given continual conflicting information why we couldn't i.e. ask tomorrow before 9 a.m or come and ask after lunchtime, or ask on day of departure etc etc etc. (We never did get an extension)
The roofs splash pool was fine for me a non-swimmer but it was very small. There were sun beds on the roof but very limited numbers so on several occasions when went up there they were all taken.
The hotel is quite central and although Nerja is very pretty i felt a weeks stay would have been long enough for me, unless you are going to hire a car and travel.
Sadly this has gone down as one of my least enjoyable holidays.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank teachuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2005

The Jimesol has to be the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed at. The food was eatable but only just - although their continental breakfast was quite adequate.
Sadly the above problems detracted considerably from the hotel's pleasing appearance, cleanliness and marvelous staff.
We were in a balcony room overlooking a car park at the rear of the hotel. The noise from local boy-racers on howling motor bikes doing wheelies and (what appeared to be) speed trials, was attrocious. This, combined with others using the car park as a short cut, was just a part of the general bedlam that went on until late at night.
Our biggest problem, however, were the hotel's walls and ceilings; they must have been paper-thin. We could hear evry movement and sound from above and to each side of our room. The lady above apparently took long walks in her high heel shoes - AROUND THE ROOM!

At the end of our second week we actually booked into the Hotel Chapparill for a night just so we could get some sleep... They had good size televisions with English channels. Could have caught up with some of our soaps, but we were too busy sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank scouser70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nerja hotels

Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2005

I was at Jimesol for one week and was really satisfied with it. Staff was really helpfull in anything we asked for. The room was enormous, and the bathroom was the biggest i have ever been too, full complete bathroom. It was very clean, with fresh towels and cleaning everyday. If we were happy so far, we were delighted when we saw what they had for dinner ( we had breakfast and dinner regime - higlhy recomended), so many wonderfull and tasty dishes tipycal from the south of Spain, lots of variety, we didn't repeat anything in the whole week, and we had about 4 different dishes every meal, plus starters and the delicious deserts we had over that week (coconut mousse was my favourite).
The location is good but not great, it is in one end of nerja, very close to Torrecilla beach (3 min walk) and just 5 min walk from the famous balcony of Europe, it is about 2 kms from the famous Burriana beach, so that is the only down point, but all the other closer beaches are really beautiful, i would suggest "El salon" wich was me and my girlfriend's favourite.
It is also very close to "Verano azul" park wich is particularly important for all the fans of the spanish mitic tv series, wich was a big hit in Spain and in my home country Portugal.
I would strongly recomend this hotel, it is not expensive and for the money i am sure you won't find any better.
I must end this with a some words about Nerja, very beautiful village, great beaches and not at all expensive. Will go back as soon as i can.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank PMFQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#14 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#18 of 38 in Nerja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nerja Club
Nerja Club
#13 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jimesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jimesol

Property: Hotel Jimesol
Address: Calle Chaparil 16, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jimesol 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jimesol is a 3-star family run property ideally located 300 metres from the beach at the charming village of Nerja, in Costa del Sol. Nerja is a beautiful fishing village with whitewashed houses, just 50 km from Malaga city, featuring golden sandy beaches and cliffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Jimesol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jimesol Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing