We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of Hotel Carabeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carabeo
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
marbella
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“short break”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

perfect stay as always. We paid a little bit more this time and stayed in the Penthouse Suits and my my was it worth it. 2 lounges and a large bedroom made it feel more like a luxury apartment. Full A/C and english TV made us feel right at home. Restaurant was 5 star as always- make sure you book to avoid disapointment

Room Tip: all good but penthouse is worth the extra if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    51
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
197
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I celebrated my birthday at restaurant 34 and it was a fantastic evening. The staff are second to none, friendly and they explain the menu in full detail they are first class. The food was superb, we ate to the sound of live classical guitars. We go to Nerja each year and this is our first visit to the carabeo but we will be back next July for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

The staff are lovely and very helpful. We were in the Burriana suite. It's a lovely room and nice terrace. The hotel is also very nice but I expected more for the 5-star price. The shower was massive but had no shelf for your shampoo etc. the water took ages to go away so you had 3 inches of grubby water round your feet. Massive fixed head shower but I definitely like the option of a moveable shower head. The TV was rubbish. A very helpful member of staff helped as much as he could but it was a nightmare to change channels so I gave up eventually. Wifi was intermittent in the room and some days not there at all and frankly at over €200 a night this is no longer acceptable. There are plenty of good things here, the location, the staff and the pool area. But too many near-misses to deserve higher marks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A minority of reviewers on this site have been quite critical in their comments - and I couldn't disagree more. Everything about the restaurant was top notch, starting with our initial welcome from a friendly receptionist. We booked a table for dinner on the terrace, right on the cliff edge, and were rewarded with spectacular the views over the coastline. We went for the 3 course 25 euro menu, which proved to be excellent value for some really tasty food - we'd particularly recommend the duck and the salmon mains. Service was unfailingly polite, attentive and friendly. With a few drinks, our total bill for the two of us was 83 euros - well worth the additional cost over the more routine food (and views) available elsewhere in town. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Carabeo 34, and it'll be the first place we return to for dinner when we go back to Nerja. Book early to avoid disappointment!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dash1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed in the Hotel Carabeo for a week and must say it's a lovely unique and very stylish hotel. We had the Calahonda suite which was really spacious and finely furnished with a lovely sea view balcony.
we ate in the Restaraunt 34 on two nights and the food was really good and excellent value for money.
The hotel makes really clever use of its space, turning the garden/pool/sea view area into a georgous setting for the restaraunt at night.
Continental breakfast was included in our stay but we were pleasantly surprised at the huge range available in buffet breakfast each morning.
The staff were all very friendly and Maggie was always on hand to recommend, book, direct you to whatever your enquiry was. Would definitely recommend this hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: the calahonda, burrianni or any of the sea view rooms are just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HurlersIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Finding this small boutique hotel was a surprise. We have been visiting Nerja and Frigiliana for many years and we decided to splurge on our final night in Nerja. The Carabeo is in a small quiet street just minutes away from the Balcon de Europa and right in downtown Nerja. Spring for one of the sea-view rooms, it's worth it. Ours, 'Burriana' had a nice bedroom, modern bathroom and a sitting room with a good sized balcony, very comfortable and well decorated. The restaurant is excellent as well, we were so pleased with its discovery, that we ate there twice, despite being close to many seafood and tapas restaurants. The staff are delightful too.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, they are quiet with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just come back from Nerja after a lovely week in the sun, on the Friday we decided to pull the boat out and eat at carabeo 34. had to book on the monday before as gets very booked up very quickly. stunning view of the sea from our table at night time, service fantastic and the fillet steak was to die for. worth the 3 hundred euro for the four of us. definately revisit next time in nerja and just recomended it to some friends going to nerja next week.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tattyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carabeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carabeo

Property: Hotel Carabeo
Address: Calle Hernando de Carabeo 34, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#4 Family Hotel in Nerja
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carabeo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carabeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carabeo And Restaurant 34
Carabeo Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing