We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap. Does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mediterraneo Apartments
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cheap. Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

just returned from afew days in Nerja. Found this place cheap on the net and it was. Nothing outstanding but did the job on a budget. Close to town centre and beach. lots of little cafes around and only a 10 minute walk to the bus station. If we needed somewhere to stay again on a budget would´nt be a problem to come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    57
    65
    30
    32
See reviews for
46
103
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

First impressions - old fashioned, decor out of date, room smelt of damp and fags!

In the light of day - actually not too bad, clean, well kitted out (toaster, fridge, shower, kettle, microwave) - glad we asked for a balcony as some studios didnt have one and would have hated that! We were in room 310, to the rear of the property. Overlooked residential apartments and a car park, lovely and quiet, no problems,

Staff - Not over friendly, but not rude. Efficient - We had a leaky tap and it was fixed within hours of reporting it.

Cleaning service - Minimal but effective. Towels changed every 3 days (more if you ask). Beds changed weekly (again, you can request more bedding without any problems). You do your own cleaning with the brush/mop provided. I actually liked this as it meant no disturbances when you just wanted to chill in your apartment :0) you also need to provide your own replacement loo rolls, but this is standard if you were self catering in the UK and is probably one of the reasons it's so cheap to stay there. Communal areas and apartments were of a good standard of cleanliness overall so no complaints.

Pool - Pointless! Tiny, no sun loungers and doesn't get the sun. We gatecrashed the nearby 4* hotels to use the pool, lol!

Beach - Fab access to the quietest beaches - most recommended is the one to the right of the hotel, follow the footpath opposite and it's behind the big 4/5* hotel. Literally 5 mins walk. Fab!

Shops - 2 supermarkets within 1 mins walk.

Restaurants - Loads within 1 mins walk.

Resort centre - Around a 15 minute pleasant and safe walk.

Nerja overall - beautiful. Not too commercialised, loads of shops, restaurants, beaches and walks. Weather was mostly lovely 23-28 degrees, one or two cloudy or windy days.

Recommended day out - Donkey Sanctuary - about a 20 minute walk, feed the donkeys and make a donation - run by a lovely English family. Good on them!

Enjoy your hols :0)

Room Tip: If you are in a studio ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlebuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My brother and I had to visit some old friends in Nerja and stayed at the Meditteraneo
Although not a high class apartment block it was clean and inexpensive near to the shops and bars and close to the beach for the San Juan festival. The apartmenmts are well used and may need a lick of paint but I didnt have any complaints. The rectionist was very good as we had an issue with our taxi but she sorted it.
Be aware of the worlds smallest swimming pool, if you fancy 20 laps before breakfast it would only take 3 mins !
An added bonus was air-con and you can igh a deposit box for about £15 per week - well worth it
Nothing was a problem and we had refreshed towels twice in 8 days

Room Tip: some rooms had balconies top the rear overlooking a car park other had balconies overlooking main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Myself & 2 friends travelled to Nerja in early june for 10 days. The apartment was spotlesly clean with a seperate room with 2 beds & a sofa bed. The kitchenette had all implements needed to cook with and all crockery to eat off. We had towels changed twice during our stay & sheets once. There is a sweeping brush & mop for you to tidy up after yourself and a shop next door where toilet rolls are only €1 for 4 and 5ltrs water for €1. The location is perfect, only a 10-15 minute stroll to the Balcon and a 20 or so min walk to the bus station. There is a beach just in front of the Hotel Perla Marina which can be seen from the appartments or the big beach Playa Burrianna which is a good 20 min walk away.
Didn't dip a toe in the pool, seemed to be in the shade for most of the day but beach was so close!
Overall a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkee, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor we picked this apartment while travelling to Nerja for a friends wedding. It was exactly what it said on the tin. The room was small but spot on I went with my son and daughter it was clean and so central. Yes you only get one roll of loo paper and the rooms are cleaned and changed once a week. They could not operate any other way for the price no other apartments came close on price. You are right in the centre. You can fall onto the beach in front of the Pearl Marina. We met Laura on arrival and she was no nice and helpful. We had booked for only 4 days and kept going back to get 2 extra nights and then a final night, so helpful. Even the ladies who were making up the rooms were brilliant. Forget about the pool, small and in the shade most of the time. We were in room 101 and 302 which were in the back. If you intend to spend time in the apartment or with kids this might not suit. If like us you wanted a clean friendly great value place to put your head down then this is it. A previous poster got it right with the Jamaica restaurant just up the road. Get the daily menu. Serrano ham and melon to start. Escalope of pork and chips for main. ice cream for desert and a beer or glass of wine all for 9 euro and when they get to know you a complimentary sorbet. Cocktails in the Bamboo, oh already missing them. Pina Colada or Dakari I think I've turned my kids into alcos. lol

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just returned from Nerja where we lived at these apartments which were cold and felt damp perhaps due to the fact they get little sun. The apartments were very poorly maintained and badly in need of refurbishment. Reception was manned from 12 to 1500hrs only so when things broke down you were stuck. You were given 1 complimentary toilet roll and had to buy during the remains of your stay. You had to empty your bins and remove your own rubbish. In the 10 days we stayed we had sheets and towels changed once but no visible cleaning There was no hot water in kitchen but fortunately the shower was always hot. The "heated swimming pool" was empty. The only plus point for these apartments was the location 2 mins from beach and 15 minutes walk from Balcon de Europa. I might add that we always travel and stay at basic accomodation and are not hard to please but these were below basic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maureen689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nerja hotels

Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

To put this review into perspective I will point out that I only paid £19 per night for the apartment which had two beds and one sofa bed.
The apartment is 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Nerja which is a lovely resort that still retains its Spanish charm and isn't overly 'touristy'.
The apartment was dated, all the furniture, kitchen and bathroom was old looking and this wasn't helped by the apartment not looking particularly clean.
The kitchen was more like a walk in cupboard, I would not like to try and cook in there, hence we ate out every night - although all the items were there for you to cook.
The fact that you had to remove your own rubbish, buy you own toilet roll after the complimentary first and no maid service was poor.
On a positive note there is Wifi in the reception area which worked well and is free.
Although this apartment didnt ruin my holiday, with hindsight I wish I had paid an extra £10 per night and would have got a better place to stay, but if you are on a budget this apartment will do the trick.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andycotton1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playamaro
Hotel Playamaro
#27 of 37 in Nerja
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#16 of 37 in Nerja
209 reviews
2.3 mi away
Al-Andalus Hotel
Al-Andalus Hotel
#25 of 37 in Nerja
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
Apartamentos Pepe Mesa
#17 of 37 in Nerja
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Andalucia
Hostal Andalucia
#21 of 37 in Nerja
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Apartments

Property: Mediterraneo Apartments
Address: Calle Mediterraneo 6, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mediterraneo Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterraneo Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Mediterraneo Nerja
Apartamentos Mediterraneo Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing