We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”
Review of Hotel Carabeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Carabeo
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What to say about this charming little hotel? It doesn't have the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in, and it's very expensive. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! The service is impeccable and the location stunning. It was such a pleasure to wake up every morning to a wonderful view and to know that when you went down for breakfast, you wouldn't be fighting with several hundred other holidaymakers for the best table and mediocre food. Likewise if you fancied a day by the pool, no scrabbling for sun beds, with towels on them that mysteriously appear overnight, it just wasn't done. When the hotel was full, and it always is, there's plenty for everyone. How many hotels have you stayed in, where the receptionist comes out to wave you off when you're leaving? Every single member of staff made you feel that you were special and couldn't do enough to help.
We stayed in "el Salon", which is described as a junior suite with a small balcony. The room was nice, but the air conditioning not fantastic. The balcony was long and narrow, not brilliant, but we do like our outside space, and this may not be a problem for many people.
We ate twice at the hotel restaurant (34), what a treat. Fantastic food, attentive service, and accompanied by the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks below.
Hotel Carabeo is a little piece of "Heaven on Earth". We can't wait to go back, and have already booked for next year (a different room tho')

Room Tip: Opt for a suite with a sea view. Take your own hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

I cannot praise the service , food and location which made my birthday really memorable. Thank you restaurant 34.Maggi was extremely helpful in planning the evening so that the menu fitted all our different needs. Everything was just perfect & the food outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant and the views from the terrace are superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just had a special dinner here,been many times in the past (10 Years) just waited 1 hour and 10 minutes between courses!!!when we asked we were told it was because they had 2 big parties in!!!!as if that was a good enough reason!!!!The Standard of food was excellent but really let down by very poor service!!!After speaking to the duty manager he said that they will contact us by email,we wait to see.Shame because this has been a favourite place of ours and our extended Family for over a decade!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here but went to the restaurant twice in one week. The decor of the bar, reception and restaurant are so fabulous. The food is excellent. Would say easily that this is the most beautiful restaurant I've ever been in. A must see/visit. Next time I'm booking into the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank hokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

What a wonderful week - we stayed at the Carabeo for a week from 3rd August staying in the 'Torrecilla'. A beautiful room overlooking the old town street below. It's hard to explain the decor in the hotel but it is tres chic and very quirky. Staff are very friendly, beautiful breakfast and Restaurant 34 is amazing. The pool is perfect and we would recommend it every time.

Room Tip: The Torrecilla is a small room without a sea view but is lovely, well equipped and much cheaper than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THIBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Went with my wife for my 56th birthday. Pre-ordered suckling pig and booked table via email in UK. This is probably our 6th visit to the restaurant and have always been impressed. On this occasion we were not disappointed. We were shown quickly and efficiently to our seats and our drinks order taken whilst menu and wine list were left for our perusal. A short time later, a waiter, who we had met on most of our previous visits came and gave us the extensive specials menu (well done for remembering the wide variety of choices). I chose a smoked salmon starter whilst my wife opted for no starter as, unfortunately, we cannot eat as much as we could in our youth. The salmon came on a wooden platter, 3 large swirls of smoked salmon, salad, horseradish dip and blinis. They were kind enough to bring two plates to allow my wife to sample some of my starter. Our main courses came promptly, pork cheeks in a Malaga sauce with cauliflower puree, asparagus and fondant potatoes for my wife and the suckling pig with sage potato rosti and mixed vegetables. Both dishes were very well presented and the flavours were exquisite. We were so full after our main courses we felt we could only order coffee, however, three of the waiters presented me with a complimenary tiramasu, with candle, and a glass each of rosada cava, whilst singing, in Spanish, happy birthday. A lovely touch, which needn't have been done. Our bill, with drinks and a bottle of rosada cava came to €107. Obviously not cheap but, in our opinion, well worth it. We must have had at least 5 members of staff serve various things to us during the meal. They were extremely polite and efficient and made us both feel special on a special night.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MtheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have been to Nerja 4 times now and have eaten in Restaurant 34 each time. The staff are great and the food is outstanding - not to mention the beautiful views. We loved this place that much that we chose to have our wedding reception here in September 2012. Maggi was brilliant and helped us so much with our wedding preparations. The food was great and the Penthouse Suite was perfect for the night of our wedding. Our family have been visiting Nerja for over 10 years and would not stay anywhere else. The best place to eat in Nerja!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungNIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carabeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carabeo

Address: Calle Hernando de Carabeo 34, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £83 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carabeo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Carabeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carabeo And Restaurant 34
Carabeo Hotel Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing